Re: why do parents expect from kids wat they never taught?
I think I kind of understand what ummah is trying to say. There are parents that don't take an interest at all in what their children do. They don't bother to get to know who their children's friends are. Don't bother to check where their children go...who they go with...who picks up/drops off their children ....(and when I say children I actually mean teenagers*). They don't at all monitor their child's phone and Internet use. I'm not saying they shouldn't allow their children to meet their friends, use cell phones and the Internet and have fun. But I am saying that parents should take some precautions. They shouldn't just trust their children blindly and never bother ever checking up on these sorts of things. I've seen a lot of kids getting up to no good when I was in high school. The one thing all these kids seemed to have in common was their parents gave them way too much leeway. Most of their parents were oblivious about what their kids get up to.
I agree that giving kids too much leeway can lead to them doing some bad stuff if the kids don't have a strong set of values but the things that you mentioned like having access to the internet or having a cellphone being too much is ridiculous. How do you expect kids to function in society if they have no access to technology. I have a phone, my parents never really monitered my internet use(their only rule is no facebook) and I watch a TON of romantic movies. Does this mean that I have a boy friend/lost my viginity/ or did something awful? Alhumdalilallah, it doesn't. You're making an incredibly rash generalization.
Everything aside, the title of your thread really got me thinking. Parents dont always practice what they preach and then they have the nerve to get angry.
I agree that giving kids too much leeway can lead to them doing some bad stuff if the kids don't have a strong set of values but the things that you mentioned like having access to the internet or having a cellphone being too much is ridiculous. How do you expect kids to function in society if they have no access to technology. I have a phone, my parents never really monitered my internet use(their only rule is no facebook) and I watch a TON of romantic movies. Does this mean that I have a boy friend/lost my viginity/ or did something awful? Alhumdalilallah, it doesn't. You're making an incredibly rash generalization.
u r blessed 1 ! i never said dont give cellohones n internet access,but u shud have a friendly relation that u can pick ur son/daughters cell n check a message or attend a call,..,.. but sumthing u guys r ignoring ..i mentioned is concepts and so is the topic,they never teach,i mean my parents never even told me namaz is farz n affair is gunnah (oviously i know as it becomes understood) but it is not neccessery that u will start practicing a farz or refrain haram just because u know it(as every1 knows smokin is bad but still ppl smoke),there has to b a "fikr" ,"thought","understanding"
according to my knowleg hijab is fard once girl is baligh... n yes i agree wid ur second precaution
i hate parents who like their daughters dancing on "sheela ki jawani" or "kiss me kiss me" dont they know it will effect there thinkin ,isnt the wording rubish enough ??
n my 4 year old nephew has this thing" girl,boy and kiss" in his brain which he learnt from cartoons!!
parents ignore such things and this is zulm with innocent ones,first u ruin there thinkin n later want them to remain pious until "MBA" !
Your sarcasm detection is terrible.
Hijab is hijab, there's no point in wearing hijab if it's farz if the girl isn't going to keep social hijab as well. I know plenty of girls who don't do hijab but are much more conservative and halal then some girls who do hijab.. Don't bring up oh ye to farz hai baatein.
Yeah, a kiss is going to ruin his life. At least at the age he knows man and woman kiss, and that man and man aren't supposed to! Oh bhai, being protective isn't a bad thing, letting your kids completely off the hook is, but completely sheltering them is terrible. Don't put them under a social rock.
Good hadith you brought up. It’s possible to discipline your children with them not being under a social rock. Hazrat Ali (as) does not mean grab your child by the neck from 7-14, protecting and scolding them over every tiny thing.
i hate parents who like their daughters dancing on "sheela ki jawani" or "kiss me kiss me" dont they know it will effect there thinkin ,isnt the wording rubish enough ??
And how do you know about sheela ki jawani and kiss me kiss me , if you are not into listening to music.
ya was expecting this ___ question!! but bro unfortunatley my family n the society i live in is not islamic so even if i am praying ppl around me dont mind listening to such high level songs!!
inshallah under khilafah we will be free from this rubbish too!