Why do Pakistani people speak English mixed with Urdu so much?

Re: Why do Pakistani people speak English mixed with Urdu so much?

I'm referring to lot for whom their Indian identity was a complex and first they linked themselves with central Asian and Arab invaders and now same lot follow their British Masters in language, etc. We all know that Muslims of India (Pakistan and Bharat) are more into this complex than anyone else. Hindus never claimed ancestry of foreign invaders, Muslims got a reason, but to claim of foreign ancestry to this extent is never justified.

English is Pakistan’s national language. Most legal documents, bills passed by the Parliament, oaths, court judgments, etc., are all in English. So, I see nothing wrong with using English.

This is an universal phenomenon. Happens here aswell, and you will find people who see no wrong in it and people who are dead against it.

I think if you are bilingual its natural for words of the other language to creep in during conversation.
I have words from english as well as arabic creeping in while conversing. At times even complete proverbs in arabic. Its not done on purpose. It just happens unintentionally. In fact its a hinderance because at times I may use urdu/arabic words unintentionally infront of an audience who understands neither.

Mummy daddy burger lover rubber stamps want to be accepted by the great white murica.

Problem starts when language gets connected with status ! In Pakistan, who ever is speaking English is seen as a modern , educated fellow! I might be Steve Jobs but speak in urdu or punjabi and people will treat me like I am not even worth a dime!

Since when did language become a status symbol? why do we see pakistani kids , coming from middle class punjabi and urdu speaking families, claiming hum ko urdu nai aati? these are the kind that eventually grow up and try to mix English in everything so that they can gain that “upper” status..

:hinna: just my observation ..

Why ur post was in english ?
Why do the guppies commenting here in english ?
Why dont they use Urdu ?

Same happens there !

Its something like “bolne wale se ziada sunne wala ka masla hai, sunne wala sunna english mein pasand krta hai aur appreciate krta hai”
is k ilawa kch ehsas kamtri :wink:
and yes, politicians ko chorro ji, unka tou deen emaan koi ni, language tou bht door hai :snooty:

English was forced to some degree, but they emulate it because our country IS backwards in terms of **economic **and **social **progress (not moral or happiness). The last 200 years have been dominated by the West, especially English speaking countries. English is the language of academia and business. English speaking countries have essentially given us the modern world. Is it any wonder that the common person (common in terms of insight and intelligence, not celebrity) aspires to speak English?

Your point is valid, but the only way to encourage the average person to take pride in their ability to speak Urdu would be through economic progress in Pakistan, so that we can build domestic institutions that can compete on the global stage.

This bugs my dad and to a certain extent, I as well. I can understand urdu being a language that absorbs other words like raiwarr came from sindhi, but why do "we" speak english words for words that already exist in urdu?

I think that this is an inferiority complex and perhaps, rightly so in case of Pakistan, english being associated with educated people. Still, meera doesn't seem educated with her english and the previous generation spoke urdu and english separately when many of them were more educated than the current generation.

It's quite annoying to go Pakistan and see people putting up this forced and totally iffy sounding American/British accent, throwing random irrelevant English words for sake of impressing you or making a self statisfying statement. Part of me just want to say to them: please just relax and speak normally, I understand Urdu perfectly well. If I speak Urdu with a funny accent, then it's me who would sound like a joker, but there's no reason why you should turn the joke on you.

Apna libas pehn ker he Pakistani nahin bana jaa sakta sirf.
Quaid e aazam ne angraiz ka libaas pehna tou kya hua...kitna barra kaam bhi tou kiiya hai. Ab bolo ?!?! libas ehm hai yah kaam ?!?!

to make sure they still know angraizi even after living in the third world country :sheyn:

I think the worst part is when schools in Pakistan punish children if they speak urdu on school ground. Heard it happened to a few family members in Pakistan recently.

Okay I like how all of you brand us living in Pakistan shallow, having an inferiority complex, joker, status consious, burgers blah blah.

Wellt..

School.. we are STRONGLY encouraged to speak and converse in English. Almost all curriculam is in English at universities, colleges, schools etc. We give presentations in English and we get lectures in English. We are given homework in English too.

Work.. we COMPLETELY rely on English to converse. We use ONLY english in our work related meetings/documents/calls etc. anything really.

Now comes home and general lifestyle.. well when a person spends 10-12 hours of his day speaking English, you can't really expect one to magically become Mir Taqi Mir as he/she enters home or talks to people. A word or a sentence of English here and there does come up. And yes we mix up languages cause for us English is the official language and Urdu is the national language. And English does seep in to our day to day conversation. Not a big deal at all. Bas mauqa chaiyay keeray nikalnay ka hum ghareebon main. =p

this will make them good music rappers mixing words lol

i like to mix both together, as i like to eat biryani with lasagna.

Yeah me too, rooh afza with scotch

I had relatives visiting us from Pakistan recently...my uncle. He spoke almost entirely in English when he was here except for when he was conversing with his brother (my dad) since he's picky about that sort of thing.

I am sure English is used socially to look more modern and have an upper hand in some situations but I also noticed that his English wasn't grammatically incorrect. It was simply accented. Meaning, he is used to speaking and conversing in English in his work place all the time. That's also something I've noticed with many of our posters.

Its not a pretense for everyone...I grew up bilingual and my Urdu might pale in comparison to native Pakistanis. But I am so used to speaking it...it creeps in when I am conversing with people who can understand me.

Then you should be speaking Urdu mixed with Italian. :)