Why do Pakistan women dress like Arabs in America?

Re: Why do Pakistan women dress like Arabs in America?

See, if you were talking the hip-hugging jeans with a scarf then I could see your point but how is abaya better than a chaddar? It is like a tent!

As for Saari that's bloody ugly, even these modern designer ones look like cocoons.

It's never really been a part of Paki culture for any Paki ethnicity ever, Punjabis have never worn them traditionally, Pashtuns have never worn them so why should we adopt something so ugly now? We are Pashtun, Balochi, Kashmiri, Punjabi, Sindhi and Urdu, we are not Tamil, Malayali, Bengali or Gujarati (not that there's anything wrong with these ethnicities).

I like those modern western type Shalwar Kameez on girls but never Saari.

I agree with you on one thing and that's Arab women dress more westernised, yet it's usually more modest than what Paki women wear, some Paki women can learn from them, I don't mean give up SK altogether as it's quite versatile and international anyway but tone it down a bit..

Chadar/shawl is a bit impractical for working women in the west or women with kids to pull along.

I'm not a fan of those abaya's and gowns either, I think modest Western outer-clothing does just as good a job, if anything it's more modest because you're not attracting unnecesary attention from perverts/racists by sticking out so much.

I don't mean compromise on your beliefs but use a long ankle-length western style over-coat instead of a abaaya, and instead of dressing all black and sticking out like a sore thumb wear pastel colors, maybe a Turkish headscarf to correlate the coat (for Niqaabis a flap can double up as a veil across the face).

I've got nothing against sisters who wear those black outfits but they're actually just attracting more attention from racists/fetishists etc.

I agree with you on one thing and that's Arab women dress more westernised, yet it's usually more modest than what Paki women wear

How can pakistani women "learn" from arab women if arab women are westernized? Have you seen what westernization means? Sorry, it looks like you have a serious case of inferiority complex. I used to think the same until I came out her and saw arabs are not some holy cows, but they are hypocrites who treat south asians as crap. At least I don't go around claiming the high moral ground of the salaaf while being even more pathetic compared to the west when it comes to human rights..

Trust me, abaya is much better than chadowr. I don't wear an aabaya but the duppatas are huge enough to be taken as chadowrs. Sometimes, it becomes really difficult to hold the duppata, especially if you live in a city where wind blows 24/7. With chadowr, you not only have to take care of your shirt and hold it down at the corners but also make sure that the additional load of the chadowr stays on your head or remains firmly planted on your shoulders.

With abaya, its just the stoll or the head scarf and a long robe covering your body, starting from shoulders down to the ankels and at times ending just near the knees. Basically, your arms are free, you don't have to bother about the clothes, the scarf is either wrapped around your neck or is firmly covering your head. BTW, thats just my opinion.

Now as far as it resembling a tent is concerned, well , all I have to say is that its a matter of choice and a lot depends upon an individual's sense of style.

p.s: personally I feel its about modesty, you can wear a western dress and look all decent and elegant and choose an eastern attire and yet look cheap and immodest. To each his own.

You hit the nail on the head, but the reactionary crowd is quick to call me names.

They're like neocons who call me an Islamofascist if I criticize some aspects of US foreign policy.

Unreasonable tools flourish, unfortunately.

You are talking about a completely different issue here, I don't care for their hypocrisies or religious-status and a Hijab doesn't mean they're religious, in our society even staunch secularists usually grow beards because it's in their culture, it doesn't mean they're doing it for religion even though it might be a part of religion too, same with scarves, just because Islam asks them to wear it doesn't mean they're wearing it for Islam, I've seen Arab women showing their tummies whilst wearing headscarf, it doesn't mean they care for the teachings of Islam. It's like in our society you get all sorts of people, Pakis in Pak who hate Bengalis and Afghans or Pakis in the West who hate Blacks, there are some Pakis like that but you can't say all are like that.

I only meant learning from them when it comes to fashion. I see some Paki women wearing these bright orange dresses they got out of some Indian mag called Rupali and it just makes them stand out man, it looks ugly.

Arab women on the other hand will wear modest clothing but it will be quite international looking and not make them stand out, I suppose they have their goodlooks to their advantage as well.

You know what pisses me off? When those religious/josheeley type Paki guys wear skirts and dresses (Arab gowns), looks ugly man, we don't have to wear them to be Islamic, no where in the Koran or Ahadith does it say "thou shalt wear the dress of the desert to achieve spiritual perfection"... I hate any form of "ethnic" clothing on men, I don't even like SK, my dad wears it but I hate it, a silly flap at the front and a silly one at the back (and it's all SK, even designer stuff by Amir Adnan).

And no I don't have an inferiority complex, I never ever criticise the things I know to be negativbe about our culture when amongst foreigners, I always make a point about showing my pride for my country and religion...

... but if I don't like something I'll say it, I'm no less a Paki for not wanting to wear Shalwar Kameez, it might be a part of Paki culture(s) now but it wasn't always the case, we once got SK and Sherwani from South-Asia so why is it any more Pakistani than jeans and t-shirt? Cultures change..

The indianization of our culture is another thread * but the conservative shalwar kamiz that has been here for generations is the dress we are discussing here.

More power to those tight jeans wearing girls.. :p*

Indians have bad taste in clothing, we should just move in a more international direction when it comes to fashion, not Arab or Indian..

As for tight jeans, all this talk of Arabs and tight pants is giving me mental-images (camels t.. etc.), mera roza mat kharaab karo. :smash:*

Chalo phir skirts ki baat kar lete hain. nah camel raha nah rahi bansri.. :D

Chalo dekhtay hain roza ke baad agar yaad raha to... :p

And why must you have a problem with anybody's dressing style?

What's wrong is that these ladies are being POSERS!! I've seen a lot of hijabis being wannabes of Saudis and they can't stomach the fact that they're Pakistanis. It's made me sick to my stomach. And of all people, Saudis as a qaum are the most besharam of the worst kind.

Them and there quartet of wives are seen in juha khanas of Vegas and any other haram places in the world.

The example of shah rukh 'khan' is to show that on the one hand they'll act all pious in public and on the other they want to know the gossiping of the filmi world.
I'm not saying theres anything wrong with watching films but DON'T be a frikkin hypocrite.

Some of these girls who wear hijabs and abayas (which sometimes smells like sweat and B.O) I wish people would just tell off!

nope there husbands make them wear the arabic clothes

I've never went to any such place because they are haraam *(as you mentioned in your post) *so I wouldn't know. Perhaps you can enlighten us and list the places here where you have personally seen them?

Aap ki yeh baat bhi sahi hai.

A lot of the girls I know who wear those black outfits try harder to be Arabian than Muslim.

You can be Muslim and wear English clothes or Muslim and Paki clothes, I'm not condeming them for what they wear but I don't like unheatlthy obsession like that.

There's also this trend amongst Paki boys to wear those Marrakech thobes with the pointy hats like they are witches or wizards, my Maghrebi friend got me one for a preasent but ewww I'm not wearing it..

lol...

a long dress fpr women is an arabic thing?
really?

How about speaking Urdu with an Arabic accent? looool hahahaha

Cuz maybe the women you're looking at are Arab and not Pakistani.

the whole thread
is denada :CareBear: