Why do Pakistan women dress like Arabs in America?

Re: Why do Pakistan women dress like Arabs in America?

Absolutely not!!!

It's just what mesasge you are trying to convey with it If you are saying, hey I'm a proud muslim women and I am modest in anything I'm wearing, it's fine!!

But if your saying i'm wearing it to lok like someone else, heck no!!

We need to be proud of who we are!!!

Just for the record, i do wear skirts myself!!

i fink every has their own opinion but,,,,,,,,,wearin arab or wearin paki clothes doznt mak a diff.................as long u r coverd ..
personaly i wud say ppl in britain wear hijabz nd som fing which covers dem bcoz now dayz shalwar kamez iz soo modern dat every single shap of ur body showz up, so if in Islam women are not allowed to show their body image y wear dat kinda shalwar kameez....
i ll mak my pointy clear 2 doz who may not understand!!! u wear wat u want not wat others want.....wearin hijab/jalbab isnt fashion...its wa u believe, whether u fink its fashion wether u fink its wat dey want.
But hav u seen doz women wearin jalbabz nd showin deir hair .....so wats da point wearin jalbab?

erm what?

speak english!

If you read the subtle hints the guy has thrown in. sounds like bashing to me!

But even if its not.............as someone else pointed out...if there covered..or not covered...its no issue....its a personal choice!

Now pull up your trousers and move on to the next topic!

erm what?

speak english!
STONCOLD

i aint speakin french bruv!!!!!!!!!!

** Because its a fashionable way of covering your self properly. **

I think the trend you have described is usually for our ABCD [or BBCD, CBCD etc] women who think talking and dressing arabic makes them better muslims / end up in heaven? These nicks are there for a reason.. ;)

Btw, even in Pakistan where trend is becoming more common, how does wearing tight jeans [show the shape of legs] and a scarf do to any notion of modesty that we are supposed to be having?

No, I like his rap abilities so ‘kfc’, keep on doing it boy! :sahar02:

who's gonna wear a saari in the snow? Actually i've seen women wearing a saari and sneakers in the snow, kinda cute

Wahabism i tell ya;

it needs to be stopped!!

what the hell is wrong with you guys?

It’s easier to carry around in a abaya or skirt instead of shalwaar kameez and taking care of your duppatta.

How many more things will religous ppl be picked on? Hijabis are no good according to many “haya” is so much more?? when someone IS properly covered…“OoOo why arent they covered in a Pakistani way?” and wahabis? …seriously :rolleyes:

Why do men worry so much about women issues?

Leave the sisters alone...brother!

Apparently, Pakistani women want to feel more islamic by emulating the saudis. Yet as soon as they get home, the tv channel turns to sony to see what shah rukh did yesterday....

Acha theek hai. App Pakistani larki say shadi nahi keejee'ay ga.

Well Said. You should keep every on on a leash.

There is nothing wrong in following Saudis or whosoever if they are following the good and decent things.

What has covering yourself modestly to do with sony tv or shahrukh khan? What they do in their homes is none of our buisness. They will get reward for covering themselves and they'll also be questioned about wasting time on Sony tv and shahrukh khan in the hereafter.

that s your observation but many Pakistani women even in Pakistan are increasingly choosing abaya over chadowr. It started as a trend some time back but now it has become a matter of convenience, of choice.
Well, another thing is that more and more women are stepping out of their protective confines and into the spublic sphere, so I see more young girls donning the Saudi style abaya then ever before becasue they feel more secure, besides its easier to handle than taking care of a huge* duppata* or chadowr.
If I have to wear one, I would prefer the Iranain style short coat with a headscarf, much more stylish and smarter than the long flowing robes or abayas.

I've never seen a Paki woman wear Arab clothes in Britain, on the contrary I've seen many Arab women wear Shalwar Kameez.

If by "Arab clothing" you mean headscarf then that's not exclusively Arab, it's an Islamic thing, infact it's international, East European Christian women, Rroma gypsy women, some Medditerenean women, Sikh women etc. also wear scarves although not always in the same design.

My mom's English friend has some of the same scarves as my mom, only difference is my mom wraps them on her head whilst her English friend drapes them around her neck, it's quite an international piece of clothing..

If you are referring to the over-clothes (veil, gown, gloves etc.) that some Muslim women wear then that's international-Islamic, it's not really Arab/Paki/Indian clothing as such it's just outer-wear, women who wear them wear whatever they normally wear at home underneath.

Even if some Paki women do want to wear Arab clothing, so what? We live in a cosmopolitan world, cultures are merging. Why do Indian women wear Western clothes instead of Saari (even in India)? Nobody owns certain types of clothing, there's no such things as exclusively Arab clothing or exclusively Paki clothing anymore..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anil Khan http://www.paklinks.com/gs/images/buttons/viewpost.gif
Apparently, Pakistani women want to feel more islamic by emulating the saudis. Yet as soon as they get home, the tv channel turns to sony to see what shah rukh did yesterday…

Well, what has wearing abaya got to do with SRK? tsk!
As I said earlier that the women feel more at home, comfortable and secure wearing an abaya in the public sphere than any other dress.
At this point in time, the issue has gone beyong emulating the Saudis. It has more to do with modesty and ‘convenience.’