Why do muslim guys do this?

Re: Why do muslim guys do this?

Racial discrimination…? There could be many reasons for this behaviour

1. That particular guy may not like you, (maybe because he considers you’re not releigous enough for him, praying behind men (which is alright I think))

2. The guy may not be releigous himself, if he greets non-muslim girls and not muslim girls, then he doesnt say alot of salaams, (he wont say salaam to nonmuslims).

3. Culture, if a guy greets a desi girl, she’ll probably think "Yeh itna free kyu ho raha hai? :disgust: " but most westren girls would think it normal.

4. He may not like desi girls. This problem is everywhere. Pakistanis living outside pakistan often think that they dont belong to pakistan but to the country they are living in. They think Pakistan is just “Power-outs, bull**** on roads, and lots of maulvis everywhere.” I know more than one guy that has actually become Anti-Paki. He hates paki food, paki clothes, paki culture and even paki people.

5. Maybe he also feels ignored? Maybe if you were to say salaam to him, he would reply with wasalaam, and then he would also consider saying it to you next time? Give attention to get attention?

Thats all I can think of, hope it helps :smiley:

:konfused:

Have you tried saying salam to them?
I have the opposite prob cuz alot of muslim guys say salam to me cuz they know my brother and everyone around me thinks i know all these guys, not good for your rep:o

that might be the issue with this specific guy. He thinks it is “uncool” to say hello to desi people. He’ll grow up when he’s 45 :rolleyes:

I was never like that, Alhamdulillah, so I couldn't say why they do it. If your friends ask you why those guys do such and such thing, my advice would be to just have them ask those guys themselves.

I'm wondering, how do you defend these guys' behavior and attitude to people? How do you explain it to them?

Simple. He is a moron. Now munni go study :D

On a more serious note , a lot of so called Muslim guys AND girls do this. Frankly they just need to do some growing up. If I had been in your place I'd have given him a wonderful lecture about hugging girls while not letting you pray .

:stupid:

Munni well maybe they think ur too religious and wont respond um back and as barfee said have u tried greeting um.

Well.. my brother told me, once this hijabi girl and a mullah guy were hugging and kissing at corner in the parking building. Everyone passing by was looking at them with a shock. :D

I was too. Until I found out they were married.

I explain to them that its not Islamic behavior, but I add that perhaps they arent aware of that or werent taught that. sigh

We can only hope.

I’ve had my experiences with MSA movers and shakers. Unfortunately I have not one good thing to say about 'em.

Steer clear. It’ll keep your imaan intact.

And oh yeah…go study.

maybe say salaam to them and they will say it back, maybe they dont know you that well thats why they aren't saying salaam, i dont say salaam to random people but if they say it, I reply, as for the hugs, they wanna get sum sorta action from girls and they know they aren't going to get any from muslim girls...yah

I try to acknowledge them if they give me a glance, but they never initiate and dont really say anything when I do try to do that, so its kinda futile. I am just going to ignore them I guess, or ask one of my friends to bring it up in khutbah about greetings. hehe

It is not an issue, you are just looking for something to distract you from study

This happens with me too :bummer:

^ u mean the guys at uni ignore u too and dont care to hug u.... :p

I don't hug any woman but my ammi ji so I really can't say anything about those kind of guys' actions with muslims and non-muslim ladies. I do shake hands here and there to my white/black/hispanic friends' girlfriends/wives and don't to muslimahs because I have noticed many times even if I take my hand out for a shake, muslimahs usually just nod instead of shaking the hand and I feel really salty about that... That's my story.

Bhai Abdul Qudoos !

I meant that I too look for something that will distract me from studying :rolleyes:

and most of the time it is cooking :bobo:

I have no desire to hug guys, 2 eids is enugh for huging shuggin :grumpy:

LOL, all the guys hugging munni here. :D

^ and yet she complains… :rolleyes:

i dont know why they do it either