Irem baaji - These people have been brainwashed, or have brainwashed themselves to be anti MMA. They do not care if the MMA is our best choice, and that the motive of the MMA is only to make Pakistan a peaceful un-secularist Islamic nation. Secularism at it’s finest.
Madrassahs are not all free of all evils, they are also part of this same society we live in after all. Bad stuff does happen in Madrassahs too, but to say that madrassahs are bad, that’s like saying PakPatriot, that just because some students on college campuses indulge in drugs, college campuses and the institution of higher learning is bad.
Their overall aim is a “nayk” one, to teach religion. I have several (male and female) first cousins who have attended madrassahs in Punjab and I have not heard such stories from a single one of them. There are many good people who are coming out of these madRassay with hifz of Quraan Paak and deeni knowledge, and then they move on to colleges and universities as well.
To be honest with you, I have this problem too sometimes, but the problem lies not in Islam but with me. In the main matters of life, things are clear, believe in Allah, pray, fast, give charity, do hajj and basically do good.
If we do a true study of the Quran we will find true guidance in all spheres of life. We’re answerable to Allah swt only and religion is a personal thing so atleast we can follow it to our own understanding, we don’t have to follow anyone else’s version but only what we believe to be true in our own minds and hearts.
See PakPatriot there is a huge difference between a sinner who ACCEPTS that Islam is the right religion and should be the way of life and then directs his efforts towards following Islamic rules, as opposed to someone who just rejects Islam and continues on the path of sin.
We are ALL sinners. Who isn’t? But the point is, what direction do we take from here? We need to atleast move towards the right direction, don’t you think?
LOL my life is not all that halal otherwise I wouldn’t even be posting on this message board :o I don’t mean to have any holier-than-thou attitude coz I certainly don’t deserve to.
But Khayr…
The point is, the government DOES tell people how to live their life in every SINGLE country. There are LAWS in every single country that govern the behavior of citizens. There are many systems on law in this world.
All we’re saying is that we want a government that tailors these laws according to our religion.
Right now, even if you want you can’t do many things coz they are against the law. If you do them, you’ll be punished. You can’t steal or murder. Tomorrow you can say, I feel like murdering someone who the hell is the government to tell me not to do that!
Hmmm. Anyways. I hope you got my point.
Yes Irem, but unlike Madrassas, colleges arent the center for Islamic learning. If the one place where a Mullah can truly provide spiritual guidance is being used by the Mullah as a sex camp, then what is that saying? It really undermines our confidence in their Islamic revolution. You expect us to accept these people at the expense of other secular parties when these Mullahs are just as corupt and evil as the rest of them? Then they claim to be the moral counter for the rest of society? Dont you think Islam would be better of if her representatives were less hypocritcal and more spiritual? I would prefer a secular govt over a hypocrit govt anyday, at least they dont hide their faults!
And yes, I agree I am the problem, and I dont blame Islam. I want to study the Koran and find the truth for myself, but their are those out their who would want to interpret the Koran for you. These people come in the form of the MMA.
Irem baaji - People can follow stupid laws made by men but they have problems following ALLAH and his Prophet's law?
You see people stoping at 2 am on an empty road when there's a red light. How stupid is that? It's not like anyone is watching, but they follow it because it is the country's law.
But when someone asks people to follow ALLAH's law, people start "mullah" bashing.
This is the hypocricy that is displayed by our "moderate" muslims.
Hey...what are MMA's economic policies? Which sector or column do they believe will take Pakistan out of the peak and trough syndrome? Is it the religion column?
Im sorry Irem, but most countries except the so called Islamic countries dont tell people what kind of Music they can listen to, or what kind of clothes they can wear (as long as your not naked), what kind of films you can watch, whether you should wear Hijab/Burqa or not. These countries dont force people to pray, they dont force religion on everyone by havng printed on everything regardless of how pointless or irrelevent. These govt dont make rules that are obviously discrimnatory and impracticle against religous minorites such as the blasphemy and hudood ordinance. They respect the right of sitizens by not making the citizens religion a state matter..
This isnt about following Allahs laws or not, its about who has the right to interpret those laws, and the right to not have to follow those laws.. Whether your a good Muslim or not should be decided by god not some political party…
PakPatriot1 that’s not correct b/c Islam is a COMPLETE way of life, and in Islam there is no division of “church and state” like there is in the West. The Khulfaa-e-Rashideen (Caliphs) are an example of this. Our Prophet (saw) himself was involved in all spheres of life, he was a family person, he was a religious/spiritual leader and he was a leader of the Muslim nation then.
Tpday someone needs to represent Islam at the government level, b/c the laws the govt makes affect the lives of the common man, and therefore they should be made on the basis of religion so that the common man can follow the law of the country wihout going against his religion.
SO the MMA is like Shiv Sena. Now I get it.... carry on...toothless tigers, idiots of little intellect, hell bent on taking the country backwards. Thanks for explaining Mirza.
Mirza_Sahib you know my family traditionally votes for PML-N (biradri connections etc) but after listening to what some of the MMA FEMALE LEADERS had to say in some of the programs on Geo/ARY these past couple of months, I have really become a fan of MMA and their thinking. They really have a 100% CORRECT approach on issues. If Pakistan (inshallah) becomes a “a peaceful un-secularist Islamic nation” then that is the BEST thing for the whole world.
Irem, that was fine then, but times have changed. The Prophet was the Prophet, the MMA could never fill his shoes… I think, judging from his life, that he was far more liberal minded and moderate then most of the mullahs today. I mean, think for yourself, if the prophet were here to review Islamic laws of Pakistan today, what do you thnk he would say?
Second, a secular state that doesnt mix religion with politics is not a state that completely devoid of faith. Islam like any other religion is for guiding people, not controling them. A secular leader can be guided by the principles of Islam, and a Mullah can help in adviseing such leaders. But once religious leaders become politicians, the stop being spiritual leaders. When he becomes a politician he forgets the spirit of Islam and focuses on simply forcing people to follow it. Spiritual leaders guide people towards god, not by force but through speech and actions. Thats why MMA shouldnt be in power.
Irem… can you tell me what you think an Islamic country should be? I think if you tell me what one is then I can prove to you futility of trying to create one… Most people dont debate when I make such points for some reason, but I would like too see what you think…
I want to believe that your fabled Islamic paradise were real but im sorry yaar.. I dont see it.