Why do educated and intelligent Pakistanis support dictatorship over democracy?

Excellent article by Iran Husain. We have seen examples of those who support dictatorship here on this forum. This will explain why.

http://dawn.com/weekly/mazdak/mazdak.htm

The army’s camp-followers

By Irfan Husain

IN my column in this space last week, I had expressed my puzzlement over the phenomenon of large numbers of educated, seemingly intelligent Pakistanis supporting military dictatorship over democracy.

Since writing it, I met Shaukat Aziz, our ex-prime minister who is presently living in London. After our conversation, many pieces of the puzzle have fallen into place. As he insisted that the interview was to be off the record, I am professionally bound not to quote him. But I am allowed to say that I have seldom met anybody as complacent and self-satisfied as he is.

After eight years of being part of a government under which Pakistan has witnessed a rapidly deteriorating security environment, a chronic shortfall in energy, and a crushing increase in the price of wheat, one would have expected some expression of remorse. Not a bit of it. Shaukat Aziz launched into a long, self-congratulatory speech in response to every question.

While defending military rule, the well-off generally point to the stability the army brings, and the corresponding increase in Gross Domestic Product. They leave out the fact that little of this enhanced national wealth trickles down to the vast majority of people, especially those in the rural areas.

The truth is that those in favour of martial law are quite happy with the status quo. This is why around a third of all Pakistanis continue to live below the poverty line on less than a dollar a day. And apart from a tiny minority that lives in great luxury, the others are struggling to make ends meet.

Under a democracy, there is at least an attempt to redistribute wealth, not for any altruistic reasons, but simply because politicians need votes. And voters are inclined to support those parties they believe are more capable of making their lives a bit better. Thus, they will vote for parties who create more jobs, open more schools, colleges and hospitals, and so on.

Of course, popular election slogans do not always translate into policies and action. But politicians who do not deliver are in trouble when they next face the electorate. Or they would be, were the army not to interrupt the weeding out process whenever the top general feels like it.

Elitists who despise democracy say the country’s high rate of illiteracy makes it impossible for the masses to exercise their freedom of choice judiciously. This argument overlooks the fact that when India launched its highly successful democracy as a sovereign nation, its people were even less literate than Pakistanis today.

More importantly, these apologists for military rule should ask what so many dictators have done to increase the level of literacy beyond talking about it. While Musharraf has pumped in lots of money into higher education with questionable results, state schools still suffer from neglect. A visit to these pathetic, run-down institutions, even in the cities, is enough to make you weep.

The point here is that a ramshackle educational system where the majority is educated ensures that the children of the elite will have no competition. An expensive, English-language private education gives kids from rich families a huge edge in the job market. So clearly, there is no incentive for the well-placed to improve the state system.

Thus, the rich will continue to support any leader who will maintain the status quo, and if that leader happens to be a general, so be it. Since Zia’s days, the number of madressahs has proliferated, and despite Musharraf’s promises, the vast majority of them are producing armies of young men unqualified for employment. This, too, would have suited the elite, had it not been for the uncomfortable fact that this kind of education is raising the level of religious extremism and violence in the country.

Around three years ago, many commercial banks in Pakistan began giving loans for cars at fairly low interest rates. This encouraged thousands of people across Pakistan to buy cars for the first time in their lives. This, in turn, brought many cars on the roads, producing traffic jams in every city.

Interestingly, many of those who have taken cars for granted their whole lives began grumbling. Instead of demanding wider roads and better traffic management, they carped about the banking policy that had made cheap car loans available. In brief, they resented that the middle-class were suddenly driving in cars. I was reminded of my 88-year old father-in-law who, caught in a traffic jam on England’s M4, was overheard muttering: “They should only issue driving licences to Oxbridge graduates.”

What the smug residents of Pakistan’s Defence Societies and other affluent areas do not realise is that unless they are willing to share the national cake with the poor, it will be snatched away from them. As we saw in the aftermath of Benazir Bhutto’s assassination, there is great anger just below the surface. The burning of cars, banks and symbols of the state was just a reminder that pushed beyond a certain point, the wretched of this country are capable of great violence.

So while the wealthy rationalise their support for dictatorship by arguing that politicians are too corrupt and inept to run the country, the sub-text is that they are happy with the status quo and do not want it to change. Obviously, any redistribution of national resources would mean a smaller share for the haves.

If, as junior partners to the army, they can manage to keep their privileges, why should they rock the boat? Any political system based on the will of the majority is bound to have some redistributive impact. The reason so many millions of Pakistanis remember the first Bhutto era with nostalgia is that it saw many major projects launched. Nationalisation created many more jobs. While the sophisticated may argue that this was an economic disaster, the poor have a diametrically opposite view.

The wheat crisis does not affect the wealthy. Nor does the power shortage, unless their factories come to a halt. They all have generators to run their lights and their air-conditioners. But all these problems, created by the incompetence of the Musharraf/Chaudhry combine, directly affect the poor.

On Feb 18, they will punish their tormentors, and vote a popular government into power. If the army and its camp-followers allow them to do so, that is.

Re: Why do educated and intelligent Pakistanis support dictatorship over democracy?

Thanks for sharing SK. Always good to read what you contribute..

Re: Why do educated and intelligent Pakistanis support dictatorship over democracy?

So, you love to read all BS from Tom, Dick, and Harry? That article is political cookery for those who can eat anything, so eat it :daaghu2: but if you would start asking question, whole article would come out like this – >:daaghu1:.

Irfan Hussain writes about mega projects started by Bhutto .. when his mega projects was to destroy Pakistan economically, so that he and his Vadera group can stay in power as long as possible … and if you do not beleive me, find me 5 Mega projects started during Bhutto period in power (he ruled Pakistan for 5.5 years).

I can only think of two middle size projects (Pakistan Steel Mill and Kamra Aeronautical complex) plus initiating of Nuclear ‘A Q Khan enriched uranium’ program (Pakistan nuclear program started in 50s). Though I know that many industries got completely destroyed because of Bhutto, namely shipping, insurance, banking, education, etc. Apart of that, Bhutto was good in killing or keeping opposition politicians in prison, as almost all opposition politicians in his rule were in prison and many were killed in mysterious circumstances.

Bhutto was also good in killing people on ethnic as well as political reasons (there was ethnic riot in Sindh during his period due to Bhutto policy, plus Balochs (Marri and Mengal) were bombed and killed through out Bhutto rule.

This is how democracy works for Bhutto: Within few months of democratic rule that started in 1973 (after constitution), Bhutto sacked the government of NWFP and Balochistan, arrested two chief ministers (both province), two governors (both province), and many MNAs and MPAs of these two provinces, sending them to Jail (who stayed there throughout his period). Resulting in armed struggle in Balochstian (by Marri and Bugti), that Bhutto tried to suppress using Pakistan army under Tikka Khan (later became known as Buttcher of Balochs), resulting in bombing and killing many innocent Balochs. It was Zia that stopped military operation in Balochistan.

Biggest irony of Bhutto politics is that, in Sindh, Karachi supported Bhutto PPP (gave PPP 3 out of 7 NA seats) but when Bhutto came to power, his policy alienated Karachiets so much that PPP never managed to take hold of Karachi again. This is what politicians like Bhutto care for their voters.

And there you go with your medium-rare BS as usual too.

Thanks Sa1eem. i knew you wouldn't disappoint many of us who know your quality of posts. :)

BTW, I don't see the political parties' names mentioned in the original article, thanks for being totally irrelevant and dragging political parties into it.

Bhai, I believe you did not read the article carefully :)

Politicians ... working for voters, make life of voters good so that they can go back to ask for vote again, starts mega projects so that voters get jobs, democracy is good for poor and only those are against democracy who want status quo ... all these BS about democracy etc ... I covered because that is what article claims politician do and democracy brings :)

Actually, democracy in Pakistan does not mean asking vote from voters, democracy in Pakistan means taking vote from voters ... by duress, force (gunda-gardi) or intimidation ... and that is what Vaderas, Jagirdaars, Sardars in Pakistan do to get into parliament. In Pakistan we do not have democracy that brings democratic rule, we have democratic monarchy that brings democratic anarchy. And that is why educated and intelligent Pakistanis who like to see changes, development and better life for poor, do not support such democracy that only brings anarchy in the country.

Well, contrary to what 'Irfan Hussain' wrote, actually those educated Pakistanis that do not want change in Pakistan, wants status quo as they are benefiting from it, wants that poor stay poor and they can keep exploiting poor of Pakistan, and thus they have some interest in such democracy that brings anarchy, supports democratic monarchy in Pakistan.

Part of article:

Under a democracy, there is at least an attempt to redistribute wealth, not for any altruistic reasons, but simply because politicians need votes. And voters are inclined to support those parties they believe are more capable of making their lives a bit better. Thus, they will vote for parties who create more jobs, open more schools, colleges and hospitals, and so on.

Of course, popular election slogans do not always translate into policies and action. But politicians who do not deliver are in trouble when they next face the electorate. Or they would be, were the army not to interrupt the weeding out process whenever the top general feels like it.

If, as junior partners to the army, they can manage to keep their privileges, why should they rock the boat? Any political system based on the will of the majority is bound to have some redistributive impact. The reason so many millions of Pakistanis remember the first Bhutto era with nostalgia is that it saw many major projects launched. Nationalisation created many more jobs. While the sophisticated may argue that this was an economic disaster, the poor have a diametrically opposite view.

Sa1eem, we got it...you support dictatorship b/c in serves your interest. BTW, you missed on part of the article where he talks about how democracy took hold in India and not in Pakistan and the reason we all know why...

No, you did not get it. :). You are partly right and partly wrong.

You are right that I support soft 'middle and working class' dictatorship over feudal class controlled democratic monarchy.

On the other hand, you are wrong that such 'soft dictatorship' serve my interest best, as personally, I can benefit more under democratic anarchy that democratic monarchy brings.

BTW, you missed on part of the article where he talks about how democracy took hold in India and not in Pakistan and the reason we all know why...

No, I did not missed that. Actually, Irfan missed something and that is, when we talk about democracy in Pakistan, it is not just education, it is change in structure of society.

Structure of Pakistan (West Pakistan) and Indian society is completely different and it was different from day one (from 1947). At partition and even today, most of West Pakistan was either tribal society (controlled by Sardars) or agricultural society (controlled by Jageerdars or Vaderas). On the other hand, India already had gone through a change and many business houses were well established there, plus since India was center of government, there was many job opportunities there, and thus most people never used to rely for their living on Jageerdaars or Sardars.

At time of Partition, Pakistan had no industry and no mentionable institution of education (all were in India) and area what is Pakistan was producing raw materials or agricultural goods for Indian factories, thats all. So, after partition, most people in West Pakistan were dependent for their living on Jageerdars or Sardars, whereas in India, most (if not all) were independent of the control of such Jageerdars and Sardars.

Hence it was possible for India to have democracy (to an extend) but in Pakistan, any democracy meant rule of Jageerdars or Sardars, and that is what happened. Military intervention only brought some representation of middle class, thats all.

Nevertheless, Indian democracy also had a large number of Zameendaars and Sardars in power, and that is the reason, it took India a long time to get reasonable democracy (that is still not there). Cost to India is such that even though at time of independence, the stage they were in industrial development, today they could have been world biggest industrial power with per capita income comparable to any country in west, but they are still basket case.

As for Pakistan, if Pakistan had democracy as what India had, Pakistan would not have survived economically and would have collapsed. Today Pakistan economically is reasonably set but most of Pakistan is still a dependent society (dependent on Zameendar and Sardars for their living or survival), that is changing slowly.

To me, democracy is feasible not when there is education but when there would be enough diversity in finding jobs and earning livelihood for majority of population, such that population becomes independent of Jageerdars and Sardars, so that they can choose their Representative without fear of loosing their livelihood, even life, or getting intimidated by these monarchs of their areas.

Saleem Bhai! Duwaaye de is leader ko, is waqt ye nukes na hote na to hum bhi na hote. Look at Afghanistan and Iraq!

Brother, please do not misunderstand me, as I am not of those that hate someone for the sake of it (actually, I do not hate anyone, but respect according to what I believe they do or did). Rather, I think it is sin that one do not give credit where it belongs.

I do not think that Bhutto did nothing. Actually, I appreciate a lot what he did on social front, regardless of me not liking some of the things that he did, especially on economical and political front. Fact is that, amongst Pakistani politicians, I think that he did most and should be appreciated for that (that includes initiating Nuclear program for making Pakistan nuclear).

Actually, I think that Bhutto did a lot and could have done much more. Some of what he did is really appreciable and I always would respect him for that. His work in Pakistan for ordinary people and also in bringing changes in Pakistani culture was immense. I think I have mentioned many of what goods he did for Pakistan, in my past posts. Some of his work that I really appreciate are:

Introducing ID card and National dress (as that gave identity as well as feeling of importance and equality to those Pakistanis who could never have thought of their importance). His giving right of passport to every Pakistan and made it easy to get (in past, it was very difficult for most Pakistanis to even get Passport). His abolishing foreign exchange Bonus Voucher scheme and giving right to every Pakistani to get dollars from State Bank of Pakistan for traveling abroad. His start of 'NDVP' (I think that is what it was called) that gave guaranteed job and thus a bit of income to every graduate who wanted it, so that they can have some self respect and work for further their career.

I really believe that he was genuine in his desire to find ways to provide affordable roti, karpra aur makan for all Pakistanis, and give them free (or affordable) education. His appeal to Pakistanis to work for Pakistan and his desire (well, it seems that way) to try to do something for the poor of the country, did gave a lot for poor to remember him.

Well, there are many things that he started that is appreciatable. But than that does not absolve him from all his political victimisation of opponents and destroying ... rather restraining Pakistan economical development (intentionally or unintentionally).

Wrong. Many of us support status quo because the "democratic" parties in Pakistan are not remotely democratic at all. Case in point: The way PPP leadership was handed down as if its a piece of family property.

If I see a competent democratic leader, I will support them. Fact is, there is none.

So, of all the evils, the least evil at the moment is Musharraf. Who technically is no longer a military chief, and therefore, technically, the country is no longer a military dictatorship.

He gave up his power as COAS so that he could keep the country together. Most Pakistani leaders wouldn't have made that choice.

Most importantly, I'll support those who get &%#$ done. He opened up the TV channels and media, and despite his horrible mistake of shutting down GEO temporarily in Pakistan, the media is still way more open than what it used to be. People who say they were democratic leaders ran a state-run PTV, not even allowing Moin Akhtar and Anwar Maqsood to indulge too much in direct political jokes. That's democracy?

You can dress up a wolf in sheep's clothing, but it still stays a wolf. Democracy in Pakistan is nothing more than nationalized fuedalism.

Also, I can argue the same - those who support "democracy" in Pakistan, are folks who serve to gain most from having zamindaars in power.

Either way, the benefit is not getting to the common man.

Keep in mind, that with the way Musharraf was leading the nation, if he wasn't being hampered by Fundoos and troubles on the Afghani border, and there weren't all these suicide attacks in Pakistan, progress might be way more visible.

Lets agree for a second that whole 100% of Pakistan operates this way (extorting votes out of voters). Now please explain to us how a military rule is going to solve this problem and ensure a government which is accountable to people, which provides justice, which creates a jobs? Which will solve the "tax collection, contribution, distribution" in fair ways for provinces? What have army rules done to do that? I am all ears.

I have already seen discussion here about it. India had cut the roots of jaageerdari/sardaari by taking away big parts of lands from "waderas/jageerdaars", hence we don't see feudalism in India.

Hence it was possible for India to have democracy (to an extend) but in Pakistan, any democracy meant rule of Jageerdars or Sardars, and that is what happened. Military intervention only brought some representation of middle class, thats all.
India wasn't a "democracy" back then, it was more of socialist-democracy. It turned more towards democracy later in the last century.

India had a massive Land Reform legislation. People (zamindars and others) who had huge land holdings were made to sell them if they were not farming themselves. I think this brought down the level of feudalism perhaps. Ofcourse a lot of people resorted to 'binami' and just distributed ownership to cousins and chamchas.

I thought govt of India took away the lands, no?

Ownership of large land holdings doesn't necessarily make a person feudal. The real problem is 'feudal mindset'. A person who owns no tangible assets may act as a feudal. Pakistan shouldn't become a socialist country.

A person who acts as a feudal without any "tangible" assets is usually admitted to mental hospitals. Seriously, what can such a guy really do to be able to intimidate into voting for himself/his-backed-candidate?

You can name many 'feudals' who come from military, bureaucracy or simply 'middle class' backgrounds. I don't want to ruffle any feathers here. But I'll repeat what I said earlier: ownership of large land holdings doesn't make a person feudal. Please carry on with your wealth redistribution plans. :)

^ yes, and India has all the feudal problems while Pakistan doesn’t :sleep2:

I'm not a fan of martial law.

But the unfortunate fact of the matter is that, for whatever reason, Pakistan really hasn't been able to produce any competent civilian leaders in the past 50 or so years. Military rule has just shown itself to be the lesser of two evils.

Honestly, what do all the pro-'democracy' (if we can even call anything in Pakistan's political history by that name) want? Who are you planning on electing? This is the name Nawaz Sharif who ran the country into the ground in the 90's (with some help from Benazir). The last time we had civilian rule, our foreign exchange reserves were about the same as Nepal's, Karachi was a war zone, the Supreme Court had been stormed by Nawaz's supporters in an effort to force the CJ to resign, and we had no private TV media to speak of.

Is that really what we want to return to?

Yes, there was no compensation for the zamindars & jagirdars in India. Many of the Muhajir families in Pakistan today immigrated in the 1950's after their land was seized...