Why do Brides Cry?

I was just wondering that why do brides cry while they are getting Rukhsat? :hmmm:

Re: Why do Brides Cry?

Because, they have just had to sit next to a smelly boy for 4-5 hours and smile at random people they do not know and then, and then, they have to go to a house which is not theirs and share a room with the smelly boy.

There's a lot to cry about.

:hmmm:

Practical Experience?

Just to show that they are still a lil girl, which they are NOT !

its not easy leaving your entire life behind ......

Cos everyone else is crying so they feel they have to join in!

They cry for many reasons. 1) You're starting a new phase in your life and that's scary. 2) You're leaving behind your immediate family and may not see them as regularly as you used to. ** 3)** You're leaving behind the comfort **of your immediate family. And you realize **all that your parents have done for you. And you realize that **nobody **will love you as unconditionally as your own parents. Not your MIL, not your FIL, not your SIL.

Although there are exceptions to the following generalization, I feel that one of my married friends made an interesting point one day. She said that for all the relationships in life....you have to prove yourself to the other person. For example, you have to prove yourself to your boss. You have to prove yourself worth of your friend's companionship. ** But** parental love comes close to being unconditional. And while that's not always the case for some people....it's an interesting thought.

I cried because out of NOWHERE, they played “Babul ki duaaie leti jaa” song :frowning:
I had NO IDEA that song was gonna be played! :snooty:
That song makes me cry no matter what… so obviously, it killed me the last moment.

Otherwise, I did not feel like crying because everything was happening the way it should have been… I was leaving with lots of love from Parents, siblings, relatives. so why cry over happiness? so it was all good. I was just gonna hug everybody before leaving… oh and besides, I was EXHAUSTED… I just wanted to retire… crying was just not gonna happen… more like DYING was gonna happen. to me lol

girls cry when almost anything happens, if you really think about it. they are rondoo critters.

I'd be crying internally; I don't think I'd be able to muster out physical tears but I'd probably squeeze the life out of my loved ones through hugs. It's HARD to cry in front of so many people not to mention a camera that's all zooming in on you and shiz.

What I want to know is why desi women (older ones I guess) have created such a stigma out of a bride not crying during rukhsati? What's it to them!?

Here you go.. i can’t put it better :k:

i didnt cry and rarely have seen brides cry.

They cry , as its their last day of crying … so they cry out of joy and happiness.. after that we lads have to cry all life :teary2:

^:omg:

Historically crying had a basis in the Indian sub-continent because the women would be taken away from their parents home possibly to distant in-laws. Modern dynamics of transport and realisation that couples need their own homes does not mandate the crying anymore ...

... I guess today it is done out of fashion more than anything else ...

Some people genuinely cry because they are forced in to marriage ... :(

Some are overwhelmed and crying surfaces as a means of handling those feelings

Larki is liye roti hai jab woh dekh leti hai keh uski shadi ek bandar se hho rahi hai :crying:

to wo bandar nikah ke waqt nazar kion nahi aata? rukhsati ke waqt hi kion aata hai?:hmmm:

If this is based on experience, I really feel for you. Must be some old village ritual.

at my cousin's rukhsati, the groom cried more than the bride did :S