Why did India fail to compete with China?

China and India were about equal in economic capacity in 1980, when the Chinese began the reforms that moved China toward capitalism and an openness to foreign investment. Since 1980, the Chinese have averaged 9% annual growth, a remarkable achievement. India grew very slowly up to 1985, when the first set of reforms improved the economy. But it was the Congress Party’s reaction to a balance of payments crisis in 1991 that put India on the road to economic reform. Since then growth in India has accelerated to an average rate of about 6%. Even a relatively reformed India finds itself slipping further behind China.

Why has nominally capitalist India done worse than communist China? India has a number of handicaps that it has yet to address. First, the basic lack of human development constricts growth. China’s literacy rate is 90% compared with 60% for India. Chinese life expectancy and infant mortality are substantially better than India’s.

Second, the quality of governance in China is better. Local governments in China have done a better job of assisting economic development than in India. In China the Communist party has morphed into the party of development, and party functionaries have a consensus that delivering economic growth is their primary job, and the primary justification for their monopoly on power. In India, the corruption of the system, and the fractious nature of politics, has prevented a culture of civic virtue from taking hold among its political class.

India has also been pursuing a strategy of service sector growth which provides a nice living for thousands of English-speaking call center workers and software engineers. This lends itself to breathless articles in the financial press, but let’s be serious. India cannot become a modern nation writing software code and answering phone calls. It is industrial growth that really matters, and there India is falling short. Lifting the tens of million s of Indians in poverty up the economic ladder will take creating millions of low-tech manufacturing jobs. This cannot be done on the backs of thousands of software writers.

Finally, the underlying social problem in India is daunting. That of course is the caste system with untouchability and the marginalization of the Muslim minority. If you put these two groups together, almost 40% of India’s population is shut out of the system, and this acts as a drag on economic growth. It was only after the civil rights revolution that the American South industrialized and began to catch up with the rest of the country. Until then, India will hobble along with the Hindu rate of growth.

Re: Why did India fail to compete with China?

If given above conclusion is correct…why the Muslim majority states are trailing in all fields?

The problem with India, now as it has been, is that there are more communists in India than there are in China. The changes in India are not government down, like in China. They are people up, and are more sustainable. One more thing to consider, China being a communits country, a mid to high level official can make things happen on his own. In India, god himself has to move to mountains for any bit of change. Things are changing. India should continue to sell off state controlled businesses and make more cuts in the state bureaucracy.
Oddly enough, the states in the South, which are powering the India economy, are the ones that are making all the changes. The North is still catching up.

China's exports are approaching $1 trillion.

India can barely manage a 1/10th of that.

silly, the topic is about why it cant achieve the growth of china. do u have anything to add on that part or do u prefer counting in trillions and billions.:D

It is good for Bharat to make China as a role model for development and progress. However while doing so, one has to be very careful to pay attention on habits, history, strengths, and weaknesses of each nation.

Comparing 1 billion people to 1 billion people is too simplistic to reach a meaningful conclusion. As some of the Bharatis can shoot back with questions about Muslim world in general, or Pakistan in particular.

Chinese were outsourced manufacturing jobs some 300+ ago by British East India Company. The same company outsourced their money-management (or accountancy) jobs to Bharati southern regions. The question is why?

The answer lies in the relative strengths of each region. Bharatis could provide superb accountants, and far superior skills in English language compared to Chinese. While Chinese were able to draw on their strength of manufacturing things cheaply and efficiently.

The world goes through cycles where manufacturing may be king one day, and service sector may be queen the other day. This back and forth swing defines us the people and our environment that includes planets and universe.

So let us not club Bharat for not being able to "compete" with China in manufacturing. Because China cannot compete with Bharat in service sector.

In the past I have tried to simplify this comparison by naming each nation based on their "core competency". China is a nation of "Mistaries" (manufacturing factory workers), and Bharatis are a nation of "Munshis" (accountants, office secretaries).

Having said that, we must realize that Munshi or Mistari titles are for the core competencies of each nation. It does not mean that Bharatis cannot produce some Mistaries or on the other hand China would not have any Munshis among them.

While we focus on core competencies of Bharat and China, we should also try to focus on the core competency of Pakistan.

Pakistanis are a nation of "Sipahis" (soldiers), so we should always be looking around the world to provide our "Sipahi services".

India is closing the gap. So I think India can outpace China. Will it? Remains to be seen.

Even as the Indian stock market tumbled, the government said Wednesday that the economy grew a surprising 9.3 percent in the January-March quarter from a year ago, highlighting the vitality that has lured international investors to the country. **
**For the fiscal year through March, the Indian economy grew 8.4 percent, surpassing the government's own expectations for 8.1 percent growth. That brings India's growth closer to China's 10 percent pace.

Spoken like a true Indian...I think its about time you should come out of the closet...

even though the government in china is communist, it's economic policies are not socialist unlike erstwhile USSR. This could be one of the reasons. Besides taking decisions aren't difficult where there is no "opposition party". That's not the case in india. eg:- To build a international airport in bangalore there were so many hassles created by each every party which had to be cleared first.

And i agree, we indians are taking chinese as our role models (only for economic policies) for our progress eg:- we are establishing SEZ's(special economic zones) which are based on chinese model.

Indians should not be taking Chinese as anything. Just because they have a few years lead on us means nothing. We should emulate the US. Capitalism and democracy are what works, not capitalism by the leave of a dictator.

what's wrong in adopting something good or to be precise pro-capitalism which is there in chinese or americans?...

"Just learn from others what helps us and leave the rest" whether it chinese or americans.

Very sly of you to toss an insult at us. Well heres something for you. Democracy in a corrupt political setup means nothing as it is not democracy, its nautunkee (drama/act). Thats why we need a someone with power to set things right, to pave the way for democracy in future.

Janab anti saab, zara khulasa bataein, what is this "Sipahi services"? Is it providing security or chowkidari?

It should be interesting to note that Western capitalism is now causing their economy to get into a downward spiral. USA's economic strength should not solely attributed to their economic model or political system, lets not forget USA is one of the few regions that did not get hit by any major war. Having that advantage they were able to contract their rebuilding skills throughout Europe and that definitely paid econimc dividends.

As some people here have said China has growth in the manufacturing sector and India in the service sector. However primarily, that implies China's economy is labor based owing to their humungous population whereas India's economy is Intellect oriented, which means the few intellectuals in India are feeding the whole nation. India needs to realize how to put everyone to use as China has. When countries start investing in India as a manufacturing base the poverty levels will definitely plunge over there. Should there be any competition to the workhorse force of China their economy will lag behind very quickly. If CHina start competing at an intellectual level India would be at a huge disadvantage, India's service has flourished basically because they have overcome the language barrier. (Reminds me of what my advisor used to say, If these Chinese could speak english then we can all go home). There are political factors as well as some have pointed out here, how much empowered are people in China and India to make a change. The political opposition in China has insignificant influence whereas in India (blessings of democracy) you have to satisfy everyones vested interest before a change can come about. Unless everyone gets a piece of the pie there is no pie. So far I think both countries have capitalized on their strengths.

India's worst economic enemy is government. That the Indian economy is expanding is due only to the people. True that the government setup up institution and colleges after independence, but that was to be a part of Nehru's Socialist ideal.
India is betting that by having a large middle class that wants to consume, it will foster the build up of a manufacturing base. Thereby employing more people. Only time will tell, centrainly burdensome employment laws don't help. Idiotic laws like needing government approval before a lay off.
Either way, India's and China's ride is just begining. They still have decades to go.

Separate thread for Pakistani core competency please!

The concept of core competency was the main point of the original post.

Bharati core competency: Service sector, Accountancy, Office support or Munshi
Chinese core competency: **Manufacturing sector, factory worker or **Mistari

At this moment, Mistaris can make much more money than Munshis. The trend will continue in near future. Long term future, only Allah knows.

p.s. Sipahis can make more money than both Mistaris and Munshis.

Janab, where do you get your data from? Are you seriously suggesting skilled labor makes less than assembly line workers? Can I have some of that crack you're smoking?

And as for your fantasy of exporting soilders: Where did you get that gem from?
Do you expect countries to rely on imported soilders? Soliders of fortune tend to run when the going gets tough. Take a read at what is happening in Africa and South African soilders of fortune. Take a look at a company called "Executive Outcomes". Then, please stop such rubbish.

I suggested this before.. what about exporting our vast knowledge of Islamic religion and culture? We have more Islamic scholars in S. Asia and Islam is the fastest growing religion in the world- why not connect them together to make profit? We can publish books, DVDs, and what not.

Bharatis are realizing their lack of manufacturing base/skills and the apart from Tata/Bajaj/Mahindra there is no other solid indigenous motor company and they are focussing on that too.. they themselves import lot of stuff when they can make them in their country with their cheap labor. We are a nation of 180 million and we can also dive into contract manufacturing.. There is a surge in demand for vehicles as middle class generally is growing across the developing world.

I sincerely hope that Pakistani version of Islam doesn't spread around, esp the way our current "MMA" scholars conduct their business.

Islam was the fastest growing religion before 9/11. It will unfortunately be the fastest declining religion for a while. People will run away from beards like it is plague. Pakistani Mullah has no chance of acceptance where there is already and Arab or Iranian Mullah available. Books DVDs produce money if there is a copyright. Guess what? You can't copyright in the land of Muslims where there is concept of intellectual property.

The problem with Bharatis is that they read nationalist historically mangled books, watch movie Gandhi and become experts on everything South Asia.

Look Bhai Sahib, Dell will have a much smaller percentage of it's budget for BPO compared to its manufacturing operations. It is that simple. That is why a group of Mistris (Chinese Bharati or Pakistani) will make more money than a group of Munshis (Chinese Bharati or Pakistani) supporting Dell.