Is it coz it’s on TV all day?
Re: Why desis are obsessed with the Olympics?
Everyone is 'interested' in the Olympics as it is a great sporting event which celebrates sports and talent across the world. Im quite chuffed for Team GB and their efforts, however, I still cheer on all the gymnasts from every country as I LOVE the gym, it's awesome and im so envious of their talent.
I have time to watch every event as im off work, but my sister who is working comes homes, naps, watches what she's missed on her laptop and then we sit and discuss or more likey argue about who should have won gold.
Perhaps I'm the only desi not interested in it. I saw when Farah did sajdah, he was that much closed to rub himself on the US dude's spit. yuck
I dont think it's just 'Desi' people that are interested in the Olympics. Everyone who is interested in sports is watching/talking about it.
99% of the sporting events in the Olympics happen to be something noone really cares about other than once every four years ![]()
Still though a good way of relieving boredom.
Hareem, you are not alone. I am also not interested. ![]()
I didnt even know desis were so much interested in Olympics until I saw these blogs and threads popping up everywhere on GS. But well with all the fun and appreciating the sports and all that, I think all these debates and craze sounds a little useless. Its Ramadan, people, I thought we had better things to do :hinna:
Oss main Atif Aslam khial raha hotaa tou aap dono oochal oochal ke dekh rahi hoteen olympics
I dont know if it has to do something with being desi or not, but neither I am interested
I watch it if the TV is already on..and someone else is watching, else not!
I think most of the sports lovers watch the olympics. Even if you are not very much into sports, it is nice to watch the events your country is participating in provided they r putting up a decent show.
Is it coz it's on TV all day?
i dnt like 'em either :p
Why they should not? ![]()
Its a great once-in-4-years sporting event and chances are that among so many games on display, you do follow 2..3..4 games or sportsman.
Oss main Atif Aslam khial raha hotaa tou aap dono oochal oochal ke dekh rahi hoteen olympics
haan tou goray Olympians ka achaar daalna hai kya?
it's really interesting definitely. I love gymnastics the most. However I wouldnt really especially sit and watch all events..coz I don't have much time for tv either anyway !
and since it's happening in London, the excitement of everybody around here in the UK makes sense obviously !
^ that makes very much sense. Its a sports event and should be enjoyed as such. But fighting over it, thrusting your opinion on others whether to watch it or not, and generalizing it as much as comparing it to porn, is all… quite weird. ![]()
lol…I actually enjoyed that half.
j/k
everyone who has ever competed in real life will find the olympics fascinating.
those of you who don't like the olympics, have you ever played any sports? taken part in any form of physical events?
I remember in late early 80’s s when Imran Khan used to play cricket, Mullahs expressed their displeasure on the way he used to rub the cricket ball near his groin area before delivering. They claimed it as Fahashi :D. Similar minded people are now comparing Olympics to Soft Porn
Does three-legged race count? ![]()
I swear this was my second post during all this Olympic saga going on
What about Doctor-Doctor?