why desi babies!!!!!

why desi babies cry so loud with baaaan baaan!!! If ur in a mall u can in a moment know the loud baan baan of a desi baby even he/she is miles away.. compared to babies say caucasians.. one can hardly know the low notes of those babies..

Maybe because white people take the time to listen to their kid and try to find out the purpose of their crying and consule their kid, where as some desi females, dont usually care as to why the kid is crying, the kid cries even more louder to get attention of his/her mom.

Sadia I so gaarunty that you are on the right track! Or maybe becuz plenty of desi parents I've seen in malls etc don't have the patience to say 'no' in the right way, rather they subside it with a nice little slap. Trust me degas :p
Plus who knows what kinda food these desi babies are fed at home, with all that spice on our menu. Colic is number one reason why babies cry so much on top of their lungs. Yar. A typical desi couple really don't have the patience to iquire what is it that the child really is yelping about so loud. Otherwise visit to the mall is just so rewarding for a little baby. Seeing all that activity ..the colourfull people, so much music, and so many things on various isles to tug and pull at when mommy is busy with her back at the stroller, picking stuff :-)

Re: why desi babies!!!!!

*Originally posted by Degas: *
why desi babies cry so loud with baaaan baaan!!! If ur in a mall u can in a moment know the loud baan baan of a desi baby even he/she is miles away.. compared to babies say caucasians..

Wow, I never noticed this bit of detail. Very interesting! :-|

*Originally posted by SaadiaB: *
Maybe because white people take the time to listen to their kid and try to find out the purpose of their crying and consule their kid, where as some desi females, dont usually care as to why the kid is crying, the kid cries even more louder to get attention of his/her mom.

Ah, this is what I think too. Also, desi babies tend to be more spoiled ... from what I have seen. It's sooo refreshing to see a desi baby who doesn't cry.

Here's another question: Why do families (both desi and non-desi) take their babies to the movies? Do people actually enjoy letting their kid scream and cry throughout a film, ruining it for everybody? I would think that parents would take their kid outside if they were screaming at the top of their lungs.

I had this happen to me twice in the past few months. During the last Spiderman movie, a father refused to take his kids out, who were all under 3 years old, and were all arguing with eachother throughout the movie. All you could hear was people going "shhhh.....shhhh" to the kids. That's the last time I go to an early evening show.

Yaar Degas U havent seen african babies :frowning:

I once saw this african moms with 2 babies.
they were crying for like 10 minutes, and all of a sudden one of the moms lifts her hand and hits the kid full on the face :frowning: Almost like a professional boxer would do :eek:

Everyone was looking at them. The kid started crying harder and the mom continued as if nothing happened and instead of listening to the baby, she slapped him again after 2/3 minutes.

:yukh:

That's a very good observation Degas, i never even noticed it that much untill this thread.

Wait a second.....I don't agree.
I've seen plenty of non-desi babies raising hell in malls and other public venues.

I think Degas and shahreen are just feeling this way because they, like me, are new and first-time parents. We find ourselves feeling uncomfortable because pre-baby years we would never have attracted so much attention to ourselves in a public place. But with little one wailing, we feel like the whole world has stopped in their tracks to stare at us and how inept we are as parents.

It's guilt folks. Nothing less and nothing more. Don't be so hard on yourselves and please, please don't label. (This is where the "desis are less perfect than non-desi" programming starts.)

That's not true at all. I've seen all kinds of kids throw tantrums.

i agree that desi babies do cry a lot compared to non desi babies (not that its right to compare babies-thats a whole other issue)

However, u ever noticed that once they become toddlers...the desi kids have had soo many slaps that they dnt have tantrums anymore whereas the non desi kids become evil!

Ahem! Hello again!

Man Degas have you ever asked a question that stops you in tracks and makes a mind wonder!

To your addition, I spent almost 3 to 4 months in California, listening to a baby SCREAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAM and Baaaaaaaaaa waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa starting 11 PM till 4 AM in the morning. God Darnit this one newborn baby (yes a white one trust me) residing beside our apartment used to cry on top of her lungs till hell used to freeze over and won’t stop!

On airplanes I’ve seen plenty of babies from many regions that keep on crying and crying, one wonders didn’t the parents at least try to make the effort of being prepared for the trip. And why is it that most of the times its because the baby is shivering with cold, with the parents dress them up with summer cloths. Desi, arabs and orientals are usually the ones I’ve spotted with this crime :rolleyes:

Ok I’ve got more but now I’ve to run :slight_smile:

Muzna, Of course the kids belonging to us guppies are angels yar. Who are you talking about throwing tantrums?:wink:

I think it has to do with what works for them. Children learn and develop attention gaining techniques.

Last time when I went to Pakistan I met Danish my cousins son and Owais son of another cousin. Even though Danish was younger he was just so well behaved. He was the only grandson and so the centre of attention of the grandparents, parents, two elder sisters and an Uncle. I found him extremely well behaved. You just had to ask him once and he would listen to you. He was hardy 2 years old I think. I rarely found him crying and was just loved by every body. His mother took good care of him and if she was not around there were a lot of other people and he did become my fav as well. [Almost a year now and they tell me he still misses me when ever he sees our car he asks if chacoo hhalid came]. He hardy had to cry for something only once can I remember him crying when he fell. And that was not baan baaan. In fact now that you mention I realize he just had to draw that long face… the pre crying stage and someone who ever was there was paying attention to him.

Then you had Owais older than him and cousin to Danish. Owais when he would not get his way would start with baan baaan baaan baaaaan baaaaan and then he would get on the floor and kick and roll…. I think you get the pic. The main difference I think was the mothers of the two. While Danish’s mother was extremely aware of Danish all the time where ever he was and paid attention Owis’s mother, my cousin is just so oblivious. In fact she was just too lazy a COW and would openly say how tired she is of the him and would just ignore him and continue with the talking . In short she was extremely insensitive to him and that has made Owais stubborn and a baan baaan kid. What is worse is that now since he has the label of a stubborn kid he is treated that way by all. Those who didn’t want to, their patience is tested to the limit by Owais.

they cry more thinking, 'yaar yay kahaan paida hogaye hain hum'.

Fob desis are known to have stupid marriages...really, the wives are uneducated and grabbing babies by the arms is considered appropriate. A slap never comes early enough and yelling in the middle of a mall's always cool. South Asians are a disgrace.

behavior of toddlers is quite different and is mostly due to upbringing and in toddlers case gore kids are are second worse - blacks lead. But in the post I was refering to babies of few monthsold.. true colic babies would cry a lot but I had always noted that white kids cry very softly and in most cases one even cant note thir low cring but desi babies cry in very high chords.. next time ur in public place just note when babies cry..

Degas I disagree! Cuz kids vary regardless of them being of different colours or sizes or genders :slight_smile: Some desi newborn will cry very softly, while others may raise hell. Some white kids may cry softly while others may want u to make a run for the woods. though its not likely u’d find any peace in woods either :rolleyes: I really qualify for this observation cuz I’ve been around enuf kids of all kinds. Its not impossible however to make a baby stop crying unless there’s something severly wrong with him/her. All it takes is patience, courage and determination of a parent to console the problem what maybe on the mind of that little thing. Well I don’t know about others :stuck_out_tongue: But whenever I’ve picked up a crying baby, it has always stopped wailing unless there was some medical emergency.

And you out there paindo … take back that 'lazy cow’remark. Extremely obnoxious I tell u. It doesn’t justifies at all how the mother treated the kid, perhaps you should’ve taken the initiative to offer your help rather sitting there to have ur mind judge her. Its a lifetime of a job to be a parent, its absolutely tiring.However, A little support doesn’t hurts to a new parent especially if its coming from a relative or a friend! So next time, you take care and be a part of a better society.

hskhan, I’ve got news for u. There have been numerous fob or uneducated mothers that have brought up wonderfull children! So ur theory is dead wrong too buddy! Not all are the same!!!

It's true, desi kids cry a lot more than white kids. The reason is simple, most desi kids brought up in the US are SPOILT BRATS. If they don't get their way, the wah wah starts and usually the parents then comply. Therefore, ensuring that the exact same thing happens in the future. American parents on the other hand, generally, I have noticed are a lot firmer with their kids. A No usually means a No not a desi No which means if you cry it will become a Yes.

say wut???

no way that is so not true.

a baby is a baby PERIOD :rolleyes: it’s not like they know if i cry too loud they’ll recognize me as being a desi baby

where i work it’s crazy, all non-desi babies. and they just want to be HEARD nothing else, they don’t cry their lungs out to pi$$ you off or cuz it’s fun. they just need stuff and/or get cranky because they’re not having a good day or need sleep, etc.

other than that it’s really not the fault of being a desi. you should come to my work quite often and hear them :slight_smile: you would want to commit suicide right that minute, and it’s not just one baby crying it’s 5-6 or more at the same time trying to get your attention, wo bhi VERY LOUD

and about desis not listening to their kids and letting them cry and totally ignoring them. i don’t think that’s a desi thing, it depends on your parental skills. if it’s your first time then obviously you won’t know what the heck to do and you’ll be completely clueless. but later with 2-3 kids you will get the hang of it and will know what’s wrong and why

as to me Alhamdolilah i’ve seen my mum raise the two lil ones and helped her in that and then i work in a day care center and seen why they throw tantrums and be such lil monsters. but hey don’t forget that they are kids :slight_smile:

it might also be that gora ppl try to educate themselves about these things, unlike desis who don’t really care and think it will be a natural thing or they’ll learn from the experiences. but from what i have seen i think its best to do both, not just one.

I think all babies cry the same.

^ Ditto ...
I cant stand crying babies ..i start crying too when i see em crying like Idiots bha bha ..ehhh