Why cant I get a job?

Its been 5 months, and frankly I’m at my wits end. My debts are now over £3000, and I am borrowing from other sources to finance my past borrowing!

No one seems to give me a chance. KFC…Pizza Hut…turned down by all of them! (I only applied as the slightly better places turned me down previously).

Is it me?

Re: Why cant I get a job?

To start with: What's your qualification?

BA (Hons) History (2.1 (68%) )

I am just looking for any odd job this year, to save some ends for postgraduate study. At this point, I do not have enough money to move away.

You are not the only one. Trust me. In US things are getting pretty bad too. I mean it is probably easy here to get a "odd job" but professional job are getting harder and harder to come by.
I have had about 9 job in the last 5 years...getting sick of always looking for my next job as they are all contracts.

I cant even secure an odd job yaar! I mean i'll have to realistically shelf plans for MA/MSc study if I dont land a job very soon. I just cant finance it otherwise.

tried putting up ads for tutoring ?

tried job agencies?

Do you pray?

In Fajr prayer, read the second page of Quran (first page of surah Baqra) after surah Fateh in the first raka'at. In the second raka'at, read surah Qadr' after reading surah Fateh. And pray alot. Ask from Allah, no one else. Someone told me this when I was looking for a job... when I was sick of that discriminition by indians on the basis of me being a paki... when I did not want to go back and wanted to do something with my life on my own. I have a job now. I think I should respect it now that I have it.

legbreak dont get disheartened the reason why you cant get job is that you over qualified form a employer prospective yu will be likely to leave for a better job. Try to apply without mentioning qualification

no its not just you legbreakgoogly, there's loads opf other people like you. I TRIED searching for ages but since i didn't have a refernce the same thjing happeend to me. you can easily get a job in green street (but what the desi's would pay you would put you to shame and don't forget the way those jahils talk)... can you pm me?? coz i can try and ask a few freinds.. keep your hopes high .

i know many guys in the uk who are still looking for jobs... the easisest ones to get are the marekting jobs where you don't get a baic salary and if u r good with people and a lil lucky you get good commission.. also let me know about ur visa status.

and welcome to the UK... for all your intellectuality, you are a nobody here.

LBG, I was gonna ask you the same question. Do you pray? I believe I got my job (and everything else) with nothing but Allah’s help. When I was applying for jobs, I had just the education and no experience in the field. My supervisor tells me that for my position, she had received about 100+ resumes and honestly, I wasn’t the most qualified one, but she decided to give me a chance since she thought that everyone needs some starting point in their careers. It was only Allah who made her think like that. So do pray a lot, and Insha Allah you will find a good job. :slight_smile:

I pray twice a year. On Eid. I dont fast, I am not a religious man. However I do offer duwah at night, each night.

MYwish,

My visa status is this:

I am born and raised in the UK. I am not a JCL. :)

I figure I am under qualified for good jobs (hence desire to do MA) and maybe over qualifed for fast food outlets.

Can someone get me a job in North America. That'd be cool. :)

Eagle,

If I dont mention my qualifications, I face 2 questions:

What have you done with the last 3 years of your life? (I'd have to make up work experience and a fake reference)

and secondly:

If they found out I lied on the form, I'd be royally screwed and fired.

Someone help!

Getting a job in US while not US. Good luck man.
You might have to go to India and work for Wipro or some other big company then hope for a transfer.

No chance of landing a job there?

Unless you have skills that are hard to find here...not really.

You can come as a nanny ? want to do that ?

No, i know some others and including myself at the moment, who are in this situation…things are getting tougher here in the U.S.A too, but my bro is in the U.K. and can’t seem to get a job either…add to that, pressure from parents and it’s just making our lives miserable…but hey, i’m gonna try to pray more and the rest is up to Him rite…i also suggest u try to start praying a little, esp now in Ramadan…

Good luck :)

Yea u shudn’t lie on these applications, i think they can pull everything up from ur national insurance card no. anyway…

Man, are references difficult to give!! esp. when it’s ur first job or if u don’t wanna mention the last employer…

And America is not all that it’s hyped up to be…i miss England! :frowning: Btw, wot’s JCL stand for? :blush:

JCl = johnny come lately. :D

hayn acha legbreakgoogly. now i don't know if u r kidding or are serious, lekin i know many british born people who can't find reasonable jobs as well,,, but temping jobs shouldn't be a problem. You see moi being a freshie, believed what you said instantly. waisey if you really don't have a job, try registering with some agency. btw being a british citizen you can easily get a student loan (do i even have to tell you that)