Why are you so racist/prejudice?

Color is very important in south asia. Its the dumbest thing. I hear people say it and it keeps getting to me.

Imagine the phrase “moon kala.” you use it in northern pakistan to someone, it will start fights. Same thing with the rest of pakistan too. But if you say that phrase, lets say in Makran coast…then it would be extremely racist.

Why the backwards mentality? I know its like this in india too. Even people on this board that want to attack their political rival leaders would often refer to them as KALA. As if being black is the ultimate put down.

Do you often use that phrase? Are you a nut case? Whenever I hear someone I know, that uses this phrase or word against someone, I personally get offended and let them know. Whether they use it or not, its up to them i guess, but I think we just don’t realize that we are the most racist people in the world. Somehow its just so easy to call someone a kala and make a quick joke out of it. Its acceptable for godsake.

If someone brings up the fact that white folks pay to get tanned. Well those are their material wishes, and its for generic social purposes. Its not culture and it doesn’t translate any racist jokes of any kind, in fact.

Re: Why are you so racist/prejudice?

We got physically free in 1947, but up till now we are following the same mentality. Just to cover our own weaknesses we attack on others physical features.

Its just really really sad. This is some thing that can come with more education i guess.

It is sad and pathetic really. I hate it the way Pakistani girls in Pakistan obsess about having whiter skin and use all sorts of junky stuff on their face. Someone could be light skinned and have plain or ugly features and everyone would think she is so "fair and lovely" and someone else would have gorgeous features and be dark skinned and people would think she's ugly. It shows how superficial they really are. When I went to Pakistan once a lady said to me "mashallah even your feet are so white", I was like uh ok, as if she expected me to thank her for such a great "compliment". I noticed once on some Pakistani dramas I saw, the main girls were always white and the maids were always dark. If a maid in a drama was white skinned, you knew at some point some rich guy was going to fall in love with her or something! Maybe it comes from having an inferiority complex or something, from colonial times, I dont know. But I find it so stupid and I wish Pakistanis would learn to stop being so racist against their own kind and embrace their own natural beauty instead of running after something they are not.

Moon Kala refers to the punishement when they used to paint the face of the culprit balck, and walk him in public places ..

it has nothing to do with skin color

I totally agree with you! it frustrates me as well... I've seen very fair skin girls who are just that! "fair skinned"... and i've seen dark girls who are just sooo beautiful... I once saw this pakistani ad on the fair and lovely product... the girl had a really dark complextion and complained on how no one will like her or marry her (something like that)... after using fair and lovely she became all fair and beautiful... LOL... anyways I thought the ad was contempt, racist and degrading dark skinned women...

what you are talking about…face color based racism is every where. in fact i remember a white guy making fun of another white guy for being red. :hehe: (wo banda ghusay main or lal tamatar hogayea tha)

some people are very very short tempered. they gonna pick up fight on any small issue…i.e. “k wo mujhay q dekh raha hai”:smack:

…and it is everywhere , not just us pakistaniz!

Could you please tell us which features you consider ugly and gorgeous?

No sorry I guess I shouldnt have said ugly, I didnt mean ugly

I just mean a girl who looks very plain vs a girl who is very striking

TLK, do you know why the kala color was chosen? Because being black is considered the ultimate shame in our region. Why not moon peela, or moon neela or moon rangeela?

Thats why I don't want to go to Pakistan. I know all these stupid backwards things will get to me and I'll start arguments with everyone over my principals.

Without having a cause to make a difference, how can we expect things to change?

Listen to this, I was visiting Karachi a few years ago, before I had my daughters. Waiting at a traffic light, a lady beggar stopped by my window asking for some money. Someone in the car asked me to look straight and not pay attention so after a few moments, this lady got bugged and gave me a “baddua” from her perspective that “Allah karey teray bachchay hoN aur sarey kaley paida hoN.”

So yes, I guess we do have certain bias toward color. Kala rang is considered “low” in some places although we were all created by Allah.

I’m darker skinned than most girls in my family so I have to listen to jokes about this all the time :halo:

Yeah, even I have a “sanwli” complexion and am darker than most girls in my family so my relatives who were extremely fair skinned used to tell my ma that I would have a hard time getting rishtas. :smack:

hum kaalaY haiN tau kiyaa
Dil waalaY haiN :snooty:

I love white,brown and black girls.Any takers?

well racism is everywhere

if ur coloured ina place where evry1 around u is white and u get bullied by them makes sense

but in our desistan ppl who r not very gora chita themselves bullying other ppl doesnt make sense:nono:

but still no matter where i hate racists and racism :chai:

In your case it was Superman to the rescue. :hehe:]

:cb:

:@:yeah!

Aww lol :D