Why did you all join gupshup and for those of you who have been here longer, why have you stuck around so long?
And I wish I could ask all those who left..why did you leave?..but that is obviously a defunct question!(Though I have an idea why some may leave and I have only been here a few days)
I joined way back in 1999 because someone mentioned it to me. Stopped being regular in 2004/05. I only come back to post when I am really bored in life. Usually my 4th or 5th week in Darfur due to the lack of anything other than a 7 day work week - 12 hours a day.
Oh yeah because I have a rather obtuse sense of humor and I love ****ing around with people on GS. That is why I post.
I joined in Dec 2006 cuz i wanted to chat with my sister in Pak and her MSN n Yahoo were not working so i told her about this site
woh din tha aur aaj ka din hai
Why am i STILL here…cuz i don’t have a LIFE !
On a more serious note i think its a perfect means of escape from the dredgeries of life where we can be watever we wanna be ,where the rules of the real world don’t apply !
I guess i joined to get away from the normal rubbish of day to day life, GS gives u chance a vent out stuff about everything, also i wanted to join a forum where there are other pakistanis, where we all have alot on common and have an understanding so when we do vent out or discuss things in forums we r not haveing to constantly explain wht the hell we r on about !! :D
This thread had me take a look at when it was that I joined...and OMG it was 2003! I cant beleive how that time has flown!
Anyway, I joined for the good company. I joined to get a better understanding of Desi culture. I joined because its such a perfect way to socialize when I have the time and no worries when I don't. No one gets offended if you dont have the time to visit here. Or if you visit in your pajamas or have 3 kiddies clamoring around and the house is in disarray. Its been my main form of socializing for the past OMG 6 years! And a pleasure it has been for sure.
i joined a few months ago...my brothers wedding was coming up and i wanted some outfits...it was the best place for reviews
i love it now...you can chat and discuss all your problems freely without anyone judging you...there's some brilliant people here who give fab advice....:biggthumb
i joined in 2006, reason is just that i searched on something on google which lead to GS and then i think i wanted to ask something, but for that i had to become a member and so i did! But i wasn't very active till recently, like last year or smthng lol. :)
Now im stuck cuz ..... i dunno, just like it here!
i just found out GS incidently.i joined after reading posts n the urge to answer some.when GS changed to Alldost i got bored n didn't return for 2 yrs now i'm back again.
its my escape from my demanding,high maintainance kids,never ending housework n totally unromantic hubby ;)u can call it my hobby or my addiction.watever
demanding, high maintenence, never ending housework n totally unromantic hubby?...OMG.....meri bahain! They say that everyone has a twin...I didnt realize I would find mine on GS!!
Did yours also come fresh off the boat??- hubby that is..not the high maintenance kids..they think they fell from the stars!
demanding, high maintenence, never ending housework n totally unromantic hubby?...OMG.....meri bahain! They say that everyone has a twin...I didnt realize I would find mine on GS!!
Did yours also come fresh off the boat??- hubby that is..not the high maintenance kids..they think they fell from the stars!
haha...come 2 calgary n lets hav a family reunion.
Mab..I can imagine that..if yours is anything like mine..they will make small talk for about 2 mins and then look awkward for the rest of the evening..unless there is cricket or politics on tv in which case hubbys mood instantlychanges for the better!
^or they get a phone call from work,their parents or best buddies
(Best buddies the most. He is the most quite reserved person you meet and then boom...a friend calls and Dr. Jeykll becomes Mr. Hyde...hilarious, laughs out loud and talking like a little kid discussing the latest toy he just got!)
ok now you are just becoming scary...hold on..maybe we arent the twins..maybe...ITS THEM!!
Like mama, I joined to learn more about the ins and outs of desi culture. There is a lot that you just can't learn from friends or the in-laws. I've stayed because of the free entertainment :-)
I had been visiting gupshup on and off as a non-member. And I liked the site. Compared to other desi forums I've seen, GS was and is cleaner, decent, more developed, and comprehensive. And so I became a member.....to help people out, to learn from others, and to make friends :)
I was googling for pictures of nice clothes I could get made in Pakistan for a wedding and gupshup consistently came up in the image links. I think the members here have copied every design available on the internet!
I had to join to see some pics so I joined. Then I had to have 25 posts to pm anyone so I started to look for ways to waste...errr...I mean complete 25 post by posting on various topics. So I started chatting..and so far so good..mostly.
I am not sure I am totally a fan of this place yet. There are a lot of immature people, there are a lot of trivial topics that really dont need posting other than as a vent and a lot of people who very easily get offended at every comment directed towards them. And of course a few who obviously love to be the center of attention and you wonder..why??
The weakness of such sites is that there is no face to face where one can see visual clues about how a person feels about something (e.g. are they serious, joking, angry, just casually commenting etc..) It leads to a lot of miscommunication and misunderstanding.
The good thing about this place is that there are some mature sensible people who balance the board by giving great advice, keeping the peace but also the momentum of a topic. Online forums also give you the anonymity to say your piece and develop a pseudonym more true to who you are and what you belief. You can finally be yourself without the fear of retribution or judgement..and if someone does..you dont have to care..you wont be meeting them any time soon!
The other positive is that genders seem to be removed. Men and women can safely have a discussion without the taboos of social interaction restrictions imposed by culture and religion.