why are people like this....

kind of an extension of my other post, but wanted different replies..

why are there people who are anti-pakistani, dont like the country, always have something b***tchy to say about it, would never live there and laugh at people who want to, YET,…marry their kids off to people there..??/as well as setting up a businss there…??

what kind of comments can u hAVE for these people..( uncle whose putting me down for moving to pak,hates -pakistani, yet marying his daughter to one there)

Re: why are people like this....

one word cowards..

they didn't have guts to make it in pakistan.....now that they live in western countries.....they are too much of a sissy to embrace the culture there.......so basically hypocrites..

Re: why are people like this…

Well cowards is a bit harsh but it is perhaps a correct term in many casses.

LOL:hehe:

Thank God i’m not here long… :whistling:

It seems so hypocritical doesnt it Nadz? They are Pakistani and they hate Pakistan.

I felt the same way you did up until recently. I met someone who was born, bred and raised in Pak but came to the US about 10 - 12 years ago. They dont like the country and have no plans on ever setting foot there ever again. I was so annoyed with the dude because COME ON...its your home!

When you dig deeper though, its not as simple as that. Its not as black and white. Some people feel disheartened from their homeland...feel it gave them nothing aside from more pareshaniyan. There are many many you will find who dont care for Pakistan or anything it has to offer because they're human and can only take so much. This isnt a blame game where Im blaming Pak for everything. However, at some point you have to do what is best for YOUR future and thats it. So, thats what people do. They leave and never look back. And laugh at anyone who does.

As for having business there...its not a bad thing. Its a good thing...who knows how many mouths he is feeding as a result of his business there? Think about that.

It doesn’t make sense for some uncle to censure you for moving to Pakistan especially when he intends on marrying his daughter to someone from there. But, it’s not like you’re over the moon to move to Pakistan either and your own parents married you to a guy intent on settling in Pak and you married him whilst being fully aware of his plans. And there have been times when you’ve vented your frustrations about desis in the motherland, desis abroad, and desi culture in general. Lol, think you might sorta be a part of your own generalization? The uncle ain’t paying for your ticket and he’s not going to finance your stay in Pak, England, or Mars for that matter. So, his opinion is moot. As Joey, from Friends, would say “It’s a cow’s opinion.” It doesn’t matter what the hell this uncle, or that aunti, or those family “friends”, or some kareebi or door k rishtaydar, or even some non-Pakistanis for that matter think. Do what is best for yourself, marriage, and family.

It’s like it was only yesterday you were venting about the situation and trying to find devious ways to buy some more time from your husband and now it’s like you’re having a “Meh, what’s the big deal about it?” stance. I find it contradictory. Just live your life woman, cuz people will have opinions about what you do (favorable and unsavory) till the crack of doom. :rolleyes:

nadz, how old are you?

There was this guy I know married with three children. Moved to Pakistan, have tons of real estate in prime areas of Pakistan . Do not have to work his whole life any more. His wife and kids did not want to live there. They ended up divorced on this issue. :bummer: low kar low gull.

Mannn what about the people that promise their SO that they'll move to Pakistan after marriage and then blatantly say no after and try to avoid it. Dispicable

here is what i understand from the people of pakistan who hate pakistan.

in pakistan everything is about being "fashionable" it's more of a fashion to hate pakistan, and wants to move out of there. it's consider a cool thing.
those people do everything to copy western countries, they will speak english with fake accent, and teach their kids english because urdu is so backwards. they will use only imported goods, and make sure to tell people that stuff at their house is not "local". they live in pakistan but mentally they don't.
when these kinds of people move out of pakistan, they continue with their behavior of putting their own country down, in other way they are always putting their own self down, but never realizing it.

^There's a Nadz who sees negative in several situations. Then there's Gladz who suddenly sees the positive and declares a previous stinker of a scenario as a non-issue. They balance each other out. You're being all sensible now, Libran, but you must also have your nutty Gemini days. (no offense to Geminis, I just randomly picked a sign).

I'll be frank on this one. I neither like nor dislike Pakistan, but I live here because our family business is here and if you have money, there's no better place to live than Pakistan.

Most of my family lives abroad and I think eventually my parents will move to UK too, when they "retire"...

Only reason I don't like Pakistan is because of it's culture. U guys know what I mean. It's too jahil and conservative. My crap threshold is pretty high, but some of the things here in Pakistan, they make you sick.

Anyways, peace people!

it’s ok yaar. it’s a big deal to move back to pakistan for someone who lived here for a long time. there are always some doubts, some resentments, but at least now she is willing to change her mind, she is trying. human’s arent’ “set in stone” kind of things, we do change our mind over time depending on situation. it’s not fair to make reference to past when we had a different opinion.

Everyone is entittled to their opinion. Most Pakistanis I meet here in the US bash the US and sing praises of Pakistan. Thing is why live abroad in the first place? Go back if you hate it so much, its not like you don't have an option.

if ya don't mind, could you expand a lil :)
and also, how western culture is so much better
looking forward to reading your reason(s)

i don't know who u are talking about, but if u are talking about me, then i am not bashing USa, i think it's a great country. i would only prefer to live in pakistan only because i feel more at ease with the culture and other stuff.
but....unfortunatly i am not as lucky as nadz, or other ppl cuz my parents won't move back there, and i haven't found a guy who is willing to marry me without the lalach of green card.

don't you know western culture is soooooooooooooooooooo much better. they give galiyan in english :D

What exactly did this uncle say that you felt was "putting you down for moving to Pakistan"?

It depends really, I'm a very open minded, liberal type of guy so I think that Western culture is better, since Pakistan is too conservative. Many conservative people think otherwise.

Both then, desi culture is for men only. There really is no place for women unless they live second class...

care to explain liberal and open-minded?

If I talked about my views on life in front of most desi aunties, they would get horrified and maybe slap me and say, "*hamari society mein ye nahi chalta!"

*I think you get the gist of what I'm saying...