Why are muslims like this? :(

Re: Why are muslims like this? :(

[quote="Das_Reich, post:22, topic:176645"]

I think those who start preaching aganinst shariah , jizya etc first need to answer this before the discussion proceedes

i we were to start looking we can find similar cases of explotation of women in atheist /christian Russia , hindu India etc
but do we hold the religious ideology there responsible for them?
secondly no one has yet proved that a religious court acting in accordance with islamic law did an act of gross injustice to an individual
most of the crimes listed here are related more to the old tribal customs of the areas of pakistan and were committed what seems like from these stories] by people not very religiously inclined
even the much quoted GR of M. mai was a sentence passed by a jirga not a shariah court , obviously to those people who think anyone with a turban and a beard is a "islamofascist" that is hard to explain

and those who think that Zia made pakistan a islamic utopia need to think again , zia did exactly was aurangzaib did 300 yrs ago. adopted some superficial reforms which pleased the religious leaders but much needed political /economic reforms based on islamic model were never made....
i personally witnessed the public flogging of a boy of 20 something simply for eve teasing in zia's time , yet the same army which was apparently now so rigorous in implementing islamic law and nowhere is flogging 80 times punishment for eve teasers anyway] had so callously killed hundreds of muslim sindhis a few yrs in earlier in the countryside

As I believe , shariah has caused much diservice to the rights of women in islamic countries.** Afterall , if you read Women living under muslim law as in my previous post and link you will be better informed of the** *miserable conditions and subjugation of women. *

Kindly enlighten when in the last 10 years or many more have russians got together in Kremlin Square and stoned a person to death??? Unlike the several hundreds upon hundreds of examples in muslim countries.

No To Shariah Law. Exactly,

Re: Why are muslims like this? :frowning:

Not agaaaaainnnn…

Thank you :) As far as everyone else's comments are concerned i'm sorry if i offended some of u. But honestly, this is cruel and nothing is done about this. If you want justoce to be done u go to the police. What do they do? They rape u. C'mon guys look at these women. All i was doing was speaking my mind. Sorry if i offended any1. I just wanted to show u guys these videos and the brutality that goes on.

Do we even need statictics? I dont think so coz lets be practical how many women are gonna come forward and i mean in the context of those suffereing from battered wives syndrome all their lives? As far as domestic violence is concerned lets start by looking at own families and honestly i have personally seen 4 brutal cases so far. A wife was burnt by an iron because she answered her husband back. This is pathetic. I could not sleep for nightsafter seeing all these videos. Even wild animals wouldn't do this

I'm sorry for offending you but i was only speaking my mind. I don't know if i came across with the wrong message but all i'm trying to show is that this is what happens in Pkaistan and most ppl. do not know about this. I am a Pakistani i am horrified by the treatment of women by certain ppl. in Pak.

and the title of this thread "Why are muslims like this?" was chosen because why do these men do this when islam doesn't them to do it? I was being sarcastic as i was genuinely hurt by watching these videos.I'm a law student and InshAllah when i get my degree i want to support such vulnerable women.

Who gives me the right? Freedom of speech is a basic human right under the Human Rights Act 1998 and i am not ridiculing islamic laws.

If i make suggestions as to what needs to be done. What will they do to me? Tauba Tauba I don't want to go thru the same that these poor women went thru. Even if i make any suggestions who will take them into consideration? Musharaf? Just like the way he answered the poor Chinese girl's calls?

I agree with you. What are we going to hide from others? Everything is an open book. What do i say to my friends? We can't lie to ppl. Some men in Pak. are just so sick. They literally physically commit battery on young girls and i mean as they pass by. I have seen all this with my own eyes. My question is that why are Muslim men lke this? Why? Now don't say i'm against my own religion but some things really bother me. Old men getting married to 16 year old girls. All this is sick.

if the title of this thread is bothering ppl. plz tell me how can i change it?

Guys itni dhoom mach jai gi i didnt realise. I guess i should have kept quiet agar aap logon ko lagta hai these issues are best kept secret then so be it. Next time i wont bring up a sensitive issue :) Then theek hi kertay hongai jo bhi aisay mazloomon ke saath hota hai, aap logon ko shaid zada pata hoga :)

May Allah bless u all :)

MKD - Deep in your heart, you want to be proud of Pakistan. Unfortunately some people like to stick their heads in sand.

These are serious issues - even in India. Perhaps its poverty - but I think its the way we think women are - just property, nothing more.

I know it's so sad :(

I only saw first video and the first thing that comes to mind is the propaganda machine at work. Yes crimes do happen in Pakistan, yes many many women are oppressed, victimized, some of them in name of Islam too but its disgusting to say that its "Muslims" doing it. Yes they are Muslims but "Muslimness" is not the real reason of all this, rather its lacking.

Then what on earth is the point in even discussing this, or bringing this to any one's attention? I suppose, then, it is what it is, and apparently nothing can be done about it. So sad...let's move on.

OR...perhaps we can stop pretending like it's a grand conspiracy against women, and answer the hard questions without all the self-flagellation...

mama youve contradicted yourself so many times in this thread i dont know what to say

i urge you to go back and read everyones responses, nobody has treated you unjustly.

If you study religious history and it's influence on the lives of women it is very evident women have paid supremely in man's mysoginistic use of his religion in treating women as property, possession, tool and astheir righteous protector and breeding machine. .

Interesting would you not all agree. Perhaps its time we rid religion of the patriarchal influence and make it maternal.

DISAGREE.

We should get rid of religion itself.

mama ki dua what you are talking about is PAKISTANI law, and PAKISTANI people NOT Islamic Law.

Anyways my heart goes out to the women. I wish there was a way we could help them rather than sit our arses and talk crap.

Can anyone find out who the Nazim was in Faisalabad in the first video?