Is it just me or are a lot of desi people I meet in public are not so friendly or do not like to smile. I have a few Indo pak supermarkets I go to regularly and the ladies at the counters never smile (even at other ladies). They greet you half heartedly or don’t. What is the reason behind this?.
Re: Why are desis not so friendly?
Is it just me or are a lot of desi people I meet in public are not so friendly or do not like to smile. I have a few Indo pak supermarkets I go to regularly and the ladies at the counters never smile (even at other ladies). They greet you half heartedly or don't. What is the reason behind this?.
May be it's just you.
Don't know about other South Asians but Pakistanis living outside usually try to avoid each other...but once you befriend them they will treat you very nicely.
this cant be true. all desis really vant is franship.
Everyone's different. You should try smiling at them and starting a polite conversation with them instead. Taking the initiative.
Next time at the counter ask them how much for that chip
Take the initiative.
With guys it's easy... start talking on politics or cricket these days and you'll have good response.
For ladies it tricky, but you can compliment them on their dress, ask them where they bought the dress as you are looking to buy one for your wife/sister/cousin/mother.
Tend to be too noisy, ask too many personal question and spread it among the community, sometimes with their own mirch masala
I only fraanshaap the beautie ones deer
omg don't get me started on this......
from the female check out clerk at the local desi supermarket to the woman and her daugther who live a few doors down.....unless I'm in shalwar kameez and chattering away in urdu or wearing a head-scarf, they simply cannot manage a smile.
and for the person that suggested we compliment their attire or take the initiative.....trust me, I have!!! no real impact.
Don't know about other South Asians but Pakistanis living outside usually try to avoid each other...but once you befriend them they will treat you very nicely.
thats because we save our niceness for ppl we like.. when we find them we reveal.
permanent PMS
Why do they avoid each other?. I dont get it.
Last year when my kid started school, I used to feel the same way that desis are stuck up or you know they see you but pretend they didn't see you....Argh used to be drive me nuts....Then one day my mom told that no everyone is able to strike up a conversation....If you can go ahead but don't judge them that this desi or that desi doesn't smile and I do?!?
Then I decided to make the effort with other people -- If someone was in desi attire I would say Salam and speak only in Urdu.
While dropping the kid off in the mornings, and picking up in the afternoons, I started making small talk with the parents, most of them right away opened up after (Salam/kya haal hai (desis) How are you (goray) now alhamdulilah I know a good number of people, some of us desi moms have become really good friends (meeting up for play-dates/coffee/home visits)
At my daughter birthday party I invited families with their children, people had a great time mingling with one another and one mom actually thanked me for me taking the initiative to get everyone together :)
Me being a very social person in general it's been a great experience so far alhamdulilah!! And I am so surprised in a nice way that people have actually reached out to me and others if they have needed assistance or have had any questions, it shows that unity and building trust with one another without anyone asking or poking around.
I am even thinking about joining the parent council at the school and get other desis people involved as well =)
I think it's a cultural thing. White strangers will greet you on the street (experience will obviously differ in bigger, impersonal cities) but desis will not. It could be the hesitation of speaking to someone not introduced first (how very edwardian). I am a douchy person so getting friendly first is laughable for me. I don't know about everyone else. Do you greet people on the street?
Is it just me or are a lot of desi people I meet in public are not so friendly or do not like to smile. I have a few Indo pak supermarkets I go to regularly and the ladies at the counters never smile (even at other ladies). They greet you half heartedly or don't. What is the reason behind this?.
Because if you try to approach another desi in a supermarket, you are mistaken for an Amway rep and most people want to avoid them.
oye allah. vary knoty :k:
PS: May be because if they say hi and smile at the desi person checking out, that person start the conversion about how are they doing, if they are married or not? which city and pind they are from? how many brother and sisters they have…which airline should they take for next trip to PIA…and how Emirates has deals on tickets…and which calling card is better to call back home…
Because if you try to approach another desi in a supermarket, you are mistaken for an Amway rep and most people want to avoid them.
well this has much truth. 80% of all vary frandly desi males and 100% of desi women who have approached me in stores, malls, bus stops have been amway reps. its really awkward after 10 mins of discussion on something to find out this person is just a sucker out for the pyramid moneys.
thats because we save our niceness for ppl we like.. when we find them we reveal.
Reveal what?
niceness...
now that was all the niceness I had for you today.
bye