Re: whom can I call "jaan" ?
What I have read that since wife's sister is temporarily mehram (not permanent) for brother in law, she has to do hijab from him since he CAN marry her if her sister is divorced or dies.
Re: whom can I call “jaan” ?
are you sure?
Actually the word "Jaan" is used in two ways in our society usually. First. and more commonly, its a word to address your loved one, (husband-wife or well you can drag it on to gf bf and fiance/fiancee) and secondly, and not that commonly, its a way of addressing a relative BUT with the relation articulated like KHALA jaan, AMMI jaan, ABU Jaan, BHAI jaan. In Afghani culture, as someone pointed out the pukhtoon culture, word Jaan is a mode of affection. I can tell from reading the novel The Kite Runner, if anyone remembers, there terms like Jaan are used along with the name of the person to show affection, like the father called his daughter as whatever Jaan. Im not passing my verdict over here, but talking about the common practices as come under my view and observation.
As for the debate of SILS/BILS being mehram or na mehram, I honestly do not think they are/can be mehram. I think its in Sura Noor? Allah has specified all the mehram relations. Only because you cannot marry your SIL or BIL while your spouse is alive doesnt make those relations as your mehram since ofcourse they can turn into na mehram anytime and which usually happens too. I mean our society is quite prone to SIL-BIL affairs no offense meant. I think when Allah distinguishes the mehram and na mehram relations, He has it in your heart and blood too. Allah being the wisest and most knowing.
That we feel for certain na mehram relations as good as mehram or even more than that, (just as we all read KKF treats his bhabi as if she were his mother) is commendable really, but at the end of the day, the mehram relations are distinguished in Quran as mehram and that is for a very elaborate reason.
We should still wait for some authentic religious source though, to pass the final verdict on this.
......... As for the debate of SILS/BILS being mehram or na mehram, I honestly do not think they are/can be mehram. I think its in Sura Noor? Allah has specified all the mehram relations. Only because you cannot marry your SIL or BIL while your spouse is alive doesnt make those relations as your mehram since ofcourse they can turn into na mehram anytime and which usually happens too. I mean our society is quite prone to SIL-BIL affairs no offense meant. I think when Allah distinguishes the mehram and na mehram relations, He has it in your heart and blood too. Allah being the wisest and most knowing.
That we feel for certain na mehram relations as good as mehram or even more than that, (just as we all read KKF treats his bhabi as if she were his mother) is commendable really, but at the end of the day, the mehram relations are distinguished in Quran as mehram and that is for a very elaborate reason.
We should still wait for some authentic religious source though, to pass the final verdict on this.
Agree.
Saali is not mehram in strict sense in Islam. I do not see anywhere while her sister is to married to he BIL, she can be alone with him and most likely she cannot go to hajj with him. She is required Hijaab from him.
I think you meant by this:
**"And marry not women whom your fathers married, except what has already passed; indeed it was shameful and most hateful, and an evil way. Forbidden to you (for marriage) are:
your mothers,
your daughters,
your sisters,
your brother's daughters,
your sister's daughters,
your foster mother who breastfed you,
your foster sisters,
your wives' mothers,
your stepdaughters under your guardianship,
born of your wives to whom you have gone in -but there is no sin on you if you have not done so (to marry their daughters),
the wives of your sons who spring from your loins,
and two sisters in wedlock at the same time,
except for what has already passed; verily Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful. " [4:22-23]
This culture of devar bhabi close relation is from India and some movies.
Exactly KFf , don't confuse mehram and na mehram with the shadi issue, na mehram are those Jin se parda hai, even your husband is your mehram now wht you say.
DA I never doubted your abilities but such a genius you are :rotato:
Bolo bolo KKF A husband becomes a mehram after marriage. How do you defy that now?
I think DA is very right and to the point. Its not about confusing Allah’s set boundries and laws and generalizing things on the basis of mehrams being only you cant marry. If that were true, where does a husband stand for the wife? She is married to him and he is her mehram!
DA being announced the MAN OF THE MATCH. Taaliyaan ![]()
Muqwee Bhai said it all! ek waqt men do bahnoN ko nikaah men ek mard nahiiN laa saktaa...is liye vo maHram hai...agar mankooha bahen mar jaaye to saali naa-maHram ho jaatii hai.
I have a question with respect to that
just because is not allowed to marry to sisters at the same time doesnt stop him from divorcing wife ...to marry her sister...because he has developed feelings for her so just because the quran says he cant be married to two sisters at the same time how does that automatically mean he is mehram to his wife's sister
whom can I call “jaan” ?
Sali behnoi devar jeth are na-mehrams..na-mehrams se parda..end of discussion:snooty:
Surah nisa tells u about not marrying sisters at the same time but it doesnt refer to your sali being mehram..
FIL is temporary mehram..but doesnt mean u should be behaya infront of him..
Mufti KKF kahan hai?
all those who have doubt about my statement should consult an 'aalim...you will have your answer. i do NOT engage in fruitless discussions! thank you.
Mufti KKF kahan hai?
please do NOT call me Mufti because i am NOT one...and, i am serious! plz. thank you.
Ok.. KKF Bhai. No problem :)
Jaan tum per nisar karta hoon
main nahin janta jaan kia hai ;)
Ok.. KKF Bhai. No problem :)
Jaan tum per nisar karta hoon
main nahin janta jaan kia hai ;)
thank you...jaan na nisaar kareN do chaar rasgulle marHamat farmaa deN! jaan baRii 'azeez cheez hai aur Allah kii amaanat hai lihaaza use sambhaal ke rakhiye...kaam aayegii bahot! :)
KFf don't be angry but can you plz share from where did you study this ? Any link, everyone is entitled to their opinions and we respect each other no offense.
Shukriya ![]()
KFf don't be angry but can you plz share from where did you study this ? Any link, everyone is entitled to their opinions and we respect each other no offense.
i've nothing to say in this regard...you better ask an aalim...because i am NOT an aalim but i know what i said to be true...it's up to you to explore and confirm it! sorry for that.
Muqawee I think plz invite LKK n psyah bhai in this thread, they might help us
I think religious discussions to this extent are beyond scope of CL&L. I would suggest to open a thread in R&S, if you want to know further.
Well I don't have any confusion I m clear about it, but I was feeling if they can add something to the discussion tht can help everyone
jinko confusion hai woh religion forum main jain. ham to jaan sirf usko hi kahin gain jo used to be na-mehram thay. ![]()