Who would remember you after you die.. ?

I was reading the sayings of Hazrat Ali (r.a), when I came across the following;

Who do you think would remember you the most in their prayers after you die ?

Mom would be obviously on Top of the list. Anyone else you feel like sharing other than close relatives ?

p.s. From my limited knowledge and experience I think usually wives remember their husbands relatively more in prayers than vice versa ( In their life and after one of them die)Though I might be wrong in some cases

Re: Who would remember you after you die.. ?

From the quote I realized that there can be two more questions.

1. Who do you think would help you the most in the time of need ?

2. Who do you think would never speak against you behind your back ?

p.s. Again other than close relatives

besides parents, siblings, spouse and one's own children... i cant imagine anyone jo hume kasrat sai duaoun may rakhe. However, I have this one friend... i know she will remember me in her prayers... Subhanallah God has blessed me with the opportunity to help her in times of need.... so she tells me that us ke dil se mere liye automatically dua nikal ti hai :)

Wassalam.

^ Nice sharing sister. JazakAllah Khair.

Allah hum sab ko aisey friends atta farmaye. Ameen.

I agree that if you help anyone specially sensitive and positive people, mostly they remember you in prayers for a long time ( also depending upon the nature of help)

Why do u expect something from others ..Better to have no expectations @ all rather thn expecting sumthng ..... & tht never happen afterwards ...
NO one I guess.... I don t need any too to remember me...

whether they remember or not ...nothing can happen ..good or bad..

You are right, we shouldn't expect. I actually meant to ask that who you feel would remember you. At times such question comes to mind due to curiosity.

Well, it also depends on beliefs.

For me sincere prayers can help me alot after my death.

Yaar once you are dead does it really matter.

If someone is doing dua for you...then of course it matters!

Just like if your dead...and if someone digs a well in someones name... and whoever drinks from the well man or beast....that person will get the ajar for it!

my husband, my parents n my bros.
cant say anything abt my son.....coz he is too young,just three months old.

As per my understanding only your own deeds matter (religiously speaking). Otherwise offspring who can afford can make 1000s water wells for the sinner parents.

^ According to a Hadith;

The Prophet (Sallallahhualihiwasalam) said:

“When the son of Adam dies his actions come to an end except three things:

a continuing charity (e.g. A tree planted by him from which human, animal and birds take benefit. A wheel chair donated to a hospital which is even used by patients after his death. A book gifted to someone who reads and shares it with other people after his death....etc.)

*knowledge which gives benefit *(to the coming generations, everytime it is passed on to other people, it would act as a chain reaction and he would get a part of sawab from it, even after he dies)

a pious child who prays for him" (Because he gave him good education and spent money and efforts on him with patience and sincerity)

(Sahih Muslim)

Parents ,husband and kids.I want my children to read quran after me inshallah so I can be forgiven as I will do this for my parents also inshallah and am doing for my grand parents.

also giving donations to mosque also mashallah a nice thread STP brother

just want to respectfully ask; how does one reading the quran benifit the ones who have passed away?

i know that doing dua after reading the quran is more accepted... is this what you meant? or the pure recitation of the Holy Book?

Wassalam

You are right LB only your own deeds matter.

hmmm

Main abhi marna nahi chahti....pyari pyari baatein karo Eid aane wali hai.
Yeh batao Eidi main koun kis ko kitna yaad rakhne wala hai...hehehe

JazakAllah khair sister for the kind sharing and words of encouragement. Few days back I went with my friends for Taraweeh and as we passed by a shop of tasbeeh, Allah (swt) blessed us with an idea that if we buy some tasbeehs and place them in the masjid under every pillor, even after we leave, whoever comes and uses those tasbeehs, Allah (swt) would be pleased with us for this act insha'Allah. You see Tasbeehs are very cheap but they can become a source of a continuous process of sawab. Alhamdulillah.

Well, you see we read Quran for our own benefit, but if we only make this "Niyyah" and pray to Allah to give the sawab of this recitation to all the muslims who died specially to our parents and beloved ones, Allah (swt) accepts our sincere prayers for them. IT is similar to the fact that when you light alot of candles with the fire of one candle, it doesn't decrease the fire of that first candle and also alot of other candles gets fire from it.

I agree to this, but you see it has been mentioned in the hadiths that our sincere prayers reach the people whom we pray for. Now why do we pray for them, ( mostly because they have either helped/ benefited us in any way or were very kind / generous / polite or were related to us in anyway)

It is similar to the fact that when a student gets first position in his class, ofcourse it was due to his "own" hard work (which is what matters) BUT he would definately give credit to his parents more than himself because they had guided/ helped him in achieving his aim. No one would say that you need good parents inorder to get a Gold Medal in university, but they do play a vital role indirectly.

When that student gets a good job and thinks that now it is time for him to earn money for his parents and serve them for all their sacrifices they did for him, but unfortunately his parents die. Now the only way he can serve his parents is to pray from Allah to bless them for all the sacrifices they gave for him ( Which is also a translation of a Dua for parents mentioned in the Quran)

Kindly forgive me if I don't make any sense, but this is how I sincerely feel. Though I might be wrong. Allah knows BEST!

Marna kon chahta hai par chehra doosri taraf karney se khatra tal to nahin jata ?!? :)

Have you seen the ostrich who puts its neck in the ground when it sees an enemy, but it is only decieving itself that it is protected, in reality it is still in as much danger as it was without puting it's neck under the ground.

The point I want to clear is that we must enjoy life but that shouldn't make us careless of our real aim, duties and remebrance of our true destiney.

IF during your exams your friend call you for party, even if you go and enjoy party, still you can't take off from your mind your exams, because you are concious of geting good grades and want to prepare for it as soon as you are able to finsih other jobs.

Well I would translate that as the parents did good deeds by sacrificing, guiding and educating their son...which to me in itself would score good points in their favour...therefore, still pointing to one's deeds.

Let me ask you, what if parents did not help or look after their son....and he still does duas or whatever after their death...would they get higher marks in God's eyes for this?

Basically I think the son doing duas after the parents death is only placating his own grief.

Thats is also good comments on this DEED ...