Who was he?

Sheikh Nazim.

I’ve noticed quite a large number of Muslims posting about his passing.
Some call him their Murshid, Sayidi, Mawlana, and/ or spiritual guide.

A quick Google search determined that he passed away, recently, at the age of 92.

But… Who was he? And why was he so adored?

Also…

What is/ are Naqshbandi? Haqqani?

This is not to question or doubt any idea or beliefs. I’m genuinely looking for information.
I could have just done extensive google research, but I’d like to first see if anyone on here has any information/ understanding about the questions I asked above.

Re: Who was he?

He was considered as one of the biggest sufi shaikhs by many, including parvaiz musharaf. (Google Search)

However many scholars in turkey/arab world question some of his aqaidh..

he claimed to have met mehdi more then once, infact 2 years back he claimed that actual hajj was one day before when people did hajj and he was spiritualy taken to arafat and he prformed hajj with mehdi.
ref: Future of Pakistan (Insha Allah): Sheikh Nazim Kibrisi

He is with his Rab now and thus i will not be commenting in detail about his aqaidh.

[RIGHT]خبرنا إبراهيم بن يعقوب قال حدثني أحمد بن إسحق قال حدثنا وهيب قال حدثنا منصور بن عبد الرحمن عن أمه عن عائشة قالت ذكر عند النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم هالك بسوء فقال لا تذكروا هلكاكم إلا بخير
[/RIGHT]
Sayyida Aisha (RA) narrates that Something bad was said in the presence of the Prophet (Sallaho Alaihe Wassallam) about a person who had died. He said: 'Do not say anything but good about your dead" [Sunan An-Nasa’i]

May ALLAH make us accept the truth.

Sheikh lived quite close to me, though I haven't met him personally. I probably wouldn't have met him anyways... wouldn't expect from any sheikh or Imam or a sufi to be of any importance if he's to lay on his back all his life and claim the claims but show nothing remotely close to religion.

He was Sheikh Nazim Haqqani, Naqshabandi
He was the Peer of this branch of Naqshabandis
The name Haqqani when used in Spiritual Sufi context refers to Him and His group
He had a big following, He was adored because He was their Guide, Peer, Shaykh
His main residence was in Cyprus [Turkish]
He was mild mannered, welcoming and very knowledgeable

His mureed (student) runs eshaykh website
His New York based Mureeds have their own Youtube channel

I do not personally know of any aqaid of His which is not Islamic. I have defended some concepts which He spoke about. I have found most vigorous hate towards Him came from laymen who associate their loyalty to deoband school of thought, although much of the criticism which actually got through to the Shaykh to offer a reply came from salafis. I have not found any particular praise of Him from the scholars which I follow, although like I said I have defended Him and learnt positively from those experiences

His student who runs eShaykh is Shaykh Gibril Haddad - An Arab Christian convert to Islam and very learned mashaAllah. My wife is their mureedah and we visited them 6 months before they passed in Cyprus. My wife took bayah at the hands of Shaykh Mehmet Haqqani - his son and successor as leader of that chain of the Naqshbandi tariqah.

As far as I understand Shaykh Nazim only vocalised his desire to see the Mahdi in person, but he has only mentioned several spiritual experiences with Mahdi involved.

MAY ALLAH FORGIVE HIM, HAVE MERCY ON HIM, PROTECT HIM FROM AZAB E QABR AND HELL FIRE, AND GRANT HIM JANNAH AMEEN

INNA LIL LAHI WA INNA ALEHE RAJEON

NEVER HEARD ABOUT HIM BEFORE...

I have doubts about him. There's this website called eshaykh which is associated with him and people will ask for dream interpretations on there and some of the interpretations I've read sound "off" or strange. So, I am not so trusting of him.

I do get a good vibe from Shaykh Yaqoubi though and I like Hamza Yusuf as well.

Ooohps, Psyah beat me to it with the eshaykh reference. I read it after I had submitted my post. :hehe:

@psyah, what is your opinion of Shaykh Yaqoubi?

Peace sister @redvelvet

Shaykh Hamza Yusuf was the door that led me to Shaykh Muhammad al-Yaqoubi … Shaykh Yaqoubi is my Shaykh, I took bayah with him on 30th June 2009 to join the Shadhili Tariqah.

Shaykh Muhammad al-Yaqoubi is a teacher of Shaykh Gibril and Shaykh Hamza. He is a Hasani Sharif. Shaykh Muhammad al-Yaqoubi is probably one of a few people now who is an ocean of knowledge and can recite many books by heart, he has a very extensive memory mashaAllah and deep understanding. People from all paths have sat in his classes to learn Arabic and Islamic theology. He is arguably one of the most vocal of the ulema against Bashar Al-Assad.

capitalizing the words he, him, his used in the middle of sentence is ONLY for Allah…i would like to lnow the reason why you have capitalized those words. we don’t capitalize even the prophet [saws] when referred to “he, his, him” in the middle of the sentence. :hmmm:

i wonder why would you send so many and so much du’aa for someone who is so controversial…i think inna lillahi wa inna ilaihii raaje’oon kah denaa hii kaafii hai. aapkii raaye jaannaa chaahuuNgaa. shukria.

YAY!!! :lifey:

I started listening to a Desi sufi scholar, then randomly came upon the Hizbul Bahr which sparked my interested in the Shazli Tareeqa…I can recite the hizb very quickly and easily but have not managed to become regular in it and did not seek permission to recite it…from there I started listening to Hamza Yusuf…and then to Shaykh Yaqoubi. Didn’t know that you were a follower of his tareeqa, had a slight doubt though that you might be. How come Hareem didn’t give bayah with Yaqoubi? Or why didn’t you give bayah with her tareeqah? What is the procedure of taking bayah? Also, I have heard that a shaykh/murshid might tell you that they don’t have your hissah (Urdu) and that your hissah belongs to someone else. Is there truth to this or is it a Desi notion?

Dear sister redvelvet

I could see you have been on a journey for some time, MashAllah.

My wife and I are from very different inclinations and the things in the persona of Shaykh Nazim that appealed to her were not the same things in Shaykh Muhammad that appealed to me. Although I was advised by my own fellow mureeds to encourage my wife to take bayah in Shadhili as well, ultimately it was her choice to take it or not. For a few years she didn't think it necessary as Shaykh Hamza takes his opinion from Shaykh Abdullah bin Bayyah that it is not necessary to be in Tariqah so long as tassuwwuf is practiced from authorised transmitters and my wife liked Shaykh Hamza a lot because of his ability to awaken people and make them realise that we are in the end times. It was only after doing umrah that my wife really felt she needed a Shaykh and her heart always inclined to Shaykh Nazim ... Although my Shaykh comes from a rich scholarly lineage, Shaykh Nazim does have the record of tassuwwuf masters of spreading the silsila to the corners of the world and he is responsible and his students for bringing many people into Islam. Tariqas have different approaches too, whereas Shadhiliya is more about removing blockages to the path of Allah (SWT) the Naqshbandi path is about struggling ... You will see a lot of the proper mujahideen are Naqshbandi Sufis. They tend to be more laid back than Shadhilis too ... The scholarly approach appealed to me the atmosphere and mysticism appealed to my wife.

The Hizb ul Bahr, Qasida Burdah are famously recited by many Sufis, but they originate in the Shadhili Tariqah. It is because this way was commonly attractive to the scholars and poets and elites. A notable benefit in all people who I have seen who joined the Tariqah and I think this comes from the du'a of our Shaykh is that their worldly woes become less and their economic standing changes. Hizb ul Bahr is an amazing litany and very powerful ... Have you read the story behind it?

@psyah

^Yes, I have read the story behind the Hizb ul Bahr...the ship and its being stranded and Abul Ala Shazli seeing a dream where the Prophet SAWS told him about the Hizb ul Bahr. I am amazed that he was able to recall it in its entirety upon waking up, but then it helps that some ayats are from the Quran and there is also repetition which facilitates recall. I have done much research on Hizb ul Bahr online and it's unfortunate that there's not enough info on it. I think I've read practically everything that's on there about it. I have read that reciting it once after Asr has been made "aam" for everyone, but anything more than that requires permission. I have read about its various benefits and am thinking of getting back into the habit of reciting it regularly. I tend to pick it up and then stop...and then resume and stop again. I guess I have not read it regularly enough to experience the benefits that are said to come from it. But I know that it should not be read for that purpose and should be recited yo get closer to Allah and the translation is beautiful. If you don't mind my asking, do you recite it daily and for how long? Do you mind sharing the benefits that you gained or spiritual changes you've experienced from regular recitation? I had asked about this hizb in the past but people were not aware of it.

Learned about Imam Nawawi's litany that consists of the Prophet SAW's duas through Hamza Yusuf's lectures...he suggested reciting it twice a day. Had started that but the text was not clear so I stopped shortly after. I think that a regular recitation of la ilaha ill Allah, durood and astaghfar are a good start.

capitalizing words he, him, his is only for Allah? That’s not my understanding of Islam
my reason for capitalizing references is for respect and to show Reverence, Honour. I only sometimes do it for Awliya but when I do it it is an investment for this life and the hereafter. the last and only time I have met a Naqshbandi Peer I kissed His Hand and rubbed my face on it

many people do write Salawat in abbreviation (most likely a bidah) but I like to write the complete Salawat. I wouldn’t knowingly ever like to reference The Prophet SallAllahu Alaihi wa Ahlihi wa Sallam without capitalizing the references to Him SallAllahu Alaihi wa Ahlihi wa Sallam. If I ever forget to do it then I would look upon that as a regrettable mistake

i do not differentiate between Allah Subhanahu wa Ta’ala and His Messenger SallAllahu Alaihi wa Ahlihi wa Sallam in terms of the adab level I show, this level (singular) is set to max.

so, i wasn't wrong in what i thought about this whole business of capitalizing proper nouns...aapkaa 'aamaal aapke saath...so, you have your own set of rules.

yes, capitalizing His, Him and He is ONLY for Allah [God] in the middle of a sentence!

I personally never heard about him before seriously. As far as i know dua for deceased could be done for any Muslim…so I wrote..!! If i hear news of any Muslim i try to make dua…like ALLAHUMAGHFIRLAHO WARHAMHU WA’FU ANHU…

fair enough :biggthumb:

No you were not wrong that I was intentionally writing some references with capitals. Overall you are wrong, I think its when you spoke about Islam that you went wrong
In Sha Allah I will keep doing it, However it only count as aamaal if Allah Subhanahu wa Ta'ala accepts them, for that I might have to increase my adab
Although this particular manifestation in capitalizing is from me, The understanding behind it is from the Scholars who I take from

yes, capitalizing His, Him and He is ONLY for Allah [God] in the middle of a sentence!
You mean mandatory for Allah or only for Allah. If the latter then show me

It is mandatory for me to add Respect, Reverence and Honour to The Prophet of Allah SallAllahu Alaihi wa Ahlihi wa Sallam.

show you what? open any book and you will see it there...no where you will find that pronouns of ambiyaa-e-karaam or auliyaa are capitalized in the middle of a sentence.

yes, use of capital for He, His and Him is only for Allah [God]...

you may do whatever you wanna do but please do not elevate ambiyaa-e-karaam or aliyaa-e-Karaam to the level of Allah [ma'aaz Allah].

that's all.

I reject your batil opinion.

More on this later In Sha Allah