There will be plenty of people lining up for job interview, mostly from Pakistan. Who's got the guppies vote?
Aaqib Javaid I think he should be one of the top candidates. Good cricketing sense and no affiliations to any groups to best of my knowledge.
**Miandad **He may be fancying his chances but we had him once without any great benefit. I think it'll be a mistake to appoint him again.
Aamer Sohail Never impressed me much as a captain, emotional, i doubt he can remain neutral or bring harmony to dressing rrom.
Zaheer Abbas Does not having any coaching successes to his credit.
Waqar Younis Perhaps a very good bowling coach, but can he take responsibilty as a full time coach?
Desmond Haynes Has been lining up for Indian coach job. Dunno much about his coaching apabilities.
**Tom Moody **A good coach but probably hs contract will be renewed by Srilankans beyond the world cup.
Anyither cadidates you people think about?
Whom will you prefer among the above listed?
NAWAZ SHARIFF
The guy has some cricket sense hopefully more than his political sense and one less worry for Musharaff. He will be able to come back to Pakistan and will have the chance to enjoy his favourite Nihari and Payey.:)
The issue is not who is going to be the next coach, rather it is how will the new team structure look like?
1. Can one head coach make things happen?
I would recommend some one like Miandad be head coach with
1. additional bowling coach/es
2. additional fielding coach
That would create a lot of chiefs but in absence of "real" product being made in the ACADEMY, you need the same support/training in the team.
I don't think any of the names mentioned above are good as any other 'professional' coaches in the World. I know Aqaib Javed has some professional qualifications but feel he needs more time and experience before he takes the role of senior side.
Other names simply not qualified or in touch with modern coaching methods.
Other canidates include Mudassar Nazar (who has coached Kenya and Pakistan before).
Dave Whatmore - I don't think will accept the job even if the PCB was interested or offered him the post. He seems to be doing a good job with Bangladesh and will continue to remain as their coach.
It will be interetsed to know what criteria the jokers especially Dr Naseem Ashraf uses to select the new coach. Will they have interviews for the short listed canidates and ask them make presentation etc as normally done by other boards or will it be hand picked appointment?
I think it will be a desi coach again and we will soon find out who the coach will be.
NAWAZ SHARIFF
The guy has some cricket sense hopefully more than his political sense and one less worry for Musharaff. He will be able to come back to Pakistan and will have the chance to enjoy his favourite Nihari and Payey.:)
^ Rock ...
on second thought ..ur right...
Naseem ka chota bhai will be next coach, as well as his nephew will be inducted out on no where into national team and will become next captain in maybe one series. They will have any lalloo lead the side till then, like Razzaq, who doesn't complain about anything.
This team is going down the tubes....Untill and unless there is a major shake up at the top and Good solid cricketers take charge as elected officials. I mean like Ramiz, or Imran.
At this juncture I think appointment of a coach is not the priority. The priority is to sort out the mess we are in, having no coach is just one of them.
My favourite though is Dav Whatmore.
Yes you are right Ehsan, there is plenty of time before the start of next international assignment and plenty of time left in appointing the new coach. Before appointment of the new coach - replacement for the other jokers should be the priority - these being the likes of Dr Naseem Ashraf.
The issue is not who is going to be the next coach, rather it is how will the new team structure look like?
1. Can one head coach make things happen?
I would recommend some one like Miandad be head coach with
1. additional bowling coach/es
2. additional fielding coach
That would create a lot of chiefs but in absence of "real" product being made in the ACADEMY, you need the same support/training in the team.
Miandad no doubt has a very sharp cricketing mind (if only he could back it up with good inter-personal skills) but given how shabbily the PCB has treated him in the past he's unlikely to accept any such offer.
Why cant we be more professional. I am thinking of an NFL type style
A Head Coach.
Then a batting, bowling, & fielding coaches
They need to structure the team management very well. Use technology to view their weakness. Have a comprehensive game plan based on the opponent. (See the weakness and exploit them). I think they need a major overhaul.
I have stopped supporting PCB, thus the team, until the make these changes. These are must in my view.
I think that that the Pakistani coaches and former players have egos. Its hard for players to focus if they are tangled in the web of deep politics of PCB. I think bring a guy like woolmer as head coach who will pick his own coordinators for (batting, bowling & fielding)
I think Wasim or Waqar be bowling coach.
Miandad for batting
Rhodes or someone else for fielding
I dont know about Tom Moody, he seems to be moody. :P
Dr Nasim was talking on ARY and he hinted that a coach has already been selected and a formal announcement will be made upon the return of 'murderers'.
I fear who will want to coach them now....
heartbreaking. i really really liked woolmer. he became pakistani for once. what a guy. just heartbreaking.
and whats with people saying that inzi's decision was insensitive. He said himself, he was very close to woolmer and he couldnt do more..
If a coach has already been selected then it must have been some chamcha of his. How can they decide so soon, without looking at the options available!