Who pays?

Re: Who pays?

Sweet will it be if what you "like to do" translates into what you end up doing......

Jesus....

I exhausted my 200 posts limit...

I pay most of the time and like it.

ab theek hai? :)

haha

It is is "business as usual" to pay for what you eat, I am sure you never intend to step out without a dime on the table for a tip.....

Just kidding

You make a perfect sense, my fair lady, yet the unplanned rotation does not necessarily mean a clueless "pick up the tab".....

we all know who did not pay the last time...

don't we?

We sure do, but picking-up the tab for the second time isn't taboo either.

If I feel kind I'll pay, generally it's half and half :)

With friends, we just all pay for ourselves. We always get separate checks and keep life simple, unless one wants to treat the other(s).

I did have a guy friend pick up the check on me, entirely. I didn't like that, but I guess that was his way of showing care/friendship.

When it's just the girls, we all pay separately and we basically put in however much we need to pay for our coffees/meals. Sometimes, I'll offer if I'm feeling generous. When it's the whole group, the guys will always always try splitting it between them so they pay for each of us girls (I just slip my money into one of their pockets) I really dislike people paying for me /=

^muft khor :nahi:

Khush raho, apny kharchey pee

Usually we just split the bill. Sometimes one covers for the other and says "You can pay for me next time" or something like that. If it's people you don't usually see and are sort of playing host to or if it's a special occasion, then sometimes we'll pay.

In typical desi fashion we argue. We remind each other who pays last and then one gives up. However I always pay for female friends. Has been in practice since I was 15. Its the chivalry you women hate so much.

When we school friends meet up..... usually bill is paid by those who are on job.... jobless people are not allowed to pay.

In my uni gatherings... i meet up with my guy friends on treats only... so whoever is giving treat pays the bill.

When we are only girls (and really close friends) then bill is always a bone of contention between us...... mean we fight "tum pay karo, tum pay karo" :p

I don't think there's any set rule. There have been times...like recently...where a friend has surprised by paying, which is sweet and I'll either reciprocate the affection (in a similar manner or a different one) in the future.

Came across this article (well more of an opinion essay) on the NYT, judging from the comments it seems as if there’s an even split…between those who refuse to split checks and those who think its necessary, no matter how cheap it makes them look

http://cityroom.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/12/10/complaint-box-splitting-the-check/#

^..very interesting article... i love the comments...