Who is the Gardener of your house??

Re: Who is the Gardener of your house??

Tigerlily, raised beds with bark borders will make it low maintenance. Thats a good idea. Why dont you take some 'before' and 'after' pictures and then share them with us! :)

Ok, will post some before and after pics. But it'll be a while before we're able to get someone in to do the work.

Ok green fingered guppers! This is to remind you all that the time for the last cut of grass is here. I heard in the news yesterday, that snow is expected in October in the UK! So this really is your last chance CB!

Just remember, you should always aim to mow the lawn when the grass is dry as the blades will cut the grass better. If you mow the grass in wet weather, the weight of the mower and your footsteps will leave muddy patches everywhere and the soil surface will become compacted. The grass will find it hard to re-establish itself on these areas.

Think about those BBQ’s in your lovely garden in the coming summer to get yourself motivated everyone!

Happy Gardening! :rose:

Queer , how did I miss reading you Cow wala suggestion :omg: … i love it :e6: this year from my Pakistan ka trip , a cow will accompany me :lifey:

MissF , snow in october :omg: yaaaaaaaaay … should I just wait for the snow and the winter to pass away and then get the gardner in the sprng next year? :hmmm: trying hard to jaan chura from the gardening

I can see that clearly! :nahi:

gulp ok fine, i will take pics of my ujra hua garden .. and paste them here … then maybe you can start telling me step by step how to improve it :hinna:

my front is always done by my goray neighbours he is landscaper and always does our for us.. every month new flowers :@: so kind

our backyard on the other hand .. not the best my husband is in charge of it we cut it every few weeks but our other neighbours (deSi’s) planted some veggies on the side of the fence and everything over grew and half our yard is full of kaddu and cucumbers :bummer:

Kaddu's and cucumbers .. yummy .. I wish my neighbours did that .. The problem is all our neighbours have such well maintained gardens ... and we are the odd one out .. we spend all our energy making the inside of the house beautiful !

Your neighbors judge you from outside of your house.

That does indeed make sense , Mirch … the thing is its raining 24x7 in this region … its cold and horrible and whats more killing , neither me nor husband have that knowledge to deal with the gardening stuff and ultimately its kills the motivation to do anything … neighbours have a good idea of what flowers or plants will last through the tough season… they even planted roses .. and when i tried planting roses .. they died even before they started blooming :crying:

i feel I need a very basis education of planting and that might motivate me enough to get some work done :hmmm:

Could you get a landscaper in to create a low maintenance garden?

I totally know what you mean about the rain 24x7 though. Its taken us 3 weeks to cut the grass as its been too wet each weekend.

That's why we've opted form some bark boarders in the front garden and will also be getting some large planters. It cuts the maintenance.

hmmm we are considering getting a gardner … but still working around the finances :sadiyah:

You’re on girl! :lifey:

Yep know what you mean about the finances - that’s what’s taken as so long to get the boarders dug up. I keep finding things indoors to spend my money on instead.

I suggest you ladies look up gardeners in local newspapers, who normally charge £10 an hour. Normally, if your garden is average sized, it should not cost more than £20 to have the grass cut and general tidy up.

Yup, we'll be getting someone local to do the work for us. A general tidy and grass cut isn't the issue though, we manage to do this frequently, weather allowing. However, we need to dig up a couple of trees in the front garden, and dig down for the bark boarders and then make the raised beds. My hubby has found someone to help him do this. We've just got to order the materials now and then we're all set.

Tigerlily, don't forget to take the 'before' and 'after' pictures, :)

We can start a thread to discuss all these issues near spring time Inshallah. :slight_smile:

Community colleges and universities are happy to help you decide what to plant for your region.
The local municipalities give out plants and shrubs for free which are meant for region.
Craigs list in US has many ads where people are offering plants and shrubs for free or at lot cheaper prices I guess in UK there would be something like craigslist.com .
In craigslist.com I can find landscapers who offer their services for cheap prices.
Use google to learn about gardening for your area. I learned all my gardening skills from the net.

Thats right, I also learned a lot from gardening websites. BBC's gardening website is excellent. We dont have craiglist here but I think our equivalent would be Gumtree.