Who is the Gardener of your house??

Ok, I know most desi people’s idea of gardening is just cutting the grass, when it is atleast 1ft long…:smack: but if you are lucky enough to have a garden, who maintains it??

Ladies, do you drag your husbands out to the jungle so that he can get on with the mowing or do you pay a gardener to come in?
Are any of you passionate about gardening or is it just about making your house look atleast normal next to the neighbours perfect lawn???

Re: Who is the Gardener of your house??

mali :)

Lucky you! I know its the maalis in Pakistan. Have you ever observed how he cuts the grass?

no he comes when I am at work :(

i've a beautiful front yard and is professionally landscaped. we contract out to professionals. i sometimes cut grass though when they grow faster in less than 2 weeks. :)

my father in law :flowers:

I am passionate about gardening. In spring and summer my kids and husband know where to find me: in the garden with my flowers and plants :snooty:. But I must admit I hate grass cutting and I hire a professional gardener to do that and other big jobs like hedge trimming and pruning of big shrubs!!

I like doing it too, but i am always afraid, what if i excessively water them and turn them die :( gardening/ taking care of plants is really not easy.. they are living things and need proper and limited food & water..

rest, I am mashAllah too good in planting flowers or veges!! they grow up so quickly :)

I dig the planter
my wife plant the seed
I water and fertilize the plant
my wife ripe the fruit/veggies

go figure :bummer:

Queen, where do you live? It all depends on the weather ofcourse, in Pakistan plants do need a lot of water but not in the UK. Thats probably the first mistake new gardeners make: excessive watering!

Well, its a joint effort, you sound like a happy gardening couple mashallah!

I am the force behind my front and backyard , my kids and wife help out , if I ask. I do that to stay physically active , I get lot of compliments from neighbors. I will post pictures next spring. Inshallah. All the plants and shrubs are going bald now due to fall season.
Last weekend was the day for trimming , planting , tree transfer, raking etc. Lawn mowing season is over too.

Yes, it is that dormant period right now, where you can only admire the changing colours of the leaves on those trees and enjoy the burnt orange colour splashed everywhere! Mirch, I hope to exchange some great gardening pictures and ideas with you, come springtime! :)

I grow seedlings, trim hedges and shrubs while my hubby mows the lawn and does the building work. So it's 50/50 divided between us.

We have a front yard and a back garden and both need loads of gardening right now ... but husband and I both have zero interest in it ... so now poor thing is just lying abandoned .. our back garden looks like we are growing spinach there ! ... the front looks like a mini jungle ...
Cant afford to have the gardner coming at this stage .. but inshallah soon we will do that ...

Someone I know gave us home grown pears a few days back and maaaan they were good and so sweet ... i wish i could do that at my home ...

My dad.

you need to buy a cow. cow will graze on the front yard, and keep it well trimmed. later, cow will go to back yard and fertilize it naturally.

your pear tree will flourish.

My husband. He loves gardening and does everything to make it look tidy and nice. Specially in summers weekends he spends all his day in garden, recently planted tomatoes, courgettes and peppers. Thank God I don't have to worry about gardening bit.

Aww.. maybe we should have grass cutting parties at your place, where everyone comes and helps you with the gardening and you provide your yummy food!!! ;)

At the moment, my husband cuts the grass, I do the raking and pruning. We plant together, and he waters as he's home earlier than me. We will however be paying someone to come in a create raised beds in the back gardern and a wood chip boarder in the front garden. Once done I'll plan the planting and we'll plant an maintain together.