Who is Syed?

Assalam-Alaikum All,

All of my Shia friends say they are Syed, i.e. they can follow their family back to the prophets family.

I want to know:

• Can all Shia’s be syed?

• How can they prove this?

• Does that make them better than someone who is non-syed?

• Are there any Sunni’s that are syed?

I know there are much more important topics, but I have been very curious about this.

Please only reply if you have the time to do so.

Wasalaam

I want to know:

• Can all Shia's be syed?

If one can "become a shia" then not all shias could be syeds. If John Doe from Newcastle becomes a shia muslim would he be a syed..nope.

• How can they prove this?

Last I heard there is a DNA test in Jordan that will prove conclusively whether a person is a syed or not. I am not sure about the authenticity of this news item. The king of Jordan...is Hashmi and thus is considered a direct descendent from Hazoor as well.

• Does that make them better than someone who is non-syed?

There is something to be said about syeds, the Aal-e-Mohammad, after all all muslims send blessings upon the aal-e-Mohammad during durood and namaaz and Aal-e-Mohammad is mentioned so much in the Quran.

However, personal deeds matter most, and Taqwa of the individual is what matters to Allah.

• Are there any Sunni's that are syed?

Many, I am one myself. Although my ancestors were mixed shia and sunni, and I still have shia relatives.

One afterthought as result of your questions. I was discussing the whole syed thing with a cousin of mine, and he was mathematically using low-middle-high number scenarios for children in each generation for mathematically accurate hi-lo figures of how many syeds should be in existence vs how many syeds we see... and thus questions the authenticity of many claims.

I knew this question would get raised sooner or later....

I married into a Syed family....and am sunni. Thankfully my in-laws make no grand claims about lineage.

They firmly believe in everyone being judged and valued individually.

The True syed family is NO more. I think they were nephews of prophet and all. But they all died with their childern so no syeds. Today people even who are low class in pakistan call or have made them selves syed. Just to get respect. There is no true syed alive at this time. Those who are, are just named or pretending to be.

Fe ammaan allah.

zar leo

[This message has been edited by Zar Leo (edited August 11, 2000).]

Assalam-Alaikum

I personally believe that all muslims are created equal.

I've heard people mention that because they are Syed, they shouldn't marry non-syeds and somehow this makes them better.

I agree with Fraudz, personal deeds of the person far outweigh any lineage they have with the prophet's family.

Have you ever heard of the phrase "Divide and Conquer" ?

What better way to destroy Islam than to make muslims fight against one another...

Makes you think dunnit?

Syed's are those who are from the lineage of the daughter of the Hloy Prophet, Bibi Fatima Zehra (AS). Her name was also Bibi Syeda (AS) that is why the name is used Syed. From her the line runs down through Imam Hasan (AS) and Imam Hussain (AS) Imam Hussain (AS)'s son Imam Zain-ul-Abedeen (AS), married the daughter of Imam Hasan (AS). Their son was Imam Mohammad Baqir (AS) and thus the line of Syed's continues.

One who takes lessons from the events of life, gets vision, one who acquires vision becomes wise and one who attains wisdom achieves knowledge.

If a woman marries a non-syed, are her children still syed?

How can a person tell if they are Syed or not.. is there a way of proving it?

The original Syed started from Bibi fatima Zehra (AS) and from there it is carried through the male lineage. There is a special name for Syed's who are Syed's from both sides....najaf-ut-turrain (or something like that!!) which means Syed from both sides.

One who takes lessons from the events of life, gets vision, one who acquires vision becomes wise and one who attains wisdom achieves knowledge.

As everyone says ...

LIVE LIKE ALI, DIE LIKE HUSSAIN ..!!

Have faith in it.

Can people really trace their family back 1400 years ago?

I think there are very few who can actually trace it back all the way. I know I can not.

Does it matter if your Sayed?I don't think so, we are muslims and thats all, come on people,on one hand we argue with non-believers that they are raciest, and look at us!!what a shame.

Masooma

Bismillah,
I heard that giving Zakat to Syeds is not allowed. is there any truth in this.?
Allah Hafiz

P.S I am non-shia syed too

"Sayed" is an Arabic word, a respectful way of addressing a male. It is the exact alternative of Mr. , Sir, Janaab, Sahib, Ji, Adharni'ye etc. "Sayedah" would be used for the change of gender. Those who have ever lived in an Arab society must know that these titles prefix to any first or surname are equally used for the Non-Muslims as well. So these words can be used for anybody diregard to his/her family, status or importance.

Islamic teachings do not give any importance to ancestral references. No black has any superiority to white and no white has any superiority to black, no Arab has any speriority to non-Arab and no non-Arab has any superiority to an Arab. The right criterion for the respect of a person is only on "Taqwa" i.e in modern language the Character! The firmness of one's character is assessed / determined to check to what extaent a person abide by the permanent values i.e. Honesty, Kindness, Forgiveness, to fight for the good and fight against evil. etc.

To be a relative of a personality is no standard of being honourable. To be father, mother, daughter, cousin, uncle or father-in-law of Mohammad (PBUH) is no virtue. What makes us respect all those relatives is their own character. The father of prophet Ibraheem was a kafir and son of prophet Noah was also disopbedient. The most affectionate uncle of Mohammad (PBUH), Abu Talib , no matter how kind and helpful he was for the prophetical duties, is not regarded as a Muslim anyway!

Aal-e-Mohammad doest mean any family-relationship to Mohammad (PBUH) but it is meant for "Followers of MOhammad". See the same term used as Aal-Moosa or Aal-e-Fir'aun in Quran. Wishing good for Aal-e-Mohammad is for the whole Muslim Ummah and not for a particular family or race.

The word "Sayed" was brought in India of course by the Arabs, most probably by the troops of Mohammad Bin Qasim. Obviously, the Indians heard this word quite frequently while watching Arabs communicating with one an other. So the Arabs were rememebered as "Sayed so and So..........And then this word "Sayed" makde its place in India as many other imported titles like Sheikh, Khawaja, Mirza , Khan etc. as a cliche.

Who-so-ever has an attachment to Islam must have tremendous amount of Love & honour for Mohammad, a spontaneous outcome of Islamic preaching. There is no difference of opinion between Shia & Sunni, Wahabi or Brailvi, Deo Bandi or Pervezi , Chakdralvi or Qadiayani on this point. This emotional factor caused expoitation by some who were influenced by Hindu ideology. In contrast to Islamic teachings Hindu philosophy does believe in divisions and sectarianism in society. The concept of upper cast and superiority of Brahmin is available even today's India. So the SADAT (the plural form of Sayed) got the same status among the Muslims of Sub-Continent. Allama Iqbal has called these so called "Sayed" as "Kaabey ka brahmin" (what a fine depiction!)

The extreme of this un-Islamic theory can be witnessed in various parts of India & Pakistan. The "Sadat" do not allow their daughters (a sayed zadi) to marry non-sadat! This is 100% against the Islamic ideology.

I have no argument to those who claim to be from the family of Mohammad or Ali, hashmi or Alavi, it might be true to their knowledge. But as per my belief Islam does not give any importance to such destiny. All human beings disregard to their race, blood or colour are equeal. So a good Muslim is the one who is fully devoted to the teachings of Holy Quran and pays his/her duties to create & maintain a peaceful society as per the Islamic ideology.

Sophia Mujahid

Allama Iqbal thaught

Yun to syed bhi ho ,mughal bhi ho ,afghan bhi ho

Batao to ke tum mussallmann bhi ho?!

When i warn young girls when they are too friendly with hindu boys wich may not be there romantic boy friends ,that influence of hindu is detrimental on moslems b/c we are just the opposite.Now this sayed.khan,sheikh,mallik,& more started as honor titles given but DUE TO HNDU INFLUENCE BECAME A CASTE to be reconed with.There many such corruption of our pure religipon by hindus both in Pakistan(from pre 47 )& india where each generation of moslems are comming closer to hindu thaught that Indian moslem are a totally different animal from before.inter religous mariage ,mixed heriatge child of shah rukh,aamir,saif maybe salman,nargis,mumtaz,zarina wahab,waheeda rehman,.I know atlest 10 cousins of mine married hindu girl & few female cousins to hndu boys too.I m very sad hurt,&angry with this development as some of you know i had a thread on this subject last month.

Originally posted by sanam:
**Allama Iqbal thaught

Yun to syed bhi ho ,mughal bhi ho ,afghan bhi ho

Batao to ke tum mussallmann bhi ho?!

When i warn young girls when they are too friendly with hindu boys wich may not be there romantic boy friends ,that influence of hindu is detrimental on moslems b/c we are just the opposite.Now this sayed.khan,sheikh,mallik,& more started as honor titles given but DUE TO HNDU INFLUENCE BECAME A CASTE to be reconed with.There many such corruption of our pure religipon by hindus both in Pakistan(from pre 47 )& india where each generation of moslems are comming closer to hindu thaught that Indian moslem are a totally different animal from before.inter religous mariage ,mixed heriatge child of shah rukh,aamir,saif maybe salman,nargis,mumtaz,zarina wahab,waheeda rehman,.I know atlest 10 cousins of mine married hindu girl & few female cousins to hndu boys too.I m very sad hurt,&angry with this development as some of you know i had a thread on this subject last month.**

I am here to make a little correction, Iqbal said:

Yoon to sayed bhi ho, Mirza bhi ho, Afghan bhi ho

Tum sabhi kuchh ho, batao keh musalman bhi ho?

Sophia Mujahid

Originally posted by CoolDude:
**Can people really trace their family back 1400 years ago?

Some families can. I am a direct desendent of Shah Abul Mu'Ali (thus Pirzadgan-e-amabetta)and Shah Wali Ullah. Our family tree traces every single person born after that and has the links going back to Hazoor.

Do you also realize that hazoor himself had his own shajra tracing his lineage back for generations. Which we have as well.

As far as the status of The prophet's family goes...all I have to say is..Its a matter of pride and honor but no laurel to sit on, after all I will be judged on my own actions.

Not being a religeous scholar I cant quote any sayings about the ahl-e-bait.

The things that are outright incorrect are insistence that syed's only marry syed's etc, that is all created by people in the sub continent.

As far as tracing roots to the prophet, its not just done in the sub continent but in middle east as well except the term syed is not used.

Mathematically, the number of syed's is impossible since they would all be direct descendents of Hazrat Zain al Abideen and the number of possible generations and number of possible kids etc would make it impossible for this many syeds to be in the sub continent.

Only Allah knows.

[This message has been edited by Fraudz (edited August 14, 2000).]

The sunni defintion of a Descendent from Ahle Muhammad is much broader & has expanded over time.
First, they include the holy 5 (the only criteria for the shia groups);

PLUS the companions & their wives
PLUS the Abbasides
PLUS OThman Caliphate of Turkey
PLUS (I am sure I 've missed someone).

ADD:
to this the Sufis(sunni-based) that have sprung in large numbers all claimimg silsila(lineage) from Hazrat Abu Bakr(ra).

ADD:
to these the 'fraud artists in their millions', a few have surfaced on this website, claiming to be Sayeds to garner extra previlege and avoid any association with Hindu ancestry.

If being a Sayed gives u some merit or rank above others in any way then I am being discriminated and thats not the purpose og Islam. Thank God I am not a Sayed so that I might have an edge over my fellow beings if that is thae case. In many muslim countries these things dont count and found in countries where there r other chains and class differences like peer-muridi etc.

....thus explaining the mathematical impossibility of having this many "syed's" in the sub continent.

I always thought that those who connect their lineage to hazrat abu Bakr did nto call themselves syed's but siddiqui, just as those claiming lineage to Hazrat osman would be Osmani and hazrat Omar are Faruqi. I did not think that they claimed to be syed.

Additionally there are others who trace lineage from Hazoor's children other than Hazrat Fatima.

But then there are a lot of sunnis from shia ancestary as well and someone became sunni along the way. In my family there are many shias as well as sunnis.