My vote goes to MOIN KHAN.
Reason : He is a pugnacious batsman and a athletic keeper - never really got the kind of recognition he deserves.
My vote goes to MOIN KHAN.
Reason : He is a pugnacious batsman and a athletic keeper - never really got the kind of recognition he deserves.
Latif. He's probably the best keeper on the international scene much less Pakistan. Unfortunately when he should have been even more spectacular, he was serving time for crimes he did not commit.
Note: Before I get hammered let me reiterate I said pure keeper, not keeping all rounder like Gilchrist or Flower. Just keeping abilities.
I understand what you mean Sambi.
People call Gilchrist a great keeper, but they only think about his performance with the bat and not just keeping.
I have to say Rashid Latif is not just the best in Pakistan but the best in the world today.
Moin is a great batsman wicketkeeper but we need a great wicket keeper batsman.
Originally posted by UMAIR316:
I understand what you mean Sambi.
People call Gilchrist a great keeper, but they only think about his performance with the bat and not just keeping.
I have to say Rashid Latif is not just the best in Pakistan but the best in the world today.
Precisely yaar Umair!
{B]Moin is a great batsman wicketkeeper but we need a great wicket keeper batsman.
Once again agreed yaar.
I seriously think Moin would struggle to keep with the pace of Shoaib especially if he indeed is hitting the 90's regularly. Somehow I remember Moin missing lots of catches off Shoaib. Maybe somebody can tell me if my imagination is playing up but I always felt Moin cost the team more runs behind the stumps than he made for the team front of the wicket.
One match especially sticks out which was played in the Super sixes between Pakistan and the Saffies. Moin's keeping to Shoaib was horrible towards the end and he cost us the match with some help from Shoaib's inaccuracy.
Not just in one match, the whole world cup in 99, Moin was keep missing high bouncers from Shoaib and the ball went to boundry for 5 runs.
Also in Sharjah Cup 2000 as well.
Moin was brilliant though in his early years, 92 world cup, he was very young but a great wicket keeper.
Originally posted by sambrialian:
**Latif. He's probably the best keeper on the international scene much less Pakistan. Unfortunately when he should have been even more spectacular, he was serving time for crimes he did not commit.
Note: Before I get hammered let me reiterate I said pure keeper, not keeping all rounder like Gilchrist or Flower. Just keeping abilities. **
I think Gilchrist and Boucher are anyday better wicketkeeper that Latif.
And Yes I am talking about only keeping skills.
Gilchrist is such an exciting batsman that his keepiong skils get over-shadowed.
And now coming back to topic.Yes Latif is better keeper than Moin but since Moin is such a good batsman ,he should be in Oneday team.This will make paki batting lineup very strong.
They can keep Latif for test matches.
[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited July 17, 2002).]
ok, I'm sorry, I don't think Rashid Latif is the best in the world.
I'm going to have to go with Deep Dasgupta, he is without a doubt the best wicketkeeper batsman in the world today.
**ok, I'm sorry, I don't think Rashid Latif is the best in the world.
I'm going to have to go with Deep Dasgupta, he is without a doubt the best wicketkeeper batsman in the world today.
You're so right man. I was going to say that Mongia was perhaps the best but how can we forget Dropgupta oh I mean Dasgupta.
Talk about sour grapes, man.
Rashid Latif is the best and yes not only in Pakistan but in world. No one knows Gilchrist or Flower for their WK skills but they are well known becasue of their batting skill, and mind you Rashid is not zero in batting skills he still bats better than many (so called) allrounders in the world.
Here goes an Idiot.Spoling another good thread.
Just becouse you think that Latif is best doesnt mean that everyone will agree with you.Since you are not convinced here is something for you.
Latif:
Test Catches Stumps
31 98 10
Ondayers
129 133 32
Gilchrist:
Test Catches Stumps
31 122 10
Ondayers
136 187 32
Boucher:
Test Catches Stumps
52 196 5
Ondayers
118 166 8
Now I know what will you say."Stats dont prove anything".
But then what Mr.Umair thinks doesnt mean anything.
Originally posted by Nakhrey Wali:
***Rashid Latif* is the best and yes not only in Pakistan but in world. No one knows Gilchrist or Flower for their WK skills but they are well known becasue of their batting skill, and mind you Rashid is not zero in batting skills he still bats better than many (so called) allrounders in the world.**
Jaani,
Aapne abhi tak Gilchrist ki keeping nahi dekhi hai ... Just comeout of your "I-am-the-best" syndrome and see the world around you.You need to learn lots of cricket.
Yes Gilchrist is very good batsman but He is such a good batsman that his wicket keeping performances are always over-shadowed by his batting skills.
**ok, I'm sorry, I don't think Rashid Latif is the best in the world.
No the best WK in the world is HUMAYUN FATAHUA err FARHAT. I remember him keeping against NZ, he was awesome.
AK
Duck, people! Duck! The useless-stats-can-be-used-to-prove-anything bombs are being launched again.
Yaar Asif and AQ seriously speaking do you guys have a personal little magic database that you dig into and pull out all these beautiful numbers from? 'cause before you know you guys have some stats to prove one thing or the other.
And Asif Hamyun Farhat is a future pivot of our team. He's supposed to be a very good batsman and a fine keeper. He's very young though so give him time before you start stacking him against greats like Dasgupta and Dighe.
OK, Gilchrist and Boucher are better than Rashid Latif.
And that means that Gilchrist is better than Tendulkur in tests.
And Bevan is better than Tendulkur in one days.
Guess what stats came back and bit you right in the a$$.
TENDULKAR : 96M, 8004R, 57.58AVG
GILCHRIST : 36M, 2160R, 60.00AVG
TENDULKAR : 295M, 11505R, 44.42AVG
BEVEN : 178M, 5751R, 55.83AVG
Now tell me should we go by stats or not ? Its not only catches that tells the “quality” of the keeper its also the runs he saves while keeping the wicket and that also includes the chances he avails.
Suppose (these are not real stats) that Latif gets 130 chances and he availed 122 of it and Ghilchrist gets 230 chances and avails 187 of those who is better ? So its not all abount stats.
Note: I can by no mean agree on Ghilchrist and Beven being better than Tendulkar but its your call if you wana go by stats
Checkmate!
**OK, Gilchrist and Boucher are better than Rashid Latif.
And that means that Gilchrist is better than Tendulkur in tests.
And Bevan is better than Tendulkur in one days.
Guess what stats came back and bit you right in the a$$.
Yes... if there is someone who has doubt and keep whinning that tendulkar is not better than Gilchrist in TEST then YES he will have to agree here and say Gichrist is Better in TEST matches.
But since we dont have disagareemnt here so its ok.
Anyway It was nice to know that You have to comeout 2 different guys from different form of cricket to prove that Someone is better than Sachin.
ha ha
So now we have a closure here.Latif is not the best.
Your last posts doesn’t make any sense.
So you do believe Gilchrist is better than Sachin
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif
As for wicket keepers, I can understand your frustrations, since India haven’t had a decent keeper in a decade, it doesn’t mean to take out frustrations over your neighbors.
Since Latif is from Pakistan, he is not the best, the great Indian theory.
Latif the best in the world.
Yep… RATRA is best wicketkeeper in world.Can you prove me wrong.
Id vouch for Moin Khan, unlike Latif, hes helped us win some exciting matches... Like the semi final 92. Latif never lights up a memorable fight where he helped us win a match in a chase...