Who had a simple wedding

hi,

just wondering who had a simple wedding in terms of number of people. photography, deco etc. Are simple wedding still celebrated? I am curious :slight_smile:

Re: Who had a simple wedding

^ if all teh grooms had their way... every wedding wud be a simple wedding.. :D

I like to think i had a simple wedding…i guess i just didnt know too much about what kind of lengha to get, what colour table centre pieces would be etc etc…just wanted to match the decorations according to my dress…

We spent about £60 for the hall…yes…it was a school hall…:smack: we lived very far from the city…
Prob about £5000 altogther…Alhumdullilah everything turned out to be perfect and everyone had an enjoyable time - which was the main thing for me!

oh nice in a school hall:D how interesting:chai: hehe

lol ami, my wedding is gonna be very simple. so much so that i don't even care what my dad decides to organise for it. people are asking me about what colour scheme etc i'm gonna have and i'm like i don't/can't give a crap! i will go insane if i try to do all that in my situation.
dunno about deco, definitely won't be a photographer.
i'm just happy to be finally getting married and am going to spend my own money on the things that i want the way *i want *(clothes, jewellery), so that no one can question me about my choices. it's not gonna be in the UK where all my friends and family i like are, so it doesn't make a difference to me what happens just as long as my own things are as i want.

sure, i could be upset if i started thinking about what everyone else is doing and getting for their weddings. and there are a lot ppl i know getting married this year, doing all the preps and getting everything they want for a perfect day. even the in-laws are being so nice, asking the brides what they want for the walima etc etc.
but you just gotta look at your own situation and thank God for what you have.

yeah there are.
My uncle had his nikah at the mosque (Mashallah), and a walima at his home. (islamically there is no such thing as ruksati because after the nikah the girl should go to her husband's house, walima is given by the groom's family the next day) (aunt's mehndi was at her place)
photos were taken by the family and they had them edited/enlarged later.
an hour long video was made out of the video pieces shot by different family members.
flowers were done by the dulhan's sister.
bidh done by the mother.
light music was played using an ipod's playlist in the house (uncle has really nice speakers) :)
food catered and service provided by a local desi restaurant
end result: peaceful, beautiful, classy..Mashallah!

nikah and done deal

good job! no walima??

of course but just simple walima..

yeah...same here! only with family and very close friends (the ones you see on a regular basis..not the ones you need to invite just to show off :)

btw im not married..just one day inshallah will have it like this

Inshallah!

i've been to quiet a few simple weddings ( in my extended family)............where the only highlight was nikah , rukhsati and valima , menu was too simple and allhamdulillah those couples r as happy as those who had lavish wedding ceremonies............... i personally believe that if one ( esp bride's family) have the money and means to have a lavish wedding party they should instead give that money ( in the form of cash itself or as some investment or a property or gold which i guess families usually do) to their daughter than spending too much just on just few outfits , makeup & photography etc
i believe it's good for a girl/ bride to have some bank balance or cash or investment at the time of wedding ( either she earned it or her parents gifted that to her) than to have expensive designer clothes in her closet and lavish portraits in her room

true! or instead of spending all that money on one girl, they can help a family who has a girl but cannot afford to wed her off.

.........u're right , but i meant to say was for a girl/ bride / daughter it's more important to have some money ( in any form) with her at the time of wedding which she might need or require later , and of coarse one should not forget the needy + there r lots of ways to help them

bilkul! since the bride and groom are just starting their life together..the last thing they need is an over expensed wedding..

and it's sad when even their parents and families overlooked that fact

Stoppit: As you may know I had the simplest wedding ever, I didnt even have a colour scheme that would match my lengah! I do thing about it sometimes that I wish I had nice decor etc but not much can be done now..

I just wanted to ask just curious why you would not want a professional photographer and dont really care about your colour scheme because alot of brides to be do really care about these little issues....

armali: did your uncle get married recently or in the past? Is he quite religious thats why he had simple wedding?