Who gave you Gurhty/Gurty?

So to those who don’t know, Gurty is a piece of some sweet usually a date which is chewed and applied to newborn’s palate.

I was given by my uncle.

For my kids i gave to me youngest son, my Mom to my daughter and my FIL to my elder son.

Re: Who gave you Gurhty/Gurty?

my Mom:)

grandmother, i was given a sip of chai, but usually its honey

Do you think you have some habits/personality of the person hwo gave you gurty? Its claimed at times that it happens.

:rotfl: chai??

:smiley: i guess mom may be.i dono iam not sure
or m aybe it was some aunti:bummer:

My dad

the word for starts isnt gurty .. but as far as i know its ghutty ... in punjabi .. a punjabi word ..

...i dunt remember .. i was too small to notice these things and no ones ever told if anyone even gave me a ghutty ..

punjabi has so many dialects, may be its ghutti in some areas, but i have always heard it Gurhty

my taya gave me gurrty..whats the importance of this ritual anyway? you're supposed to get that person's traits and habits? my brother got his gurty from my dada jaan and people say how my brother acts like him :)

i got mine from my dadi ami

My aunt gave it to me and I have given it to one of my nephews.

Icono, do you, as a medical doctor, think new born babies should be given gurty?

^I am not a pediatricians:wink:

Okay, in that case, I'll ask some pediatrician.

I asked that because I have heard that gurty can be harmful for new born babies.

As far as i know it's a sunnah to give some thing sweet to new born, so may be that's how this traditional is tagging along. I was told my nani jan gave me gurthi.

^ I didn't know it's a sunnah.

My Father gave it to me.

One thing I wanted to add...I don't know if it is in other families....It is said that character wise , the baby goes on the adult ji ki gurthy dii jati hai.
So guys what do you think??

I think meri dadi ny ghutti di thi mujhy:hmmm:
I am just like her really from my childhood ham nahi kehty log kehty hai:hehe:

It is called “Ghutti”. A honey based paste.

There is a chance that it may contain botulism bacteria spores. Only a chance though.

It helps clean newborn baby intestine and abdominal crapms by virtue of its high sugar/carbohyderate and viscosity.

Population Briefs | January 2005, Vol. 11, No. 1 | Safe Motherhood: Maternal Health Education Needed in Pakistan

Lagta hy tumhin kissi hakeem ny ghutti di thi:hmmm: