Alhamdo Lillah, Never supported him specially after he presented himself as the proud "CHELA" of Kamal Pasha Ata Turk. A true Stigma on the purpose for which Pakistan was created. Sadly, many progressive Pakistanies do not agree with that vision that Iqbal gave to the forthcoming nation.
My observation is that Musharraf's supporters are mostly the people who would never want Islamic Sharia be implemented in the land for the obvious reasons of watching failed mis-interpreted version of the system, unfortunately not knowing what the real Sharia actually is.
Real sharia, what a joke. Mullahs can't even operate under this mythical real sharia in their madrassahs.
ye iss mulk ki ittehaaz mein hai ke koi sadar ya prime minister apna ohda araam se nahi chorta.... i used to support mush lekin ..u know when the country doesnt need him anymore...why the heck is he not leaving...and let someone else come on the president seat?.. bezatti karwa ke zaroor jaana hai?..
I did support Musharraf. I am supporting Musharraf and i'd continue to do so till someone better than him emerges on the political scene. All you talking about democracy and free judicary, let me tell you some thing. Democracy in pakistan means keemay wala naan aur eik sprite ki bottle Ya 200 Rupay and Talking about Judicary, I bet you guys have never been to lower courts(Kuchary) and you never saw how this mafia (judges and lawyers alike) loot rank and file in Pakistan. what sort of tactics these people employ to extract money from general public. Free Judicary doesn't mean Chaudhary Iftikhar and his decisions on Musharraf candidacy rather judicary means providing justice to common people and I am sorry this is not a case in Pakistan and no CJ in Pakistan's history tried to make ammends. I know people who bribed High court judges and got decision in their favour (and I am not talking about stone ages but 2007). Talk about free media,give them some bucks and they are all yours. I am not saying everything Musharraf did was right , but most of you guys have surreal knowledge of ground realities in Pakistan. To give fair comments on Pakistan situation, YOU NEED TO BE IN PAKISTAN. you can't be fair to Pakistan when you see things through NYT and THE INDEPENDENT's eyes.
Pakistan Paindabad
1-Mush/Kiyani/or whoever else is leading army
2-BB
3-NS
4-Qazi Hussain
5-Maulana Diesel
6-Baitullah Mehsud
7-Immy
8-Mullah Radio
Pick your poison, and choose wisely.
My choice: Let's have a democratically elected leader; BB, NS, IK etc. even AH is acceptable to me (and I mean it) if people vote for him as their PM and let's have a strong independent judiciary to keep an eye on the loot khasoot by executive branch. I am not against army but I just can't stand army rule. yeh mulk army k liye nahin bana hai. enough is enough.
[mod]
guys we've recieved a complaint regarding "Maulana Diesel". As you are aware it is against forum policy to come up with nicknames for political leaders: we discourage the use of creative words like busharraf, ganja, variations of bhutto etc. Maulana Diesel is no different.
I was gonna take the time to verbally warn everyone whos been using it in the recent past but the list included Khehkeshan, Captain1, PCG, Farid, e33or, Reza Pehlavi.
Since the usage is pretty prevalent, Im asking everyone to stop using the nick on the forum instead of using the verbal warning system. Please refer to everyone by the names on their resume.
there is a fatalism about the Musharraf era that I find fascinating. The origin is in dictatorship, the end seems inexorably destined to be so too. The institutions created, media, credible judiciary, which seemed to defy the expected behaviour of an absolute ruler, couldnt resist this fatal urge of Musharraf, were swept away in his path towards becoming what he has always been: a generic, textbook, photocopied from the template, absolute-power seeking dictator.
used to support him, dont now.
It's not just about Mush's rule. We are living in an era of suicide bombing, so of course there will be fatalism in people's words. Iraq and Afghanistan were not being ruled by Musharraf, but there is fatalism there like in no other place.
Never supported the dictator, but did not really care if he remains or goes, till May 12. That was the unpardonable sin he comitted, by allowing 2 bit ghundas to kll people in cold blood and then bragging that people have shown his support for him.
and who is doing this suicide bombing???? I think you are wise enough to know who is harbouring and nourishing them. This is made concrete with Laal Masjid Saga, how Aijaz ul Haq and Shujaat played their dubious roles from different sides of the argument. One governemnt; Two faces. Hundreds of dead bodies included several millitary personal. No mines or interconnected basements found. The brothers were used by ISI at the right time. They have done it before several times, its no news.
Musharraf is a failure as an Army Genral, from Kargil to Waziristan to Swat.
Gen. Niazi will be happy to know someone beating him on incompetency.
Musharraf is pathetic when it comes to respecting law. First ousted an elected PM (no matter how corrupt he was) imposed first PCO, then LFO (laughable ordinance), jailed NS then expelling in a deal drama, prosecuting dozens of people with corruption in NS, punished many and then 4 years later NRO to forgive everyone (only because he was in trouble). This shows that each and everything he has done was to save himself. On Kargil failure he was about to be resticated on Oct 12, 1999. It was not Pakistani people's demand to rage a foolish war without any plan to withstand the consequences. Poor planner and ghatiya administrator.
I am sure there are still elements within the ISI and army who have soft spot with terrorists, just like Imran Khan type people have soft spot for them. But Musharraf is the only one who has actually done something against these elements. Maybe he has not been 100% successful, but whenever he tries to take action against terrorists like in lal masjid case, the usual detractors and terrorist collaborators come out and accuse him of being an american agent or playing a double game. Just like you are right now, doubting anyone who takes action against the terrorist suicide bombers.
Pakistanis love conspiracy theories, that is why even today many believe their were no weapons in lal masjid, 1,000 female students were killed by army and all the army soldiers who went in were shia chanting ya ali madad, and the reason there were army causalities was because angels where fighting on the side of lal masjid terrorists.
^ and i suppose u speak for 'those' pakistani theorists?!...gimme a break....
u couldn't possibly speak for the majority of pakistan because you contradict urself often! the majority is against musharraf and his actions, but where do u stand?....u may however say 'we the few, the elite' don't believe in those 'theories' majority of the nation goes along with, and might be more believeable.
I'm all for terror-elimination, but the fact of the matter is, the establishment let them grow to the point they did, how did those weapons get in there? they're located within the capital...i mean c'mooonnnnn...u can't be biased when u place the fault...the fault lies across the board. not just a select group of people.
sometimes i wonder what will u pro-musharraf people do when he's not around....who will u turn to blame or admire for that matter. will u still be around to sing his praises no matter how disgraceful of a departure he gets....
hmmm makes one think!!!
I don't really care if mush goes or not (he is not an immortal), as long as the next in line (kayani or whoever) continues to tackle terrorists head on.
And I speak for the sane realists in Pakistan who don't want Pakistan to turn into Afghanistan or Iraq. I sure hope people like me are in the majority.
Never supported him. His Kargil failure was more than enough to understand his abilities.
And then the way he took over the govt - a true leader doesn't do things like that.
sometimes i wonder what will u pro-musharraf people do when he's not around....who will u turn to blame or admire for that matter. will u still be around to sing his praises no matter how disgraceful of a departure he gets....
hmmm makes one think!!!
Most people worship the rising sun " chartay suraj ko salam". These people, (Q-League, MQM and other hidden and open allies of Musharaf) would be seen with some other rising General or power, who can throw some to them... it won't surprise me if tommorrow they turn against Weak & Dying Musharaf...to support some one stronger... this is what we call Lotay.
Whoever supports killing the terrorist murderers has my support. Pakistan is more important than your petty politics.