who else used to support Musharraf?

I was an ardent musharraf supporter. Without listing his positive contributions to pakistan (which I am sure can be found here in this forum), I will list only those incidents and my subsequent feelings which slowly but surely changed my mind and heart towards him.

• 9th March 2007. Reference against CJP (Oh God what stupid thing has he done)

• 12th May 2007 (Karachi violence and no mention of the dead the same day in his speech (I cannot believe he was this insensitive, all respect gone)

• 5th or 6th Aug 2007: Then secret meeting with bb (He has lost it, totally going back on his words, should leave)

• 3rd Nov 2007: Emergency (All your good work down the drain General, leave now and let us remember you as a dignified leader and not a coward who hid behind lame excuses to cling on to his power)

I pray to Allah that someday I am forced to go back on these words I wrote but truly and sadly I cannot see it happening in near future

2 Likes

Re: who else used to support Musharraf?

12th May was the decider. I have been backing him for the last 7 years, but this year he made everything worse as ever. I'm no more happy with the way he is representing our Country. We need democracy asap. More over I have learnt one thing for sure:
Never to trust a dictator. Jitna bhi sincer lage, never trust one.

My self biggest suppoter of mush till about 9-10 months ago.
Every thing he did/said was making sense till usa attaked with in pakistan's area killing pakistani citizens.
And from there every thing changed, slowly but It did change for sure.
I guess about that time things started slipping out of mush's hand and he started acting like as if he was getting his planning done in pantagon.

Count me in. I admired his anti-corruption initiatives in 2000-2002 and I thought finally a sincere leader (even though in uniform) has emerged who will pull out our country from bankcrupcy. Full 100% support.

Here it is how it went down.......

Now Sept 11, 2001, his decision within 4 hours of incident to support US blindly.

2002 election and government forming, same old crap united under another dictators All New PML and other corrupt factions of major parties.

2004 - The AQ Khan saga and way he was made escape goat. Shaukat Aziz, Tareen and others started opening their bags for loot.

2005 - Mukhtaraan Mai and another lady doctor's rape by kameena fauji in Quetta, Mush came out from his skin with complete kameenapun defending his fauji and the statement he made to the western media "who ever want assylum in westen countries, claims being raped in Pakistan: Only a bast@rd can say that about fellow countrywomen. &&^^$$^^&*

2004-06 The PTCL, Habib Bank and Steel Mills yard sale in the name of privatization. They way they sold them (to their dearest bidders from Gulf and other countries) and the price they were sold at. Incase of Steel Mills it was 10% price mashallah. Imagine the kickbacks for the remaining 90% if the gang was able to execute the deal. Damn Ifti and journalists like Shahid Masood, they popped the baloon. KSE crash of 3800 points in a week and loss of Rs. 120B of Pakistanis. Yet some ppl were able to do quick profit, guess who. Mush kept his eyes closed even when complained about it.

2007 - March 9 and 13, biggest mistake, taught the right lesson by SC. Greatest achievement by any SC in sub-continent when a dictator was made to sweat his teeth. Imagine a General with 5 of his top brass hooligans shouting at a judge and he refuses to resign. Bravo!!!!!

May 12 - both Mush and MQM exposed and their blood relationship. Selfish leadership of Pakistan was clapping behind the bullet proof stage in Islamabad, calling it the day of victory where few hours ago there were 42 people dead in Karachi. Its like nothing happened. Might is right message to the nation. Hara.....z..

Laal Masjid drama, staged and used at the right time by Aijazul Haq and Chaudry saab supported by ISI. The whole buildup since mid January was parralled to big events that followed. It was all started for October presdential elections.

Nov 3, hit the rock bottom. A president claiming the failure of his own government and imposing emergency, going besrek after SC, lawyers and media. He scratched and spat at the whole image that he created of himself in first three years. His me me and me is as bad as Benazir Zardari and Not so Sharief brotherns. Brutality at its best.

Now going further one step and shutting down Pak media globally. This is some out of this world achievements that no other dictator could ever think of.

His failure to plan a strategy for Pakistan to deal with Taliban and FATA locals for a long term solution, instead of making promises to both sides of the conflict.

So that left me with 0% support for Musharraf and pray to Allah that he sees worse end than Bhutto and Zia.

keeray parein jism mein aur phatay kapron mein shehron ki sarkon per mara mara phiray aur bachay patthar marein isko. Ameen.

2 Likes

My biggest prob with Musharaf was May 12th, where he unleashed his MQM goons in Karachi upon innocent people... All the while celebrating in Islamabad...

His letting the Lal Masjid Badmash get away with whatever they wanted for months on end...

And finally, his emergency, the banning of free media and the imposition of the Army on another state institution...

I hope these are the last days of this dictator... But I also hope that upon his dismisal, Pakistanis continue their struggle for a free media and judiciary...

I used to support him too! But he has alienated the very segment that supported him...i.e the liberal section of society.

^ so true. This time along, its not the ghareeb people doing jalaao-ghiraao, but the very liberal and moderate circles of our society and mostly highly educated. Judiciary, Media and Students.

Sure I supported him once.

^ same here

but that is a lesson for everyone, the politicians and the public alike - when these dictators (no matter how sincere and straight forward they may appear at the time) throw away an elected leader they don't just come in for a few days or a few months. They are here to stay for a good decade or so. So in future we as a nation shall be well-advised and wise enough to rise and oppose them strongly on the very first day they break the constitution lekin lagta hai hum mein say kuch logon ka zameer uss waqt mar jata hai.

And these military dictators they all have one thing in common, they all love their kursi and will do anything to cling on to power.

I too feel the same. But then sometimes i think about it and think maybe it's not ALL his fault, most maybe yes, but some of the miscredit has to go to the people around him as well who advised him all along.
Yes he has to be held accountable, yes he should be the focus of the anti-present and all, but lets include some other names within the envelope as well like Chaudhries and Zia's son Haq, as well as the heads of current ISI.
It's not just a one man game, neither a one-man fault. When he came into power, it was with the help of many i'm sure. Including ISI, Army obviously, and some other unrevealed sources.
I wish he would just realize that he's setting himself up to be one of the most hated men in the nation today. He needs to saturate his surroundings and clear the atmosphere of all this hatred and uncertainty and make the next few decision of the sort that don't enrage public any further. When and if he's taken out of the office by force or otherwise, all of his govt. pals are gonna turn their back on him quicker than a wind blow. If they could leave their previous parties to join him, they're candid for doing it again as long as they get to be a part of the action.
I dislike BB, NS as well.
The only person that's free of political and corruptive taint right now is Imran Khan but pity that he too doesn't have the politically correct alliance. Mullahs are the biggest bigeots on the scene right now. He would much rather have his own standing based on his personal accomplishments that speak volumes about his sincerity. He can easily be credited with revolutionizing the healthcare system for Pakistan by building from scratch with his own efforts, and financial proceedings from sources such as charity, the ONLY free cancer hospital. While the other ministers, did very little out of the govt. alloted budgets and lived luxuriously. Mullahs hang around in Land Cruisers with body guards, while he lives the life of an ordinary man.
I, although might be the only one, would definately give a two-thumbs up for Imran to be nominated for PM, if the circumstances arise as such and he is given a fair and real opportunity. I just wish he'd reorganize his party, and expand with the help of public like wildfire and cleanse the society, political and social of all the injustice. Hence living upto the name of his party.

Down with Musharraf's policies and his alliances!

I felt *dal mai kaala *when Musharraf overthrew Nawaz Sharif, Nawaz Sharif was bad but that didn't warrant overthrowing but I started to support him for his anti-corruption and other promises. The moment he let Nawaz Sharif go out I knew he is just another corrupt ruler and will screw the nation like previous dictators of past. And here we are today. For all of you above... der ayad durust ayad, its never too late.

You know it should be mandatory for evey one to post in this thread.
Because we all exactly felt/feel same about him.
Once he was every ones hero.

Alhamdo Lillah, Never supported him specially after he presented himself as the proud "CHELA" of Kamal Pasha Ata Turk. A true Stigma on the purpose for which Pakistan was created. Sadly, many progressive Pakistanies do not agree with that vision that Iqbal gave to the forthcoming nation.

My observation is that Musharraf's supporters are mostly the people who would never want Islamic Sharia be implemented in the land for the obvious reasons of watching failed mis-interpreted version of the system, unfortunately not knowing what the real Sharia actually is.

^ interesting. I love to talk about it more.
Now I am going to sleep.
Shab kheer every one.

teggy.........Imran just learned in last 6 weeks that these Mullah are B team of ISI and nothing else. And in May about MQM. They breath, eat, sleep and speak only when are told. Look at the history post 1971 and you would find, how much damage these religious and racial goons have done to the country. On the other hand the political parties (BB/NS) also looted the country like there is no tomorrow.

2 Likes

i wish Pakistan recovers and soars like it was meant to, soon enough!

^ smooth bhai, lets create a separate for this particular issue on what should be done, what do you say? let people come here and tell about their change of heart for Mushy.

^that's a good idea actually....

I second that, let me do it.

I never supported Mush, but now I do because I see what his opponents are made of. From feudalism supporters to terrorism supporters, that is the basis of the anti-mush element.