Who do you think?

A slightly different question from the rebuilding process thread already active in KK.

With Rashid to retire in maybe a year or two’s time and so would Inzi, who do you think from the current squad is capable of leading the Pakistani side. Is there a leader out there from the current youngsters?

If not, what is the solution.

Please do not include players like Moin or other past players as they will not be available for the next world cup.

The only potential captains I see are Youhanna or Younis Khan.

Youhanna seems a bit shy and withdrawn type of person, could he lead the team aggressively?

Do you know of anyone in the curent squad who has leadership qualities or another player who is currently not in the squad but could be a potential captain?

I feel we are going to face a captaincy problem very soon.

shoaib malik

I will defintelely vote for Younis khan; he has a strong personality, a good communicator and seems to understand the game well.

It should be either Younis Khan or Abdul Razzaq. Shoaib Malik will have to wait and prove/establish himself further. Yousuf Youhanna does not seem to have captain material.

Wasn't Rashid Latif dubbed as a very shy person before his issues with match fixing.
Just because one seems to be quite, and doesn't run his mouth like others doesn't mean he is shy.
Seriously I think Rashid has the ability to play till 2007, he is 34 years of age now, he will be 38, many players in the past have played cricket @ 38+.
I would say Razzaq is the likely candidate.

Razzaq certainly has more experience and has also played under captains like Wasim Akram, Moin Khan who did a good job. He must have learnt something from these guys. bringing back Moin Khan after Rashid is done could be a good decision but only if Moin is capable of playing till the next world cup. Moin waws a good captain as we worked together with waseem akram, moin has also played under imran khan. The next captain we have should carry on till the world cup if the team is to succeed. Younis Khan seems to be a possible candidate.
Umair, Rashid had retired after the world cup and he had retired from test cricket before the world cup. He seems to be tired now and with his neck n back injuries, he wont be able to carry on till 2007. They persuaded him to come out of retirement to lead pakistan for a year!!

razzaq younis khan or yousaf youhana

*Originally posted by waleed: *
razzaq younis khan or yousaf youhana
Sir, aap nay tau aik hi post mein mehfil loot li. Koi bach giya ho tau uss ko bhi iss list mein daal daiatay hein.

Experts agree that Younis Khan has made immense improvements as a cricketer. I believe if Younis Khan starts scoring a little more consistently then there will be no1 better than him to lead Pakistan for long term period.

Being a captain who is a batsmen has TWO major benefits:

1) Some1 can lead the way for our batting, which is obviously our major area of concern.

2) Batsmen are less prone to injuries and have long career as compared to a fastie, take an example of Steven Waugh.

Personally there is nothing wrong with Yonis Khan too. He has extremely good personal history with no scandals etc (ignore inzi chasing him during a practice soccer game!). PLUS he is known for his hard work, determination and professional attitude.

so go YONIS KHAN!

*Originally posted by Pathan Bhai: *
Experts agree that Younis Khan has made immense improvements as a cricketer. I believe if Younis Khan starts scoring a little more consistently then there will be no1 better than him to lead Pakistan for long term period.

Being a captain who is a batsmen has TWO major benefits:

1) Some1 can lead the way for our batting, which is obviously our major area of concern.

2) Batsmen are less prone to injuries and have long career as compared to a fastie, take an example of Steven Waugh.

Personally there is nothing wrong with Yonis Khan too. He has extremely good personal history with no scandals etc (ignore inzi chasing him during a practice soccer game!). PLUS he is known for his hard work, determination and professional attitude.

so go YONIS KHAN!

Younis Khan has yet to mature as a batsmen, he doesn't have the ability to play a long inning, hence he has no one day century to his name.
His brawl with Inzi shows how immature this guy is.
BTW - Imran Khan, a fast bowler played cricket till his 40s.

i think i have clearly stated that Younis Khan is the best choice if he starts scoring more 'consistently'.

As for yr nominee, I dont even want to start analyzing Razzler's performance. He is yet to even confirm his place in the test side. Infact he is not good enough to make the test side, let alone lead it. He is an immensely talented player but him leading a test side is a joke.

But obviously any1 but you cant be wrong coz 9 out of the 10 times u act as if u r RICHIE BENAUD's bhateeja or something!

lastly, Rashid playing till he is 38 is should be the joke of this century. He'd have to be taken away from the field on strature if he do so.

PS: Imran Khan played last years of his career mainly as a batter. later

*Originally posted by KAKA-ATOM-BUM: *
shoaib malik

I know your second choice is Shahid Afridi!!! :)

Shoaib Malik is too Young, first he needs to improve this game, play at least 20 test matches before he can be consider for Captaincy.

I personally think Younis Khan will be perfect candidate for captaincy; he has enough experience to become a good captain.

As for yr nominee, I dont even want to start analyzing Razzler's performance. He is yet to even confirm his place in the test side. Infact he is not good enough to make the test side, let alone lead it. He is an immensely talented player but him leading a test side is a joke.

You really don't have to be the best player in the team to lead a side, one of the main requirements of a captain is one's mental toughness, Razzaq is a laid back person, no matter how many times you hit for a boundry, he will keep his cool and i agree the fact that he is mediocor batsman and a bowler, but a decent allrounder, who can make a very good captain compared to others in the team.

lastly, Rashid playing till he is 38 is should be the joke of this century. He'd have to be taken away from the field on strature if he do so.

Why not, Steve Waugh, Ranatunga, Alec Stewart, Aravinda de Silva, Imran Khan and many other players have done it, why not him.

2ndly, Razzler dada ki team mein jaggan nahee aur tum salay captain banwa rahay ho ossay.

Rashler bhai ki huddi pasli thukki howe hay, wo kahan say 38 saal tak chalay ga?

and btw Younis Khan karachi ka londa hay! support karo ossay.......

*Originally posted by Pathan Bhai: *

2ndly, Razzler dada ki team mein jaggan nahee aur tum salay captain banwa rahay ho ossay.

Rashler bhai ki huddi pasli thukki howe hay, wo kahan say 38 saal tak chalay ga?

and btw Younis Khan karachi ka londa hay! support karo ossay.......

Even Younis Khan doesn't have his place guarenteed.
He has been one of the better Paki batsman, but by no means, he is a consistent.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

He has been one of the better Paki batsman.......

Undhoon mein kaana hee raja banta hay meri jaan.

KEY
kaana = Younis Khan

Re: Who do you think?

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Please do not include players like Moin or other past players as they will not be available for the next world cup.

If you go by age ehsan, I think Moin Khan(currently age of 32 or 33) is the best choice for skipper & wickek-keeper after Rashid Latif. Experience makes you cautious. Do Yousuf Youhana and Younis Khan have any kind of experience leading the domestic Cricket team of Pakistan? Do they? Yoyo is now VC of Pakistan, still struggling with his batting. Younis Khan has yet to become mature on batting level. I am not ruling out Yousuf Youhana and Younis Khan as a contender of future Pakistan's skipper. Yes, both of them can be but they are not mature to deal the pressure of Captaincy as a domestic skipper, therefore, I don't believe, they can change things around on the International Level. Hey, I could be wrong but it's just that I don't wanna see Pakistan going through the batch of England and South Africa where you got experience players getting tips from the young players...D-U-H....

Moin Khan has been a skipper of Pakistan, though, Pakistan lost series on the home soil against Zimbabwe, Sri Lanka and England and that was the downfall of him but that certainly doesn't disqualified Moin Khan to lead the side again.

I don't know whether you follow domestic Cricket of Pakistan or not but I do. In between 6-8 months, Moin Khan has led domestic team PIA which has won the NBP Patron's Cup this year; and year before PIA team were the runners-up in the Ramadan Cup. Also, Moin Khan has been in a position of WC Final 92(as a Winner) and WC Final 99(as a Loser), therefore, he has a lot of experience what goes behind the stumps and on the middle of field.

The Game Responds:

*Shoaib Akhtar. I would have said Saqlain Mushtaq two years ago but his performance has been horribly inconsistent since then(Hopefully he will be back with a bang); he would make a very good captain in my book. Youhanna's body language on the field doesn't say anything to convince me that he would make a good captain. People, That Is All.*

I would say if Younis Khan improves his batting a bit and becomes more consistent, he would be Pakistan's next captain.

u,ll all see...

shoaib malik is definitely a captain of the future. i,m not saying make him the captain next yr. ofcourse he has to keep playing and learning,,, but looking at him play,, i can feel that hes one of the future greats in the making.

I also sorta agree with the game.
In my opinion,, a captain shud have that certain ooomph too,, which currently, only shoaib akhtar has. If he can behave himself a little and shut his trap,,, i rekcon he could be a good captain too... I also think if hes made captain,, he would probably put in extra effort just to be above the rest,,,, hes the sorta guy who wants to get noticed.
Really,, it all depends upon these players' performances AND,,, how long latif stays as captain.
I wouldv said razzak,,, but hes been pretty dissapointing for quite some time now.