Who buys all this strange stuff at desi grocery stores?

Re: Who buys all this strange stuff at desi grocery stores?

Reasons i go to the desi grocery store

• Slims
  • Pakola
  • Take-out chicken biryani / kebabs/ spring rolls / samosay / pakoray
  • Stand in the soap and toothpaste aisle immerse myself in the desiness of it all. Close my eyes and get transported back to karachi.
  • Hajmola ginger candy.
  • Peek Freans biscuits.
  • LU biscuits.
  • Ahmed's jams jellys and marmalades.
  • National achaar (pickled stuff).
  • Nimco (assorted dry fruit)
  • Pista Kulfi
  • Halal meat
  • Halal cheese slices
  • Al-Safa halal Beef Burgers / Chicken cutlets / popcorn chicken
  • Phone cards for people at home calling Pakistan
  • Readymade chapaati's Sincerely, Captain Lota

Captain Lota Bhai,

If I had to make a list like yours, Honestly it would not be any different than yours, except that you might have to replace Karachi with Bombay and Pakistan with India:p

Aejaz

cutting and pasting Lota's list into her own grocery list

Pakola :yummy:

I agree with the author of the thread, we probably have better soaps here than lux and rims.

I believe in tibet snow :snooty:

Oh Ma Gowd! Are you Totally kidding! I went nuts seeing all those pakaged Aloo kay parata (home made style) Fulka (lol...chapatis) and square paratas at this Dundas st desi grocery store in Saga. Man! Did I get rotis or what! I filled up my car with it. Why bother making them when u can buy 'soooo home made type' from a cool desi store. Oh and I'm not that keen on going to desi stores. But walking in any place at mississauga I was like, "Okay maybe this dude/dudet is a guppy." I had so much fun seeing old desi nani amas and aba's at the store. It was really something! Me grinning through and through while shapping!

Btw, the funniest is "Fair and Lovely" all over the place. and those square kapray dhonay walay "Lado sabun" hehe...! Do ppl really wash clothes with their hands using that soday say bhara howa soap oh and Life bouy wo bhi wo sorkh wala :D I love desi stores. I'm always grinning there :D Its like Joke forum say desi grocery aisle are funnier for me to get away for a 'laughter break'

I go there because you can't find Pakola anywhere else. Another reason is under the counter, cheap ciggs. :D

oh I want to eat ding dong too,,, and kabli pan masala??? none of the desi stores in my area have it :(

[EMAIL="lol@devilicious"]lol@devilicious

Pure and simple bewakoofi. Meri saans jab yahan rahati thi tab woh even aspirin India ka khareedti thi, even if it costed 4 times as much as Equate brand from Wal-mart.

My rule is "jaisa des waisa bhes". I dont buy anything desi when I am out of PK. I only bought masalay from desi stores when I was living in Canada, I even when to Maple Lodge Farm to buy meat ( mostly chicken in bulk) for montly usage. Didn't bother buying chicken from meat shops.

5abi there was a time when the Arab youths used Gripe water to get slighlty "Tun", it has some alcohol in it, but then the Saudi govt found out and stopped importing it from Pk, prolly that's why you are addicted to the stuff... tun honay ka asaan aur Halal tareeka.