Who buys all this strange stuff at desi grocery stores?

Re: Who buys all this strange stuff at desi grocery stores?

dettol is sold in practically all supermarkets in the UK

I guess you dont get it in the US?

execuse me?

daizy.. tastes nice?? fungus, as ironic as this is, dont take hre up on that.

And yea, its sold everywhere, its an antibacterial :-/

hahahahaha. He’s chehring you :blush:

execute you or excuse you?

Ding Dong is a very good chewing gum
Check it here

who is chering who?

I was kidding, it sounded very funny the way the quote said "ding dong" and he was all "excuse me".

Having explained it - it was prolly funnier in my head :-/

awwww cutie pattootie ding dong wali billi!!! :blush:

i wish they had slims here too…

Gripewater! I love that stuff :k:

some of the "imported" stuff is just different, even if brands are the same. For the 'aslee' Lipton dee Chaa... Walmart just doesn't cut it.

yeah i was about to say, Dettol is very commonly used here.

I like the Sandalwood soap from desi stores.

A lot of ppl are also conerned about use of animal fat, gelatin in various products so I guess for them buying from a desi store would be ideal instead of going thru lists of kosher and non-kosher products.

that water rocks :slight_smile:

i buy hot cheetos from desi stores, other stores dont have um or are out of stock

Ok, I take that back. I do on occasion buy some pan.

hmm lets look at this matter from a different point of view shall we?

Its not just about old ppl from back home who moved here and miss Pakistan, there is sumthing else in this too. I would prefer to go to a desi Store and buy knore noddles made in Pakistan then going to wiatrose or M&S, EVEN if it costs me a bit extra. You may think I am nuts but the fact is that THAT product was imported from Pakistan and a Pakistani is getting paid for it at the end of the chain. Why would I pay 5p to sum1 in Dorset and not pay 5 Ruppee to sum1 in Gujranwala to buy sumthing to eat.
I do shopping from Desi Stores and I dun feel ashamed. If you meet any Korean, Chinese or even South Africans and Aussies then you will know that THEY too buy stuff from THIER cultural shops whenever they can.

they prolly need 2 bottles to clean your stomach.. kitna khate ho aur pata nahe kithey janda hai

**Why would anyone buy that hideous stuff called DETTOL. The bottle and its label freaks me out.
Not only desis’ buy Dettol…it’s an antiseptic that everyone uses commonly in England…i think it’s even originally from there.

**And then those big ass daighchaaz and mechanically defunct tawwas! Desis are weird people.

**Sorry? Wot’s that :confused:

uncle_falkner, ur rite that’s y i said some ppl do it to support their country…a lot of us here do that :slight_smile:

Yeah Dettol is v.common in UK. Desi grocery stores are amazing... I have always been intrigued by all the weird products like Hajmola, Chavanprash and Vicco Vajaranti!

hahhaa... this thread is hilarious. you lot find the weirdest things to talk about. quite a refereshing change from the monotonous male bashing threads by pcg in life and health.

i go to the desi store to get meat. every now and then shan masala. but the place reeks.

shweetdreams, ur into fobs who still got their black leather jacket from back home and a oily head to go with it... arent u.

mehnazq, why dont u go to a pakistani store... giving indians binnis????? and u calling shweetdreams besharam.