Which is more importat? What the man you marry does for a living or his family?

Re: Which is more importat? What the man you marry does for a living or his family?

hai re meri qismat phooooteee :frowning:
mera kya hogaa kaliyaa?:teary1:

no problem…im going to karachi in a few days wahaan jaa ker khana pakana aur sharmana dono seekh loongee :slight_smile:

Re: Which is more importat? What the man you marry does for a living or his family?

^ When r u leaving? :(

You’d better be back by the guppy meet :mad:

^ HOw come u dint invite me? :(

i want a wife whos da only daughter of some millionaire dude! :)

Laalchi :nahnah:

Bad idea… spoilt rich girl, always used to getting what she wants…

The ideal girls should be from the same or lower socioeconomic group, so what she expects you to provide and what you are capable of providing are the same.

i will be living with the guy.

Its extremely important what he does for living. His family shouldnt matter much- yeah my parents wont give my hand to any family.

i think i speak for all the girls...here

I agree with you I mean your not marrying his parents, but I guess to some its this huge deal.

you know the more i read these threads the more I thank Allah for giving me a lovely saathi for my life..

I would give equal importance to both, PLUS I would also wanna look at parents' education. I think it makes a lot of difference on the way he was raised and his mentality.... but at the end of the day its still the guy that matters the most !!

Looking at the family background is important but not to the extent that you refuse a totally acceptable guy/gal based on how much money that person's family makes or what professions his/her parents belong to. What matters is how they carry themselves within society, are they decent human beings and decent muslims in most of our cases. do they live an extravagant life even though they cant afford it or they live modestly even though they can afford extravagance? Show offs?
And then finally and most importantly what matters is the guy and girl getting married. It does not maater if someone comes from a dysfunctional family as long as that person realises and accepts the fact that their family is dysfunctional and they are willing to provide a life for their spouse where the dysfunctional family doesnt get to have a say in their life. Also, can the ugy provide a good living to his wife? Can the girl be a good wife? And there are a lot of guys and girls out there who are actually just looking to get out of their dysfunctional families.
Neither of my parents have college degrees. My mother hasnt even been to high school. Yet she is one of the smartest ppl I know. My father chose not to go to college yet provides us with a roof on our head, food on the table and is sending three kids to college. Alhamdolillah/Mashallah. And if God forbid, I ever hear that some people said that we wont marry in this family bcoz the dad isnt this that and mom isnt this that, I would truly go shoot them. But better off without those kind of ppl then with them.
Some of the replies in this thread have totally pissed me off.

^ Well, the guys job n level of education is important..my mother never went to college , but my dad was super educated n stuff.. but i think it is very superficial to look at what ALLLLL his family (and her family) does..i’ve heard its worse for a grls reputation to have some problem in the family but who knows.. But in all i don’t think its a bad idea to look at someone’s education/job, it is mportant i think..
Theres thsi grl at the gym whos lookin for a grl for her cousin.. long story short, she spoke t my dad, n my dad didnt like anythin abt him..he wanted to settle in America but didnt have much of an education, and was too old, not to mention youngest of 5 brothers (joint family system :bummer: ) so my parents vetoed that right away.. :halo:
But I would really really really really really really really really really get pissed if someone vetoed me because they thot my mom wasn’t educated enough or htat my dad ran a chicken farm, if someone ever said that, I wouldn’t hold back, i’d give em tons of galiyan tht ghatiya ppl like that deserve :mad:

Oh yeah I definitely believe in looking at the guy and girl who are actually getting married. Good education, stable income etc count....I just dont understand the whole splitting hairs business.

All valid points id say. :D

Aren't these stories just crazy?