Re: Which calender system is Islamic?
Duplicate posting deleted
Re: Which calender system is Islamic? my Correspondence with Dr. Israr People
I would like to share my correspondence with Dr. Israr Ahmed and his Tanzeem people on the subject of lunar calendar.
10 Aug 2006
Salamun Alaikum,
I have sent a number of emails for DR. Israr Ahmed relating to various topics but I didnt receive any reply. Anyway I take the opportunity to submit you a question relating to the above mentioned subject. Can you refer any Quranic Ayat which leads to sighting of moon for the purpose of starting a month or calculation of count of days & years.
Regards
DanishJu
15-08-06
Bismilla hir rehma nirrahim
Assalam o alikum wa rehmatullah
Respected brother,
I pray to Allah Subhanao wa Ta’ala that this mail finds u in the best of your health and Eiman alongwith your family.
Pl. refer following ayat
They ask you (O Muhammad SAW) about the new moons. Say: These are signs to mark fixed periods of time for mankind and for the pilgrimage. It is not Al-Birr (piety, righteousness, etc.) that you enter the houses from the back but Al-Birr (is the quality of the one) who fears Allah. So enter houses through their proper doors, and fear Allah that you may be successful.
سورة البقرة, Al-Baqara, Chapter #2](2. Al-Baqara - سورة البقرة - ( The Cow ) - Read Quran القران الكريم in English translation by Mohsin Khan), Verse #189](2. Al-Baqara - سورة البقرة - ( The Cow ) - Read Quran القران الكريم in English translation by Mohsin Khan))
Dear brother in Islam, Tanzeem-e-Islami is an organization working for the supremacy of Allah (SWT) in the politico-socio-economic dimensions in the light of the Quran and Sunnah (i.e. seerat; the way adopted and advised by Hazrat Muhammad SAW). We request you to read our literature thru following link
http://www.tanzeem.org/online/ebooks/index.asp](http://www.tanzeem.org/online/ebooks/index.asp)
and listen our audios on different topics thru following link
http://www.tanzeem.org/broadcast/audio/audio.asp](http://www.tanzeem.org/broadcast/audio/audio.asp)
and favouring us with your valuable observations and feed back. (jazakAllah)
If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us anytime.
15/8/06
Salam,
Can you just tell me what relation has The Hajj with the ‘New Moons’. Hajj is performed on 9th of ZilHajj whereas new moon that is crescent is only either the first moon or the last that occur before Dawn of 26th, 27th or 28th. Why Allah S.W.T. didn’t send this ayat with relation to Ramazan or Eid?
Regards
DanishJu
18-08-2006
Respected brother,
The ayat is in the context of Haj so that 9th of the Zil Haj can b counted properly as the Muslims from whole world would gather at one place.
Wassalam o alaikum
Atif Imad
18-08-2006
Salamum alaikum,
That’s what I have mentioned that this ayat is in relation to the Hajj and crescent or new moon (or ‘Hilal’ in arabic) has no relation to the Haj which is performed near Full moon (or Badar in arabic). So why people have asked from The Prophet S.a.w.a.w. regarding the ‘Ahillah’ in context with the Hajj instead of Ramazan or Fitr? And if peoples have asked an irrelevant question than why Allah S.W.T. didn’t rectify them?
Further, can you tell me what relation ‘Ahillah’ has with the
وَلَيْسَ الْبِرُّ بِأَنْ تَأْتُوْاْ الْبُيُوتَ مِن ظُهُورِهَا وَلَـكِنَّ الْبِرَّ مَنِ اتَّقَى وَأْتُواْ الْبُيُوتَ مِنْ أَبْوَابِهَا وَاتَّقُواْ اللّهَ لَعَلَّكُمْ تُفْلِحُونَ
“It is not Al-Birr (piety, righteousness, etc.) that you enter the houses from the back but Al-Birr (is the quality of the one) who fears Allah. So enter houses through their proper doors, and fear Allah that you may be successful”. Do you really think comming from the back doors in the houses is a sin. and if it is, even than what relation it has with the Ahillah or Hajj?
Regards
DanishJu
28/8/06
Assalam o alikum wa rehmatulla
Respected brother,
“They ask you concerning the new moons. Say: they are but signs to mark fixed periods of time in the affairs of men and for pilgrimage.”
In Arabs different kinds of superstitions and customs were connected with the phases of the moon. They also used to perform some superstitious practices and rituals as they thought that the different phases of the moon affected their fortunes. Therefore, the Arabs questioned the Prophet (SAW) about them. Allah (SWT informed them that these phases of the moon are nothing but a calendar which helps regulate some acts of worship e.g. calculating the (i.e. the period of time for a divorced woman) and fixing the time for Hajj (Pilgrimage). It is no virtue if you enter your houses from the back.” Another of their superstitious customs was that the Arabs, after putting the ‘Ihram’ did not enter their houses through the regular doors, but used back entrances to get into their abodes and thought they were doing a righteous deed But Allah (SWT) warned them that your superstitious beliefs have nothing to do with virtue. Instead “it is virtue if you fear Allah (SWT).” i.e. the real virtue is that you follow what Allah (SWT) has commanded you to do. And Allah (SWT) says: “Enter houses through the proper doors and fear Allah (SWT) that you may succeed and prosper.” This ayah puts an end to the false belief of entering the dwellings from the back side when in a state of Ihram
30-08-06
Salamun alaikum,
I again ask you to why Allah SWT did not revealed this ayat with relation to Ramazan or Fitr? Do you think Allah SWT do not know the difference between crescent (Hilal) and full moon (Badar). Hajj is performed when moon after crossing its half moon phase and near to badr as compare to Hilal. So it can not be termed as ‘mark of fixed period of time’ specifically for Hajj. Further understanding of word ‘mawaqeet’ i.e., “signs to mark fixed periods of time” is also considerable. Mawaqeet where can be used as ‘zarf-e-zaman’, it can also be used as ‘zarf-e-makan’. And I think here the word mawaqeet is used as ‘zarf-e-makan’ for identifying meeqaats (places from where pilgrims wear the Ahraam) for hajj. bsically what needed is that we have to check what the word ‘ahillah’ is used for.?
Regards
DanishJu
alikum wa rehmatullah
Respected brother,
Thank u for writing us. I’m forwarding ur mail to our brother at [email protected]](http://us.f311.mail.yahoo.com/ym/[email protected]) who deals with such nature of mails, with request him to reply u as soon as possible.
Atif Imad
11-09-2006
Dear Mr. Atif
Salamun Alaikum
I am waiting for reply from your [email protected]](http://us.f311.mail.yahoo.com/ym/[email protected]) both of my questions
Regards
DanishJu
23/9/06
Bismilla hir rehma nirrahim
Respected,
Sorry for delay, I request my brother at questions to reply u as soon as possible.
Atif Imad
1/10/06
Bismillah-ir-Rahman-ir-Raheem
To: Brother Danish
Your Question: I again ask you to why Allah SWT did not revealed this ayat with relation to Ramazan or Fitr?..
Answer: The word Ahillah (new moons) in this ayah refers to the start of every month. The Hilal helps us know the start of a month, and the word Mawaqeet has been used as Zarf-e-Zaman here, meaning calendar. So the ayah means: “They ask you about new moons. Say they are calendars for people and for Haj”. The actual purpose of these new moons has been quoted as being calendars for every month, and that is why the word Ahillah has been used. The word Haj is Ma’toof over (Mawaqeetu) Linnas; in addition, Allah (SWT) has mentioned that they also help to know the time of pilgrimage, and the word Ahillah has not been used specifically for Haj.
Wassalamualaikum,
Incharge,
2/10/06
Salamun Alaikum
Thank you for replying my questions; I almost had lost the hope to receive a reply from you. Any way, thank you again.
Now let me analyze to your reply in which you wrote that “word Ahillah has not been used specifically for Haj” and “The word Haj is Ma’toof over (Mawaqeetu) Linnas;”. I bag to differ from your point of view as if the word ‘Ahillah’ is not specifically been used for Haj then either the words “lil jinnate wan-nass” should have been used instead of Linnas-e-wal Haj or “lis-Some wal haj” or “Lis-Some wal Fitr”. The use of words Lin-nase wal haj makes it specific for both Annas and Haj. Linnas in that sense that Haj has specifically been ordered to human being as it is evident from the ayat 27 of Al-Hajj
وَأَذِّن فِي النَّاسِ بِالْحَجِّ يَأْتُوكَ رِجَالًا وَعَلَى كُلِّ ضَامِرٍ يَأْتِينَ مِن كُلِّ فَجٍّ عَمِيقٍ {27}
And Wal hajj in that sense that “Ahillah” are some specific acts which are performed during the Hajj and without performing this act Hajj cannot be completed. So what is needed is to reconsider the meanings of “Ahillah”. And if you may understand the Ahillah then you can also understand the use of ‘mawaqeet’ in this ayat and also the relation of portion of the same ayat “
It is not Al-Birr (piety, righteousness, etc.) that you enter the houses from the back but Al-Birr (is the quality of the one) who fears Allah. So enter houses through their proper doors, and fear Allah that you may be successful"
Regards
DanishJu
After the lapse of several months and my several reminders for reply, I received the following reply in Ramadan.
October 21, 2006
Bismillah-ir-Rahman-ir-Raheem
To: Brother Danish
We are not being able to entertain the queries of people because of a lot of workload, specially in Ramadhan. Your queries will Inshallah be replied after Eid. Accept our apologies for this delay.
Wassalamualaikum,
Incharge,
Islamic Research & Training Section,
31/10/06
Salamun Alaikum
We are anxiously waiting for your replies
Regard
DanishJu
08/11/06
Salamun alaikum
I hope you must be busy solving the controversy on the “Ruyet-e-Hilal” since last Eid, so you may not have time to answer to our quarries even after Ramazan as promised. But don’t you think that the only answer to all such controversies is what I have written to you on the subject of ‘Lunar Calendar’? Think about it.
I pray, may Almighty Allah grant you the courage to accept the facts
Regards
DanishJu
Although I am still receiving their ‘Nam-Nehad dawat-t-Islami’ materials through email regularly but in spite of my various reminders I have received nothing on the subject. Last reminder I have sent to them on 14-04-07
Mr Atif Imad, Mr. Nazim-e-Aala, Questions & Answer people..
Where are the replies of my numerous mails and queries? Would you be able to respond my queries or should I simply write you off like other brain-less clerics having no substance.
Bearing no hopes from hopeless people…
DanishJu
And lastly I wrote them the following mail on 28th May, 2007 and closed the chapter:
Salamun alaikum
Ye hai islam ke nam nehad jayyad ulema ka kirdar, apni alapte raheain ge magar agar koi aap se sawaal ker le to na sirf ye ke jawaab nahin hota doosre itni ikhlaqi jurrat nahin hai ke is baat ka iqrar ker lain ke haan hamare paas jawaab nahin hai. or batain kerain ge Dunya ke nizam ko tabdeel kerne ki.
Shayad Islam ki qismat main aise hi likhe hain, majboori hai
DanishJu
Danish, your original question (start of this post) and your communication with Tanzeem-e-Islami look like two different queries, altogether.
At the start of the post, you want to know where in Quran it says that moon (without going into Hilal or Badr debate) should be used to mark the start of new month
In your emails with Tanzeem , you got that answer. You are in debate with them on a different topic, it seems.
One note, if you are not satisfied with your communication with all these "islam ke nam nehad jayyad ulema " and you think that it is the weekness of thier Kirdar than who in this forum can convince you.
You started an unnecessary argumenet with them on someting which has complete agreement of whole ummah from last 1500 years. These Ulema are not our seravants who are waiting for our commands. Dont use them as google search engine
Dear Tariqlkhan,
I advise you to kindly read the thread again and you will find that my question on both the forums was exactly identical, and what ever I have written on the subject is strictly relevant and I emphasize that nothing is off-topic.
And I simply do not agree with your opinion and consider these forums the best platforms for better understanding and for resolving the differences among each other maintaining arm-length distance.
Iltemase Dua
Danish, I agree with you that foums are good way to better understanding. My conflict is with your choice of words in your last peice of mail to the borther.
"Ye hai islam ke nam nehad jayyad ulema ka kirdar, apni alapte raheain ge magar agar koi aap se sawaal ker le to na sirf ye ke jawaab nahin hota doosre itni ikhlaqi jurrat nahin hai ke is baat ka iqrar ker lain ke haan hamare paas jawaab nahin hai. or batain kerain ge Dunya ke nizam ko tabdeel kerne ki.
Shayad Islam ki qismat main aise hi likhe hain, majboori hai"
You also keep me in your prayers. Thanks
Salamun alaikum
I sincerely invite people to discuss this issue in detail, without being emotional. Take it as acadamic discussion and once some conclusion is arrived at, the matter should be referred to some technocrats and relegious experts for comments.
I hope my intentions may not be mutilated
Iltemase Dua
^ If you are sincere in your offer, then I will offer something in return:
"He is the One who made the sun to emit light, and the moon to reflect it, and He measured its phases; that you may know the number of the years and the count. God has not created this except for truth. He details the revelations for a people who know. 10:5
Some people content that only the moon is of significance, then why is the following so:
And We made the night and the day as two signs, so We erased the sign of night and We made the sign of day to see-in, that you may seek bounty from your Lord, and that you may know the number of the years and the count. And everything We have detailed completely. 17:12
Both sun and moon are important... why?
What is the sun for: The count of the months with God is twelve months in God's record the day He created the heavens and the Earth; four of them are restricted. This is the correct system; so do not wrong yourselves in them; and fight those who set up partners collectively as they fight you collectively. And know that God is with the righteous. 9:36
This does not say when should a month begin... so where does the moon fit it?
They ask you regarding the crescent moons, Say: They are a timing mechanism for the people as well as for the Hajj/Debate/Pilgrimage." And piety is not that you would enter a home from its back, but piety is whomever is righteous and come to the homes from their main doors. And be aware of God that you may succeed. 2:189
Ok, so the Hilal is for marking. Good. But interestingly, 10 nights is exactly how long it takes for the full-moon to reach the crescent stage, and vice versa. Now
And the moon We have measured it to appear in stages, until it returns to being like an old curved sheath. 36:39
The above verse is not talking about Hilal, otherwise it would have been stated as such. It speaks of the FULL MOON. Why?
"shahri ramadhan" is when the reading was descended as a guidance for people and clarifications from the guidance and the criterion, so whomever witnesses "al-shahr", let him abstain it. And whomever was sick or traveling so a count of other days. The God wants to facilitate and not make it hard on you. And so complete the count and magnify The God for what He guided you and perhaps you would be thankful. 2:185
It is interesting that RAMADHAN's lexical meaning is "Scortching Heat" and SHAHR indicates "FULL MOON". SHAHR means something obvious, something round, something full, and something bright. So "Shahri Ramadhan" hence means Full/Round Moon of Scortching heat... and not "The Month of Ramadhan" as is commonly left untranslated.
An interesting phenomenon is that in peak summer, the sun appears as dark orange, as if RED-HOT... this is the timing we are looking for.
Usually the lunar cycle works like this:
Another interesting point is that abstenance/fasting is for "ayyaamim ma'doodaat" ... this means those that can be counted with your fingers... which again comes to 10.
This is the timing for the abstanance/fasting and the pilgrimage/debate... in scortching heat... that is the test.
Also following this full moon are the four months of restriction. What to do in those:
This is a revocation from God and His messenger to those with whom you have made a treaty from among those who have set up partners. Therefore, roam the land for four months and know that you will not escape God, and that God will humiliate the rejecters. And a declaration from God and His messenger to the people, on this, the peak day of the Pilgrimage: "That God and His messenger are innocent from all those who set up partners." If you repent, then it is better for you, and if you turn away, then know that you will not escape God. And give news to those who have rejected of a painful retribution. Except for those with whom you had a treaty from among those who have set up partners if they did not reduce anything from it nor did they plan to attack you; you shall continue the treaty with them until its expiry. God loves the righteous. So when the restricted months have passed, then you may kill those who have set up partners wherever you find them, and take them, and surround them, and stand against them at every point. If they repent, and honour the oath of allegiance, and contribute towards betterment, then you shall leave them alone. God is Forgiving, Merciful. 9:1-5
In fact, the Islamic calendar is Luni-Solar, and not just Lunar as it has been currently implemented.
So to conclude from my side, any 12 month solar calendar system is feasible as long as the 10 days of sawm and hajj, and the 4 post "shahr-i ramadhan" months of restriction of no hunting and war are observed.
brother hypnotix-2000
Salamun Alaikum,
Thank you very much and I really appreciate your efforts for submitting your understandings on the subject. But after going through your reply it appears to me that you have not read the entire thread. any way I am trying to answer some of your points.
What is the sun for: The count of the months with God is twelve months in God's record the day He created the heavens and the Earth; four of them are restricted. This is the correct system; so do not wrong yourselves in them; and fight those who set up partners collectively as they fight you collectively. And know that God is with the righteous. 9:36
I have already discussed this verse in detail in my postings and I think this verse alone is enough proof that the calendar system as per Allah SWT is solar and not lunar. I advise you to read the thread thoroughly and then comment.
It is your false opinion that sun does not say when a month to begin. By the movement of sun you not only can say when the month is begin but you can at any given day for sure say which date is it and also of which month. Sun travels in its orbit around the earth in 365-1/4 days against the zodiacal circle (which comprises of 12 zodiacal signs with equal distances) And the knowledge of zodiacal path is as old as the mankind itself. So by just observing the position of Sun you can easily say which date is today and of which month.
So you are simply wasting your efforts to fit the moon in the calendar system because it has nothing to do with calendar system.
This verse had also been discussed in detail in my postings and I again advise you to read the thread thoroughly and then comment.
It is correct that the word ‘Ramazan’ means scorching heat and it also proves that Islamic months are also related to seasons. As the month of Ramazan appears to occur in summer season. It will be more interesting for you if you find the logic and meanings of the names of Islamic months, you will be astonished to know that:
Shawwal is the month when females of camels raise their tails for mating.
Rabi-ul awwal and rabi us sani both are for rabi crops.
Jamadi ul-awwal and Jamadi us sani are when waters freeze in rivers, i.e. Winter season.
So as per your logic Allah has ordered to fast for ten days only, Ayyam-e-maadoodat?
What a test…. What about fasting in December/January in Toranto? Where has the scorching heat gone there?
This is a revocation from God and His messenger to those with whom you have made a treaty from among those who have set up partners. Therefore, roam the land for four months and know that you will not escape God, and that God will humiliate the rejecters. And a declaration from God and His messenger to the people, on this, the peak day of the Pilgrimage: "That God and His messenger are innocent from all those who set up partners." If you repent, then it is better for you, and if you turn away, then know that you will not escape God. And give news to those who have rejected of a painful retribution. Except for those with whom you had a treaty from among those who have set up partners if they did not reduce anything from it nor did they plan to attack you; you shall continue the treaty with them until its expiry. God loves the righteous. So when the restricted months have passed, then you may kill those who have set up partners wherever you find them, and take them, and surround them, and stand against them at every point. If they repent, and honour the oath of allegiance, and contribute towards betterment, then you shall leave them alone. God is Forgiving, Merciful. 9:1-5
What you want to prove with this verse kindly make clear.
This term Luni-Solar has been devised by you probably otherwise Quraan totally rejects it. I invite you to give any purpose that lunar system may serve. And as a clue I would like to ask you the purpose for which we need a calendar system. I am sure you will agree with me if I say that there are three basic requirements a calendar system should and must provide. We should be able: 1. To maintain and compile our history chronologically. 2. To observer the sanctity of the days of remembrance, and 3. To schedule our future programs and events. The lunar system appears completely unsuccessful to meet any of the above requirements. Neither we can say for sure about our past events nor we can certainly predict our tomorrow. On so many times we even remain doubtful about our current date, and it has been proved on various occasions that we have mistaken in determining the current date. So what purpose lunar calendar is serving except making people confused?
Iltemase dua
So what purpose lunar calendar is serving except making people confused?
Iltemase dua
I have gone through your posts brother. Your comments are appreciated and I will read them again in detail. I would like you to be sincere in your reply to my counter question: Has the current Islamic calendar, in any way, made people less confused? Someone sees the crescent, another does not... your comment about the names of the months denoting grazing in the spring and fall are also very insightful and seems they cannot be used for a lunar calendar, or even in the sequence that they are in.
It is your false opinion that sun does not say when a month to begin. By the movement of sun you not only can say when the month is begin but you can at any given day for sure say which date is it and also of which month. Sun travels in its orbit around the earth in 365-1/4 days against the zodiacal circle (which comprises of 12 zodiacal signs with equal distances) And the knowledge of zodiacal path is as old as the mankind itself. So by just observing the position of Sun you can easily say which date is today and of which month.
So you are simply wasting your efforts to fit the moon in the calendar system because it has nothing to do with calendar system.
seems we are on the same page...
It is correct that the word ‘Ramazan’ means scorching heat and it also proves that Islamic months are also related to seasons. As the month of Ramazan appears to occur in summer season. It will be more interesting for you if you find the logic and meanings of the names of Islamic months, you will be astonished to know that:
Shawwal is the month when females of camels raise their tails for mating.
Rabi-ul awwal and rabi us sani both are for rabi crops.
Jamadi ul-awwal and Jamadi us sani are when waters freeze in rivers, i.e. Winter season.
agreed
So as per your logic Allah has ordered to fast for ten days only, Ayyam-e-maadoodat?
yes, and in scorching heat...
What a test…. What about fasting in December/January in Toranto? Where has the scorching heat gone there?
exactly, so the current system does not help... the "test" is in scorcthing heat or peak summer...
What you want to prove with this verse kindly make clear.
I am talking about the designated 4 months that are considered scared... no hunting (also makes sense since it is mating season for animals) and no war...
This term Luni-Solar has been devised by you probably otherwise Quraan totally rejects it. I invite you to give any purpose that lunar system may serve. And as a clue I would like to ask you the purpose for which we need a calendar system. I am sure you will agree with me if I say that there are three basic requirements a calendar system should and must provide. We should be able: 1. To maintain and compile our history chronologically. 2. To observer the sanctity of the days of remembrance, and 3. To schedule our future programs and events. The lunar system appears completely unsuccessful to meet any of the above requirements. Neither we can say for sure about our past events nor we can certainly predict our tomorrow. On so many times we even remain doubtful about our current date, and it has been proved on various occasions that we have mistaken in determining the current date. So what purpose lunar calendar is serving except making people confused?
The only thing the moon will be used for is for determining shar-i ramadhaan, and the 10 days before which it reaches the crescent stage (hillatu).
Iltemase dua :)
Salam Danish,
A buddy of mine wanted you to know this but since he is not a forum member, I'll quote him.:
regarding Danish argument to how come the moon was created later while the year is calculated from day one of creation?
well, Allah didn't tell us that the months were counted from day one of the creation, rather what He told that His decisoion that the months count to be 12, He never told us that counting the days started from day one
in fact it can't be because the creation of the earth took place over a period of long time before it was made ready for humans to live on it, and I'm sure that was ages ago before the first human stepped foot on earth, as far as I believe Adam was sent to earth not more than 10,000 years ago, and on the that day the moon and the earth creation was complete millions of years before Adam was sent, so Adam started to count the days and months while the moon was there about 10,000 years ago
It is further seems your own imagination which has no logical/historical/circumstantial proof. But it will be more interesting for you if you count the partitions on your fingers to which we call in Urdu as ‘pores’ then you will get surprised to know that the total partitions on your fingers counts to 30 (3x5x2). And this way you can say that Ayyamim ma`doodaat can be counted on fingers.
Further, another very interesting point is that if you analyze the word maadoodaat by using numerology, you again get surprised to know that word maadoodaat give exact 30 number. A little description of this is as follows.
In numerology each Arabic letter has certain number. For example Alif=1, ya=10, qaf=100 and ghain=1000. And there are different ways to obtain numeric value of a word.
1. Simple method. In this method the actual number of each letter is added and the sum is the required value.
2. Adade-sagheer. In this method all zeroz are eliminated like alif=1, ya=1, qaf=1 and ghain=1.
3rd method is adad-e-kabeer in which every letter is made word (malfooz) and then obtained its number. Like in adad-e-kabeer alif has not simply the value of 1 but value of alif will be (alif+lam+fa) that is 1+30+80=111.
Similarly there are methods like Adad-e-asghar and Adad-e-akbar.
So if we obtain the value of word maadoodaat by using the method adad-e-sagheer, it will be 30. (meem+ain+dal+wao+dal+alif+ta) 4+7+4+6+4+1+4=30. This is what you can say the miraculous numerical balance of Quraan.
Iltemase dua
Salam Danish, A buddy of mine wanted you to know this but since he is not a forum member, I'll quote him.:
for me the Quran has enough info to conclude that the Solar system is used to count the days and the Lunar system to count the months
regarding Danish argument to how come the moon was created later while the year is calculated from day one of creation?
well, Allah didn't tell us that the months were counted from day one of the creation, rather what He told that His decisoion that the months count to be 12, He never told us that counting the days started from day one
Salamun alaikum
For your Buddy’s 1st objection I simply want to reproduce my reply to Brother ARMughal (Post # 4) which is a complete answer to his objection.
““The Ayat you refer as has been translated by Shakir says:
Surely the number of months with Allah is twelve months in Allah's ordinance since the day when He created the heavens and the earth, of these four being sacred; that is the right reckoning; therefore be not unjust to yourselves regarding them, and fight the polytheists all together as they fight you all together; and know that Allah is with those who guard (against evil).
You can ascertain the following meanings from the above ayat;
*It is for sure that the count of months is twelve in Allah’s Ordinance;
It has been fixed since inception, i.e., from the day of creation of heavens and earth(s).
It means that the first day of first month should be the day of creation or you can say that the New Year should be started from the day of creation.
Out of these twelve months four are declared as sacred and fighting with enemies and invasion is prohibited in these months;
The most important phrase in this ayat to which you can say the ‘punch line’ is “zalika deen-il-qayyam” which in fact means that “*that is what the un-changeable and eternal constitution”. *
So in the light of above kindly explain me if there is any reference to moon sighting in these verses?
Moon was created on 6th day of creation week, and in ahadees it is revealed that moon was created at its ‘*Badr’ i.e., *14th night position. So how can moon sighting be possible for ascertaining the beginning of calendar? “”
in fact it can't be because the creation of the earth took place over a period of long time before it was made ready for humans to live on it, and I'm sure that was ages ago before the first human stepped foot on earth, as far as I believe Adam was sent to earth not more than 10,000 years ago, and on the that day the moon and the earth creation was complete millions of years before Adam was sent, so Adam started to count the days and months while the moon was there about 10,000 years ago
And for his second objection I would like to say that the calendar system was started by Allah SWT himself and not by Hazrat Adam Alehis salam. Further, Allah has not asked you to devise some calendar system for yourself. He simply ordered you to follow the system which he SWT has ordained since the day of creation of Heaven and Earth. And this ordinance is eternal and unchangeable. So by deviating from his ordinance you not only committing a sin but if it is minutely analyzed, you might be committing shirk as you are devising a parallel system to him for which He SWT has not permitted you.
I hope this my help you in understanding the position.
Iltemase Dua
From where have you derived the meaning of the word Shehr. Can you give the reference? further how will you fit these meaning to the Ayat under discussion where the term 'asna ashra shehrun' is used?
Try Lisaan-il-Arab and Lane's ...
The meaning of words in the Quran is not used for the same thing everytime... like jinn, it can denote many things depending on the context. These meanings are:
make it notable/known/manifest/public/infamous (in a bad or good sense), hire/contract for a month, stay a month, month old, month, new moon, moon, full moon, any evil thing that exposes its author to disgrace, a vice/fault or the like, big & bulky, reputable/eminent.
There's an expression رأيت الشهر "(I) saw a new moon of the month" ...
Actually, try to translate maShHooR for me :D
Try Lisaan-il-Arab and Lane's ... The meaning of words in the Quran is not used for the same thing everytime... like jinn, it can denote many things depending on the context. These meanings are:
The word 'shahr' is used in quraan 12 times in various verses (another example of numerical balance in Quraan). On all the places it is used in the meaning of month. (refer: Sura Al-baqara verses 185,194,217 Sura Al-maida 2,97, Sura Tauba 36, Sura Saba 15, Sura Qadr 1) So just tell me why should we leave aside the meanings which were repeatedly used for that word and opt for a totally irrelevant meaning?
Iltemase dua
The word 'shahr' is used in quraan 12 times in various verses (another example of numerical balance in Quraan). On all the places it is used in the meaning of month. (refer: Sura Al-baqara verses 185,194,217 Sura Al-maida 2,97, Sura Tauba 36, Sura Saba 15, Sura Qadr 1) So just tell me why should we leave aside the meanings which were repeatedly used for that word and opt for a totally irrelevant meaning?
Iltemase dua
From what I understand, the the presence of the definite artical "al" has an impact on the way the words is to be determined:
I've already translated 2:185 ... notice that there is NO definite artical for the word ShAHR here.
Let's go to 194
الشهر الحرام بالشهر الحرام
Here the context definitely changes because it is talking about fighting during a certain period. Also note that the definite artical is used.
217 has the same context... fighting within a certain period. So the meaning of month will be used.
Same situation in 5:2, and 97...
9:36 I would translate as "The count of the months with God is twelve full moons in God's record from the day He created the heavens and the Earth" ... or "The count of the months with God is twelve, **was made known/public/apparent **in God's law from the day He created the heavens and the Earth"
If it meant months only, it would have read
"إن عدة الشهور عند الله اثنا عشر في كتب الله يوم خلق السموت والأرض "
But we know that this not the case.
And I think you meant Saba:12 not 15... It may again have to do with being known or apparent, the third meaning of the root Sh H R ... from which the word mashhoor is derived.
"And to Sulaimaan, the trajected wind: Its coming direction was made known/apparent, and its going direction was made known/apparent"... are we talking about sailing here?
Correlate with "ولسليمن الريح عاصفة تجري بأمره" from 21:81 "And to Solomon the directed winds ran with his command" ... and that the Shayaateen "the unruley" used to DIVE for him. So really, he made use of science and technology and used to SAIL in his SHIPS with the help of the wind.
ShAHR here has nothign to do with "months".
But of course, we like to think that Solomon had supernatural powers and the Djinn beings and Devils were subservient to him and he used to fly around a month's worth of travel in the morning and back in the afternoon while sitting on this throne... all the bells and whistles here for a fairytale. So enjoy it.
If you are still in major disagreement about my proposal, then please halt because I am still researching on the issue. Recall that I only offered this as my understanding as of that post.
PS:While I do not support the 19-cultish "proof" you proposed for "m-a-d-oo-d-aa-t", your other argument in its regard is noted and I will definitely consider it in my analysis in the future.
Do people know that Quran is not an encyclopedia and also not a 'how-to-do' encyclopedia? Allah has not given each and every step for each and everything in Quran, rather used continuation of many things from past and calendar is one example of that.
And did you know that Arabs had a different calendar before all the pious "history" was fabricated?
and what calendar was that?