You don’t want to tell others where your entire salary is used up cause as long as your parents know no one else needs to know.
In such a case what do you reply when people ask you where your salary goes and say things like
" or
You don’t want to tell others where your entire salary is used up cause as long as your parents know no one else needs to know.
In such a case what do you reply when people ask you where your salary goes and say things like
" or
Re: Where your salary goes
salary is something .. which is for YOU .. and you do what you want to do with it .. so no one really has a right to ask what they do with it or what they spend on or who they spend it on .. ppl should mind their own business ..
parents ..if they ask .. you should tell .. cos if for example .. your struggling financially .. they can help you without you asking .. and plus .. it makes them happy to knw that their son/daughter is earing their own .. they have a right but other relatives .. friends .random ppl .. should stay outa personal stuff ..
Do not disclose your CTC to anybody.
Except for my hubby I never told anybody what I do, even my hubby never asks me, I just tell him if I am buying something big with his or mine money.
So how do you answer people who ask in a polite and considerate way.
^I would say,Monsieur/Madame,Excuseme I can not reveal it.
So why don't you really spend a penny on yourself LittlePrincess ?
can’t it be a little less direct?
I have other priorities that need to be taken care of
and you asked the same qs:naraz:
I do face this problem even after 4 year…
, still not mastered the art…am just too paindoo I guess ![]()
can't it be a little less direct?
Just say "I am not at liberty to discuss this subject".
At the end of the day "NO" means "NO".
There are occassions you have to reveal it .For example after an H.R round interview.
you are not answerable to anyone about how to spend your pay, or where it goes, sahi mein, you tell them politely thank you I don’t like discussing such personal things.
The problem with our desi community is that everybody thinks that they are privy to your info as they would like, IMO NO they are not.
I was asked the same question couple of time, I said I am sorry I don’t like discussing such private things.
My parents know what it is. What they don't know is that I am saving the majority of ti for them.
^awwww sweet!!
"I haven't seen you spend a penny on yourself..what do you do with your salary?
You're never there when I'm doing my shopping. I spend plenty on myself.
"why aren't you buying xyz thing ..its something you always wanted"
I'm waiting for a price drop.
eeehhhh.... people have guts to ask salary. hum sai tu apney chaddi dost ki salary bhee nahi pochee jatee ....
I just ignore the question or just say "sub bta dooon, heen?"
Why does anyone else need to know where your salary goes? It’s rude to ask about anyone’s salary! ![]()
my answer to these people .. *who the hell are you to ask me this .. * .. :p .. i don't have to justify myself infront of you guys .. ..
***"I haven't seen you spend a penny on yourself..what do you do with your salary?"
Well, LOL, you don't live with me 24/7 or monitor my every expenditure, so how can you say with such certainty that I don't spend on myself at all? (Answer their question with a smart question of your own).
"why aren't you buying xyz thing? It's something you always wanted."***
^I don't see this as an offensive question. It can even be something that a close friend or family member might ask you. It could even be seen as a way for them to encourage you to treat/indulge yourself, fulfill your dreams, etc.
^LOL, I know! A far more RUDER question in my opinion is “How much do you make?” And I’ve gotten that twice from people.
The first individual tried to take advantage of the fact that my parents weren’t around and was hoping that I’d be a “naive bacha” and answer her nosy query. To which I responded, “Oh not that much.” That resulted in her TRYING AGAIN by saying “Phir bhi, how much do you make?” I repeated the same response. She got the hint and left me alone.
The second individual, not much older than me, also blatantly asked “How much do you make?” Can’t remember what I said, but it was a polite response that did not include any numbers. The asker was miffed and accusingly said, “Tum chupati ho.” As if it were a crime for me to remain tight-lipped about my own personal affairs that really have no bearing upon her life. In both examples the individuals couldn’t just “let it go” after the first response. Such questions are a turn off. We’re living in the Age of Information. Knowledge is at your fingertips (the Internet). Don’t risk making a fool of yourself before others and instead google the salary and then do the monetary conversion. ![]()