Where are they now?????

There are a number of people in my social circle and also on this forum that cannot stop singing the praises of MQM and what they have done to improve Karachi.

I’m posting a copy of my blog from today here because I’d like to know…where are these wonderful MQM people when this sort of stuff is happening…?

And please…don’t blame this on the pathans…they are not the ones robbing us!

Exerpt from my blog:

Cousin just got back from Karachi after 3 weeks.
He brought back the following tid bits of news:

1. eldest chacha (cousin’s father) was driving along in his beat up old car that’s worth nothing, when he was approached by a guy on a motorbike (with a six/seven year old child on the back seat) that held a gun to his head and told him to pull over to the side of the road. he followed orders and did so. (the poor man is in his sixties, looks like he is eighty with a white beard and not in good health either.) he was asked to hand over his cell phone and any cash that he had…once this was done they continued to ask for more saying this was not enough…frustrated and upset he gestured toward the car and said, “Yeh bhi lay lo…aur kuch nahin meray paas” and he turned his kurta pocket inside out. (Makes me tear up just thinking of my chacha in this stance.) he did all this while several people stood by watching…eventually the guy on the bike took off with the phone and the cash, sparing chacha.

2. second eldest chachi was coming from someone’s house with her 16 year-old daughter in a rickshaw. she was carrying a small amount of cash that belonged to some committee (approx. Rs. 30K). gunman pulls up next to rickshaw on motorbike and demands the cash. (obviously someone had let him know that she was carrying it.) smart woman stepped out of the rickshaw right in the middle of a busy street and started yelling at the guy saying the money belongs to the poor and if he wants it he can shoot her and then have it. brilliant cousin bolted down the street so he only had one person to threaten. eventually people in the street started to take notice and approached the scene. gunman took off as he saw them coming.

3. second eldest phupho was entering her own home after a day at work. (she is approx 55 years of age and the principal of a school). some idiot stopped her at gunpoint and made her take off the single gold bangle that has been on her wrist for at least 35 years. it is not worth a lot, but at the end of the day it is gold. while I was ticked off at her for even wearing it, it ticked me off more that someone would take something as small as this from an older woman in a burqa…

4. 16 year old cousin robbed at gunpoint of Rs. 30 and the sweater that he was wearing. Luckily he hasn’t been given a cell phone as yet. They found keys on him that belonged to his motorbike but he was smart enough to say that they were house keys…so he saved the bike.

These are all incidents that have taken place in 2011.
What’s the date today???

Re: Where are they now?????

Yup mqm is bunch of goons, burn then alive.

Re: Where are they now???

by the way people before replying the op is written by Gupshup President, so hence don’t go against her point of view or you will be kicked and banned, just saying :chai:

firenze....obviously you have no serious opinion to offer.

Muzna aapa, sorry to hear all that, I am not the one you probaly want answers from but why blame lawlessness on MQM when the whole country is going thru the same (or even worse)?

Captain1 you have a fair point :k:

Personally I was never a fan of the MQM or thier mad leader but some of the people they represent do have genuine grievances unfortunalely for those people the MQM is hardly the best choice but they have little else to turn to…

Pakistan is infected with swamp-life politics we need something fresh… give it a while and who knows maybe a revolution will hit our streets too :jhanda:

The reason why I am laying blame on MQM is because it is their supporters that can't stop touting the wonderful things that MQM have done for Karachi. I can hear them from every desi gathering talking about the wonderful infrastructure that has been put in place...the fly-overs etc. etc.

And when you talk to them about the lawlessness they blame the pathans. Everything bad about Karachi is blamed on pathans.
Granted there are issues with the pathans but it is not them that are robbing the middle-class. They are not the motor-bike riding gunmen that terrorize the dwellers.

And what of the monthly "security fee" that these idiots collect from every household? What security is this?

They have killed more people in target killings in the past few months than the suicide bombings up north combined, but the world seems to be focused on the former because MQM kills on the name of ethnicity and not religion.

Their mayor (nazim) goes openly on NPR and points at random poor Pakhtuns living in Karachi calling them extremists (even the NPR reporter found it laughable). Yet we see people who shower praises and worship the ground Altaf Hussain walks on.

I have yet to see some intelligible content coming out of you, seriously.

Many of us know her for a decade here and we wouldn’t be here if she would have banned us from disagreeing with her POV.

That is precisely what makes me sick. How can they be so blind?
What will it take for them to see the light?

They are not even loyal to their own yet they still don't see the foolishness of their actions........

Thousands of mqm supporters consider that kala naag, grandel of London as spiritual leader and savior of muhajirs. That is one of the main reason the middle class educated supporters have closed their eyes, ears, brains etc. The party is mostly acting like a cult rather than a genuine political party. They have good control on urdu press and GEO.

Yeh and I just landed from mars.. I was being sarcastic .. But oh mighty spocky brain !

Law and order situation is same in the whole country. Its mugging in karachi, kidnapping for ransom in Baluchistan, killings over piece of land in Punjab, suicide killings in Pakhtoonkhwah. Are we putting the blame of all those crimes on the big political parties of that area?

I am not a MQM supporter (although many on this forum do believe otherwise) but we need to have a fair argument and blame every party for the law and order of their area or do not blame anyone

Muzna it's all about ideology. It's just like die hard ppp members known as jiyalas. It's just like some found Imran khan ideology better then other lot. Their is no conspiracy here, all around the world people live and die for what they believe. If Karachites vote or like MQM or love cartoon.. U need to respect the vote, unless u can found another way of electing people.

As far MQM ways of doing stuff concerns .. Well who give a shyt - when nation institutions are not capable enough to provide justice regarless of how much power they posses. I know one thing no group or cult can fight state. Secondly MQM is not a national party, I will compare them with the line of bnp .. Etc etc. It's more like a coincidence that they happen to represent the most educated and liberal city of Pakistan.

I am sorry to hear about all of these incidents. Such things are very common these days even some of my close friends had their cell phones snatched.

However, you just shut the door of learning the real reason behind all of the lawlessness by blaming one party and I would have said the same thing if it was some other guppy talking about some other party in other part of Pakistan.

one of my relatives once had his stolen-at-gunpoint-cellphone recovered from an MQM local headquarter by talking to someone in the party. so its not exactly just related to the general lawlessness in the country.

Its not exactly, but mobiles are snatched in other parts of the country too, agree? There are dacoities committed in other parts of the country, agree?

agree. just saying that people who are involved in both running organized crime and preventing it have a conflict of interest thats all.

I disagree, take the target killings in Karachi in just the last few months alone, you will find that MORE people have been killed, than the total number of those killed in suicide bombings all over Pakistan.** Why dont we see these target killings in cities at such a high magnitude where there is no MQM? Political rivalry is tense in other parts of the country too, but you dont see these target killings there.** A party whose basis was militancy with an ethnic color, what else can you expect? Again, compare the statistics. And those that are saying people should respect the mandate, its not like you vote someone in power and let them wreack havoc, keep them accountable, hold them by their balls if you have to. As for extortion, why is it that Karachi is the only city where businesses have to pay a monthly bhatta (extortion money) to the MQM? Why dont you see it anywhere else?

Why expect reasonableness from a party that was founded on violence?