Seriously, it’s about time people realize that the following is SUPER RUDE behviour:
1) Asking someone they have just met, or even a relative how much they earn.
Unless you are going to get a share out of it, or you are conducting some sort of survey why do you need to know that? Recently I met someone for the first time and it was one of the first question that they asked me, “Bhai ki tankhaw kya hai”. (referring to my husband) Now how should one answer such a question? Pata nai.
**2) Why aren’t you married yet/Why your brother or sister or whoever isn’t married yet/When are you/they getting married?
**Unless you are planning to bring a proposal, I don’t see why do you have to constantly bring this topic up. Wait, you get a kick out of making others feel miserable, right? Oh and you have to be smug and tell your son/daughter whoever got married so young and all are successful and happy. Congratulations
3) Why don’t you have any kids?/When are you going to have kids?(and in case you already have a kid they want to know when are they going to have the next one).
Hmm...I bet if I had a name like pink butterfly or purple fairies or whatever, everyone would have instantly known that I am a woman. But the assumption that a silver falcon is male is kind of amusing. Falcons are beautiful creatures, but even a woman can find this nick attractive.
I'm not even married yet, but I would imagine this one is the MOST annoying...
You bet. I had my baby boy 2 and a half year after we got married. And everyone in the family was pestering me with why don't you have a baby yet question, or else offering to accompany me to a doctor's. And now lil one is barely 28 months old, but since his birth the same people are dying to know when will I have a second one. As if I am under some sort of obligation to them. Uff.
I find the salary question to be the most inappropriate.
I think next time I'll respond with an exaggerated amount...much bigger than their estimated salary....just to make them squirm. That'll be fun :p
And for the "When are you getting married/having kids?".....maybe respond with "The day that you stop being nosy...which may be never, so chances are slim."
Hmm...I bet if I had a name like pink butterfly or purple fairies or whatever, everyone would have instantly known that I am a woman. But the assumption that a silver falcon is male is kind of amusing. Falcons are beautiful creatures, but even a woman can find this nick attractive.
Maybe you should change it to "Cute Pink Falcon" :p
^True. I think it mostly depends on how a woman carries herself. If she looks too timid, she will get asked questions like that. Once you give 'em a dirty look, they won't ask again..
P.S. I find your signature hilarious! It's so well worded..lol
I find the salary question to be the most inappropriate.
I think next time I'll respond with an exaggerated amount...much bigger than their estimated salary....just to make them squirm. That'll be fun :p
And for the "When are you getting married/having kids?".....maybe respond with "The day that you stop being nosy...which may be never, so chances are slim."
In some ways, the salary questions is perhaps the most harmless one. After all it's one of those things which you can control to some extent. But when you get married (if you marry at all) or when/how many kids you will have is not in your own hands.
Waise RV, your idea is amusing:) I mean, every time people ask you how much your salary is how are they going to verify whatever you tell them? My opinion is that unfortunately people in our society tend to judge you on how much you make, and finding out your salary is their way of 'guaging' you.