oooh calm down aisha
alright sweetu :)
Overall okay… but what really disturbs me is that they always relate everything back to education, esp if you are a girl of marriageable age." You don’t know how to cut an onion vhat has your amreeka education taught you." ( I can cut onion by the way).
It amazes me to see my cousins go back accept a ton of free gifts/meals and have the relatives follow them around like paparazzi. I find that extremely uncomfortable and rude.
HHA..'VHAT'..thats s funny..nd ur cousins r funnny too!..hey y not get attention if thats what they wanna give us right?..:D
they are my relatives y wuld they take advantage of me n vice versa.it use to be always fun coming back here,10 days wuld be fantastic then it starts to get lil BOring.but i actually was quite amaze i did nt see any difference between them living in pakistan n us they were just like us
Re: When u go back to Pakistan, how do your relatives treat u?
Agree with the '500 dollars is like 500 rupees' for you statement.
nobody has time for me there:vivo:.
Its an interesting question, now that I think about it. I don't visit Pak as often as I'd like to, but here are a few of my experiences.
Gifts and other things don't bother me.
Each family has some really nice ppl, and some who'd just take advantage of you. I'd stay away from those who are a waste of time. I go to Pak for enjoying my time, not to endure head aches.
For me a big difference is how older ppl (relatives, friends etc) seek me out to solicit advice. Thats usually a paradigm change, because it used to be I'd look up at those ppl who'd be the older, more experienced, kinda know-everything type of ppl.
But the biggest kicker is when extended family and friends would expect me to get them a job in the US. I'd help them any way I can, of course, but its not like some day they'd just get a call from some random employer in the US saying their job is wai ing for them and then the US Consulate will process their visas automatically. If anyone wants to work and live in the US, they have to show some initiative, do some research, at least have a resume prepared, and most importantly have some idea what they want to do. None. They'd just come in and say "Faisal bhai, can you get me a job in the US?" "Ermm... sure I can help. Do you have a resume, what industry you are interested in, what is your education, what kind of job are you looking for?" "Anything Faisal bhai, I'll work any where, just get me a job!".
These kinds of conversations just crack me up.
There are all sorts of, some very loving and entertaining,others indifferent, others who just want to take advantage of you.
my cousin always told me
" harr cheez da ekh dreekegar hai " (everything has its way of being done )
ill say 95% of my relatives are fadagiri log
5% af nice, 2 % af real family
but i have the nice ability of reading people like a book, so those who are in their fadagiri, i just ignore after tracing them
an example, there was this guy about my age, hadnt really traced him, one day he went with me and one of my cousins to the city, on his own plans, but as soon as we stepped off to go and eat, he just casually went with us, without even asking or being invited, so i treated him to a bit of food.
so as the punjabi say " gatvi gai, kuthe da pecharn hogai " the pot went, but the dog has been traced
after that i dogded that fella too =) which means i kept our mullaqat to " asalam alaikum "
Same thing in Indian punjab;
Half of the relatives want to milk you of your money, the other half are jealous of you but ask for your help in money.
They think money grows out of trees in USA.
They also think that you are related to the president of usa or something and that you can easily get them a US visa.
Half of the relatives want to milk you of your money, the other half are jealous of you but ask for your help in money.
They also think that you are related to the president of usa or something and that you can easily get them a US visa.
hehe
i’m a good natured person , ppl usually meet me with a smile . my relatives meet me often - i cannot tell what lies in their hearts with those smiling faces
sorry it was a bad joke - i wanted to say something serious
** Half of the relatives want to milk you of your money, the other half are jealous of you but ask for your help in money.**
this bolded statment is SO TRUE!!!!
So they say, come on, lets take u out shopping. And while u r there, they c something (that they normally wouldnt buy) and realise they cannot b doing without it, and conveniently realise they havent bought enuff money, so u can pay for it and they'll give u later...
And later u dont want to ask them for it, and they conveniently forget...
i have the sweetest relatives ever. khala mamu chacha phupo.. everyone is great... we get spoilt with gifts and food and being taken for trips here and there.. money is never an issue and none of my relatives are well off.. but they fully avail every day we are there by doing something or another.. if nothing... man do we get fed!
i love them to bits!
when i last visited India after 3 yrs, i brought gifts for all, but some of them didn't accept them, but i brought them what they asked for searching all stores
now a days its common as many people travel USA so often
one of my friend's brother is in bankruptcy state and when i visited him he asked me for some help, i asked him how much he need, he asked me 5 lakhs
i said its too much for me, i can give upto 1 lakh, he denied it and he told you changed a lot after going to USA
they are the same because 90% of my immediate family is already out of pak. or have visited some other country so it is not a big deal to them
On a pedestal
I am treated like a princess, and at times it's nice to be pampered, but sometimes it really makes me feel uncomfortable. I'm not allowed to lift a finger, not even take my food from the kitchen and bring it to the table if I'm eating alone. I was fed like you wouldn't believe, and everyday it was that inevitable question "aaj kiya khao gi" expecting me to answer some gourmet dish meanwhile all I just want is some sabzi and roti.
We take lots of gifts for them, they'll ask for a particular thing or two, but we give a lot just because it makes us happy, and plus they treat us so well so it makes sense to give a token or two of appreciation.
Then there are certain set of relatives for whom everything you give is never enough, hence I visit them less often.
At one of my phuphos, I feel right at home. Phupho treats me like a princess, but my cousins treat me like one of them and I like it that way.
I can relate to this one more. ![]()
Plus in case of money its good to keep on telling them that u r student there and broke ![]()
Well here are some things ppl do in Pak when I visit:
Order Pepsi.
Beta tumhe charon qul aati hain? This was when i was 21!! And one time this uncle asked me if I knew aayatul kursi and then told me to recite it!! I was feelin kinda embarrassed but he took my pause as proof I didn't know it, so i had to say it in the middle of the drawing room with a bunch of guests! ugh
My chacha to my mom: "Paijen di tankha kinni hoygi?" When my mom was like "Alhamdulillah" my chacha got really chirred and started driving fast.
My uncle: "Munni yeh digital camera bari zaberdast cheez hai, yeh tujhe kitna ka mila tha?"
Mom: $300...18 hazar rupay samajlo
Mamoo: Tere liye to bus 300 rupay hi hongay hain na
My lil cousins were like sooo wideeyed at this analogy...but it's sooo wrong! Whenever I would try to explain inflation, they just acted like I was trying to understate my 'wealth'.
Me: If you want anything, let me know I will bring it for you.
Chacha: Wahan laptops suste milte hain na? Zara mere liye ek laptop le aana.
I was walking around with a towel on my head after a shower and my daadi was very pleased by it, she was like all my other cousins who come from the UK and Canada hamesha iron ya dryer leke beti hoti hain and then my chachi was like bahir ki larkian bohot makeup aur fashion karti hain...guess they think foreign girls are high maintenance. They are not entirely wrong in this perception; I went with shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush, floss,and face wash and I felt like a freak. Some of my relatives don't use any of this stuff!
My maami kept on telling me k tujhe vehm hai k paani yahan ka theek nahin hai, vehm ki wajase hi tu bimaar par jaati hai. I tried to explain to her k hum yahan k paani k aadi nahi hain and she was like didn't your parents drink this water in their childhood? i guess later she realized it wasn't vehm because she was refilling the nestle bottles with normal water for us and I got really sick (not knowing it was the paki water) But take care not to be like "oooh gross" at everything (which I did when I was 15) because to them, they feel like you are saying their home is disgusting.
Well, overall, people in Pak are a lot more accomodating than we give them credit for...I realized this when we had visitors for just 3 days...they were really nice, but I had to adjust my schedule entirely. Imagine if someone came to your place for a month...and on top of that, had special demands for certain types of water and food...it would be really annoying. I try to be aware of that when I go now; I've been able to mingle with my cousins a lot easily than some of my other foreign relatives.
Well here are some things ppl do in Pak when I visit:
Yeh lo Pepsi, mujhe pata tha amrika mein bache pepsi peete hain to mein khas tor pe laya hoon.
Beta tumhe charon qul aati hain? This was when i was 21!! And one time this uncle asked me if I knew aayatul kursi and then told me to recite it!! I was feelin kinda embarrassed but he took my pause as proof I didn't know it, so i had to say it in the middle of the drawing room with a bunch of guests! ugh
My chacha to my mom: "Paijen di tankha kinni hoygi?" When my mom was like "Alhamdulillah" my chacha got really chirred and started driving fast.
My uncle: "Munni yeh digital camera bari zaberdast cheez hai, yeh tujhe kitna ka mila tha?"
Mom: $300...18 hazar rupay samajlo
Mamoo: Tere liye to bus 300 rupay hi hongay hain na
My lil cousins were like sooo wideeyed at this analogy...but it's sooo wrong! Whenever I would try to explain inflation, they just acted like I was trying to understate my 'wealth'.
Me: If you want anything, let me know I will bring it for you.
Chacha: Wahan laptops suste milte hain na? Zara mere liye ek laptop le aana.
I was walking around with a towel on my head after a shower and my daadi was very pleased by it, she was like all my other cousins who come from the UK and Canada hamesha iron ya dryer leke beti hoti hain and then my chachi was like bahir ki larkian bohot makeup aur fashion karti hain...guess they think foreign girls are high maintenance. They are not entirely wrong in this perception; I went with shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush, floss,and face wash and I felt like a freak. Some of my relatives don't use any of this stuff!
My maami kept on telling me k tujhe vehm hai k paani yahan ka theek nahin hai, vehm ki wajase hi tu bimaar par jaati hai. I tried to explain to her k hum yahan k paani k aadi nahi hain and she was like didn't your parents drink this water in their childhood? i guess later she realized it wasn't vehm because she was refilling the nestle bottles with normal water for us and I got really sick (not knowing it was the paki water) But take care not to be like "oooh gross" at everything (which I did when I was 15) because to them, they feel like you are saying their home is disgusting.
Well, overall, people in Pak are a lot more accomodating than we give them credit for...I realized this when we had visitors for just 3 days...they were really nice, but I had to adjust my schedule entirely. Imagine if someone came to your place for a month...and on top of that, had special demands for certain types of water and food...it would be really annoying. I try to be aware of that when I go now; I've been able to mingle with my cousins a lot easily than some of my other foreign relatives.