When Kids are good in something you don't Like

What shud one do.

My kids are too good in singing and dancing.

Re: When Kids are good in something you don't Like

Ask them to teach u :)

May I ask why do you not like it ?
You said they are kids. Let them be kids and have fun that's what the kids are supposed to do.

Icon, I know that FBR chairman thread must have scared you, I understand.

kya

ROTFL

I enjoy when they do it but i won't like it if they do it in adulthood for obvious reasons.

you dont do anything...because right now they are kids. it may just pass. so no need to worry about it for now since like you said....ur main concern is what they do into adulthood. if you tell them to stop them may not understand and may think you dont want them to have fun or be happy.

just curious though.....kids tend to learn things from home, peers, or tv.....so where are they learning this from?

Hey, if they like something let them enjoy and develop. My son takes tap dancing lessons. Not what I'd particularly choose but heck, he loves it. And during class, he can focus and pay attention while learning and enjoying. I never get to see him as focused as when he is in his tapping class or his drum lessons. Kids who are into music, dancing, singing....all of these have been shown to be closely related to mathematical ability. So WHAT if you dont have a budding soccer star. You may just have a budding physicist. Anyway, my son is 7 years old now and we decided that we will do private drum lessons which we like better than tap dancing. He loves both, we cant do both - too expensive. So I like to see him drumming more than tap dancing but he gets something he loves too. So if you dont like the dancing, go for something close that they like as much - maybe singing or an instrument.

They are only kids and you should let them dance and sing ....but don't encourage them like everytime when guests are around some parents ask their children " beta chalo uncle aur auntie ko wo gaana sunaao" or " chalo dance ker kay dikhao".

Also, keep in check what they hear or see, if they hear bollywood songs all the time they will be singing those crapy songs, if they hear traditional rhymes they will sing that, if they hear Qur'an they will recite that.

Traditional rhymes are good for vocabulary and rhyming and also for imagination and for Qur'an I don't need to mention the benefits as you're a muslim and you probably know better than I do.

the worst thing you can ever possibly do as a parent is to hate what they do. don't stifle them, don't tell them to never ever do it. what you can do is to tell your kids please don't do it in public, or in front of anyone else, like an aunty or an uncle. give them reasons for why they shouldn't do it when they're teenagers for example. that it's not acceptable in the family/culture, stuff like that.

I agree with Khumar. According to a research most crossdressers're forced not to wear girl's clothes and accessories in their childhood. So sometimes we should just let it go.

haha Iconoclast. My niece is obsessed with being a rockstar nowadays thanks to Hannah Montana and co. so this once her parents asked her what she aspired to be and of course she said a rockstar. but baaj and bro-in-law made it clear to her that it was ok as a hobby and for fun but not as a career so she needs to get that out of her mind. So all of us time to time keep talking about how education is must along with a non-entertainment industry career just so she knows that making a career out of singing is not an option.

hanna montana is a witch did nt u hear about with her vannity fair shoot

OMG, not SINGING and even worse, DANCING, GASP! Tell them to stop that nonsense immediately and concentrate on becoming doctors and engineers.

Peers and tv i guess.

They just see a move and copy it as if they created it.

My sentiments exactly.

Don't worry i used to be good in singing and dancing when i was a kid and look at me now im a good mother and a wife so just chill!:)

hey me too! at age 18, I was in NYC attending top dance studios and going to auditions on broadway. Most times, there would be one or two spots open and there would be over 1000 people vying for those roles. I DID get a callback or two but I quickly realized that if I was going to ever be able to take care of myself, I;d need a "real" career. So I got my BS in computer science, got so very absorbed in it that I forgot all about dancing and made a very nice living for meself. Till I "retired" to take care of my boyz.

Re: When Kids are good in something you don’t Like

Right now my one kid wants to be a rodeo girl,she talks the talk pretty well…:cb:

An American muslim scholar's son wanted to be like his favorite Shaykh (which was a great scholar) and another muslim boy from Saudi wanted to be a CIA agent. I heard this in a lecture.