can expect that from Geordies. ![]()
now now Ehsan ji theres no need to feel jelous
Waisey Geordies acent was also voted the top regional acent and the least was …Brummies:hehe:
It was a biased poll conducted by a geordie. ![]()
Re: When Is Eid In...?
tomorrow here in Turkey INSHALLAH
it is eid today!! :D
nuh!! :snooty: read it and weep
The coolest accents in Britain 2008 | Special report | MSN UK News - news & weather
Atlanta, GA celebrates Eid tomorrow, September 30th.
baki tum sub lartey martay raho ke eid kub hai aur chaand kahan hai aur pata nahi kya kya
It seems as if Eid will be on Wednesday in Chicago............................................
EID MUBARAK TO ALL OF YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :) :)
mullahs ko aab eik electronic seereehi chahiay for moon sighting kay liyay. kiyon keh eid ka kareeb moon mullaaoun sey chuptta phirta hai
phir mullaaon ki badmashi khatam ho jaye gi
Montreal wednesday! Chand nazar nahiN ayaa!!! :)
Chand **dekhna **kis ko ata hai?
Check out the date for “new moon” September 29th, 8:12 PM lol
my friend just informed me that we'll have eid tomorrow. i dont know how that happened as this morning we were told it will be wed. i am very confused. isna is still saying wednesday eid.
Eid is tomorrow, don't worry about ISNA and ICNA bullsh!t. If they had any credibility, we would have *one **organization *(they would form one), not two b!tches running the show.
Re: When Is Eid In…?
The OFFICIAL First Day in Different Countries
Tuesday 30 September 2008:
- Lebanon
- Yemen
- Libya
- Jordan
- Saudia Arabia
- United Arab Emirates
- Kuwait
- Bahrain
Wednesday 01 October 2008:
- Malaysia
- UK
- US
Shawwal Waxing (NEW) Crescent Observation Results
Monday 29 September 2008:
[ul]
[li]Malaysia:[ol][/li][li]Not seen: ICOP member Abdul Majid Abdul Wahid[/li][li]Not seen: ICOP member Kassim Bahali said: "The hilal sighting was held at Khawarizmi Observatory but the hilal was not seen even through the telescope and teodolite. The western sky was totally cloudy. The government have announced that the first of Shawwal begins on wednesday October 1, 2008. Eid Mubarak to all muslim and may Allah forgives us"[/li][/ul]
[li]Norway:[LIST=1][/li][li]Not seen: ICOP member Mr.Imran Mushtaq[/li][/ol]
[li]Burkina Faso:[ol][/li][li]Not seen: ICOP member Mr.Ibrahima Thierno said: "I pass the end of Ramadan in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso), in west Africa. In Monday 29 september, just after maghrib, I have tried to see the crescent by naked eyes, but I haven't seen it"[/li][/ol]
[li]South Africa:[ol][/li][li]Not seen: ICOP member Dr.Abdurrazak Ebrahim[/li][/ol]
[li]Nigeria:[ol][/li][li]Not seen: ICOP member Mr.Qamardeen Y Muhammad said: "I, with company of Abu Aisha try to observe the Hilal of Shawwal at Mongoro Bus-stop this evening, however in spite of clear sky the new hilal is not visible though Venus is seen glowing over the western sky"[/li][/ol]
[li]UK:[ol][/li][li]Not seen: ICOP member Mr.Qamar Uddin said: "...The sky was overcast with clouds so it was not possible to sight the Hilal by the naked eye or binoculars. Many people in other parts of UK have also attempted to sight the Hilal, but they could not do so either. Furthermore, we have been unable obtain any reliable Hilal sighting news from any countries in the East of UK either (excluding Saudi Arabia). Therefore, the Ulama (including Wifaq and Batley) have decided that tomorrow, Tuesday 30 September 2008 shall be 30 Ramadan 1429 AH in UK and 1 Shawwal (Eidul Fitr) 1429 AH will be on Wednesday, 1 October 2008 Insha-Allah (completing 30 days of the month)"[/li][li]Not seen: ICOP member Dr.Muhammad Afifi al-Akiti said: "A group of us attempted to perform the obligatory sighting tonight for the Shawwal crescent in Oxford on 29 Ramadan, Monday 29th September, immediately after Maghrib prayers at the usual site. The local horizon is partly cloudy and the new crescent could not be sighted. By 'Isha time there were no reports of any credible sighting east of our location; rather, we received news of negative sightings in Morocco, South Africa, and Malaysia. Therefore, we should be completing 30 days [istikmal] for Ramadan with the Tarawih tonight, so that the first day of 'Id al-Fitr should, at the earliest, fall in the UK on Wednesday 1 October."[/li][/ol]
[/LIST]
Ramadan Waning (OLD) Crescent Observation Results
Sunday 28 September 2008:
[ul]
[li]Iran:[ol][/li][li]Seen: ICOP member Mr.Alireza Mehrani said:Location: Esfahan, Iran [/li]Latitude: 32° 35' 41.95" N
Longitude: 51° 39' 14.34" E
Elevation: 1789 meters from sea level
Time zone: +3.5
Date: Sunday September 28, 2008 (Mehr 7, 1387)
Temperature: +11 C°
Barometer: 1016 mb
Visibility: 6 km
Wind: 8 kph
Humidity: 44%
Topocentric and local time values from "Moon Calculator" (Refrac off):
File name: amehrani sep 28, 2008-old-1.jpg
Time: 05:20 LT (01:50 UT)
Moon Alt: 5° 24' 37"
Sun Alt: - (8° 18' 24")
Elongation: 14° 39' 29"
Rel Azi: 5° 10' 56"
Moon Width: 0.51'
Moon Phase: 1.84%
Moon Age: 30h 22m before conjunction
Camera: Digital camera (Sony DSC H9)
Focal Length: 58mm
F-Number: F/4.5
ISO Speed: ISO-80
Exposure Time: 1.6 sec
Observer & photographer: Alireza Mehrani
[/ul]
[li]USA:[LIST=1][/li][li]Seen: ICOP member Mr.Jim Stamm said:[/li]Old Moon Crescent Observation Report
Observed: 2008 Sep 28
Location = Tucson, Arizona (USA)
Longitude = 110.9645 W
Latitude = 32.4204 N
Elevation = 842 meters
Time Zone = -7.0 hours
Surface conditions at
Tucson International Airport (805 m):
Temperature = 22 degrees Celsius
Relative Humidity = 47 percent
Sea Level Pressure = 1013 mb
Magnitude limit at 13 degrees altitude with 55 power
in C-8 telescope, before onset of twilight = 11.0
Topocentric and local time values from “Accurate Times”:
Moonrise (at sea level) = 05:32
Sunrise (at sea level) = 06:11
Time from new moon at 06:45 = 17 hr. 55 min.
Moon lag time = 39 min.
Relative Altitude = 4.83 degrees
Elongation from sun = 19.00 degrees
Crescent width = 12 arc seconds
Illumination = 0.62 percent
I was NOT able to see the crescent, even through a telescope. There was a tree branch in the FOV at 7 degrees altitude, so I had to raise my telescope to 13 degrees altitude. I chose to do this rather than move the telescope, so as to practice acquiring the crescent in a brighter sky.
Observer(s): Jim Stamm
[/ol]
[li]Germany:[ol][/li][li]Seen: ICOP Member Mr.Martin Elsaesser said:"Due to autumn fog (visibility<50m) i could not observe the "old" lunar crescent during morning twilight from munich. The fog/clouds departed around noon, so i used the well established realtime-video technique to capture/observe the crescent during the day.The crescent could be easily seen on the monitor for several hours in the afternoon. Later, the crescent vanished in the clouds again, about 1 hour before moonset. Attempts to observe the crescent visually through the same telescope were not successfull, due to low contrast with the remaining haze"[/li][/ol]
[/LIST]
When in both the west and east, ramadan waning cresent was seen on Sunday, how come it could have been seen in KSA. KSA go by the astronomical birth of the moon but they annouce its ruet. Their decsion creates problem for Muslims in the west and create confusion there.
Eid to be on the 1st for Chicago residents.
according to Mccchicago.com and Chicagohilal.com
The OFFICIAL First Day in Different Countries
Monday 29 September 2008:
- Nigeria (claim of sighting)
Tuesday 30 September 2008:
- Saudia Arabia (claim of sighting)
- Lebanon (following saudi)
- Yemen(following saudi)
- Libya (Conjunction before Dawn)
- Jordan (following saudi)
- United Arab Emirates (following saudi)
- Kuwait (following saudi)
- Bahrain (following saudi)
- Iraq (following saudi)
- Sudan (following saudi)
Wednesday 01 October 2008:
- Malaysia
- UK
- US (ISNA)
- Canada (Muslim Council of Montreal)
- Algeria
- Japan (Islamic Center)
- France