Re: When fashion becomes vulgarity ...
CB...dont worry girl...Im right there with ya. I dont understand it so I stay as far away from it as possible. :)
Re: When fashion becomes vulgarity …
CB, they are crack so you have to deal with em differently. they follow the fashion as holy ritual. you should have had asked the aunty jee k tussi is dress wich zayda great lago gay ![]()
ps. yaar be proud to be old-schooler
after all old is gold :roman
Cb u are not old fashion u did the right thing.There should be some differnce between fashion and nudity.Anywayz now a days this thing is so common that u cannot imagine.
Hey CB!! I totally agree with you!! I may not wear hijab but I dress as modest as I can. I may wear jeans/pants and shirts but I try to wear long sleeves or 3/4 sleeves and I try my best to not show unecessary skin. When American people see me dressed they don’t think of me as any different than anyone else cuz I am dressed not only modestly but fashionably as well, if not just as fashionable as women my age today. Half dressed does not automatically equal fashion! I was suprised to see at this stupid Lux award thing in Pakistan that females who are supposed to represent Islam were half dressed. Some were wearing sleevless and/or tummy showing saris and other westerns style dresses revealing shoulders etc. It was so tauba. My aunt and I watched it on Ary at her house and my aunt was just as disapointed as well.Mind you my aunt goes out and works and when she dresses she wears American style clothing that is fashiobale yet conservative. Living in the west means I dress like a western girl but not to the point I lose my morals/values/religious beliefs. I wish I could convince people you can still be fashionable yet covered mostly. Let me post an example of a fashionably dressed woman who is also modest:![]()
Chicken!!!
Keep your feathers on! No need to shed 'em.
HOWEVER, I LOVE YOUR AUNTIES - for GIFTING you such MODERN outfit! I can EXCHANGE ALLLLLLLL of my aunties with your! ![]()
Sell the outfit on Ebay. X2 will model it for you.
If only dressing defined character.
I thought … by now CB posted her pics.. so we can give verdict..
..by this speed.. fashion will be changed.. so come on.. fast !..
Yeah, so the verdict is that I did the right thing and the aunti got it in her face ..![]()
well my entire frustration is directed not towards the aunties or a particular person, but at those people’s mentality who have forgotten their values and use Islam to their benefit when needed and ignore it when not needed !
A muslim woman wants all the islamic rights as a wife/daughter/sister/mother .. but when it comes to following the path, she feels the western women are the best and we should do what they do !!!
Yesterday i was given an excuse by a muslim friend who wears sleeveless and capris and deep necks , she said , modesty is in the heart … as if ! a crap of an excuse !
Yes, modesty is in the heart, and one should try to expose one's modesty as much as one can, now you see the reason for cleavage display, they are only trying to let you see their heart, poor souls, don't berate them for that.
**Rupay **.. that was nicely explained ![]()
**NJMasti **, keep your aunties and take mine as well .. puhleeeseeee ![]()
Phooljari , I totally totally agree with you ![]()
no ur not wrong, u want to dress modestly, good for you.
Nobody is forcing you to wear (well maybe except for those ladies). What's wrong is when we lecture/etc each other, and think ourselves somehow better, whether we wear hijab or wear sleeveless/capris.
I respect women in hijab but I don't think they are any better than the girl who is dressed fashionably.
Completely agree.
In fact I have met many more hijabis in my life that look at a 'fashionable woman' with preconceived notions and state things like "oh shes not modest, oh shes a slut, oh my god shes not a good muslim"
and have rarely seen a "fashionable girl" say something insulting about a hijabi like "oh all hijabis are hypocrites, oh she just wears that out in the public but when shes at a party she takes it off, bla bla"
What these Fashionistas dont seem to understand is that leaving nothing to the imagination is really immodest and the only ones with any imagination are the men staring at you thinking "hmm...i like to get into her pants".
And then you hear the argument "Its my body, I can do whatever I want with it". Yes it is your body but there is something called social responsibility. After all, why dont you walk around naked? If you can show an arm or two, and your capris are revealing your legs higher and higher with every new design..then show your body, your back and even your chest or butt. Why not? Because even you realize that there has to be limitations to public decency.
What I dont understand is why women seem to get caught up in the fashion cattle market. "everyone wears clothes like this" is not a good reason. It shows lack of thinking capability that you are led by others rather than be able to make logical judgement based on your own personal values.
Not all of them say 'everyone wears clothes like this.' But you don't see every muslim woman completely covered up either. If you are gonna go strictly by religious means then a woman should be all covered up. However, a woman that decides not to wear a hijab probably does so because she doesnt think its necessary, or she wants to 'fit into society', or she doesnt feel comfortable wearing it. A girl who wears capris or sleeveless has the same reasons, she feels comfortable wearing it, she likes the way she looks when she wears it, she feels confident, she fits in with society.
Ofcourse if there is a girl in saudi who is always around women that are covered up, she most likely will be covered as well. But most people dont live in such a society and just because women decide to show their hair, arms, legs neck whatever doesnt mean shes any less of a muslim or that shes luring men to gaze at her body.
Yes there has to be limitations. I think its fine for women to wear dresses, capris, whatever they want as long as they dont look like a skank.
I am surprised to see how bitter some women are when it comes to how one decides to dress up. It is a matter of personal choice, each person has a different set of standards and perceptions. It doesn't bother some people how others dress themselves, or have tattoos, or wear jewellery - while apparently to some it is the deciding factor as to whether you are a modest religious woman or a slut.
A decent state of equilibrium could be - ninjas stop judging fashionistas and fashionistas stop judging those ninjas. To each their own. If you dont like bare arms, nobody is forcing you. If you dont like a shuttle cock burka, plus gloves, plus shades, your choice.
Like I said, dressing does not define character - and I can quote examples. If only we could focus on ourselves and get our own stuff straight before pointing fingers and concluding judgments.
Thank yoU! :k:
hear hear janwaar.
ppl give others gifts and they have their own views of life, if you dont like it, give it to charity, or use it as cleaning rags.
I get stuff i dont like due to colour, texture, size, cut, or because I have several similar items already. It goes in a donation box and then goes to donation.
life mein tension waisay hi hoti hai, itni choti choti baaton ki tension lenay ka kya faida..
Well, sadly this is becoming more and more real now. You just stick to your values. That’s all you can really do.
Sara, there is a difference between someone who is dressed fashionably and one who is revealing themselves intentionally. Unfortunately/fortunately as muslims, we know what has been prescribed to us. Yes true Iman is in our hearts, but that still doesn’t make a right thing wrong or a wrong thing right.
I am surprised to see how bitter some women are when it comes to how one decides to dress up. It is a matter of personal choice, each person has a different set of standards and perceptions. It doesn't bother some people how others dress themselves, or have tattoos, or wear jewellery - while apparently to some it is the deciding factor as to whether you are a modest religious woman or a slut.
A decent state of equilibrium could be - ninjas stop judging fashionistas and fashionistas stop judging those ninjas. To each their own. If you dont like bare arms, nobody is forcing you. If you dont like a shuttle cock burka, plus gloves, plus shades, your choice.
Like I said, dressing does not define character - and I can quote examples. If only we could focus on ourselves and get our own stuff straight before pointing fingers and concluding judgments.
Hit the nail on the head!!