When did your countdown begin?

Re: When did your countdown begin?

Baat pakki in Dec 2007 and wedding Dec 2008 InshaAllah! One year of courtship in between:)

Sometimes if the ppl r going through an arranged marriage; time in between is a wonderful thing! Gives them time to know each other, likes and dislikes...mostly to become great friends:)

hehheheh yeah how much fun it would be getting to wear diff ghararas/lenghas----Bunto Kazmi, Nilofer Shahid, Faiza Samee, HSY!!! and diff wedding sets…i mean u can wear a jhumar one time, matta pati another and something totally different another time…! and when one party is over with, you look forward to getting ready again as a bride…ok–i should get out of my la la land heheheh

Talked to parents: January 2000
Official announcement/baat pakki: Summer 2002
Mangni (with proposal letters and such): August 2003
Dholkis: Fall 2004
Wedding: December 2004
Reception in the US: November 2005
Reception in the UK: July 2007

^ WOW!! yours spanned a full five years!
might i ask how come there was a two year wait between talking to parents and baat pakki? i mean, how come your parents agreed? i'm just trying to find context and see if our request for a wedding in 2010 is unreasonable or not.

^ We told the parents, but because we were both still in college and quite young, the parents didn't want to make an official announcement. Neither set had a problem with it, they just weren't ready to announce it to the world. And they didn't get a chance to sit down and talk to each other about it in person. Each of us told our own parents.

ah! makes sense. thanks, lady!

Anything going on in 2008? :D

^ LOL no I think we're done being the new bride and groom :D

Haha.. sweet:p

Who else is counting down?:p

Talking since: December 2005 :)
Baat pakki: December 2007, mA
Engagement/Nikkah: March 15, 2008, mA
Mehndi: December 24, 2008, iA
Shaadi: December 26, 2008, iA
Valima: December 27, 2008, iA
Reception in Pakistan: estimated 2018 (he says we'll go in 10 years with our kids so they don't ask why they aren't present in any of our wedding pictures :P)

i m also with u mmkaki my susar si very sust kabhi koi date kehte hain kabhi koi date..lagta hai apna beta dene ko tayar hi nahi

Baat pakki: May 2004---over the phone

Never met my husband until 15 days before my shadi that was in December 2007

So My baat pakki lasted for about 3 years and 8 months....was hard!!!

same here..
baat paki over the phone-jan 2006 (met hubby a week before the dholki april 2006)
nikah april 2006
reception dec 2008 Inshallah!!
walima..tba 2009...Inshallah!!

a haaa but remember..i didn’t plan my wedding :woho:
plus the way my family was discussing having my nikkah.. i might as well have worn pajamas and rolled outta bed and that was that.. :rolleyes:

i’m glad i had my wedding when I did :0

lol sounds like the same situ that i’m in now.

^ yeah but thats ur in laws doing that right? that must really suck..i remember when i was "planning" the shadi the worst part was the arguing with my mom..that was stresful as heck :(

:( arguing with parents is the worst feeling. for me it's partly the in-laws and partly my dad. he just wants us married asap too so i think sometimes he feels defeated and says 'just do it like they are saying and get it over with'.

^ true. I think once the baat is pakki-ed one year should be the cut off time.

I agree. It varies from couple to couple. If someone is studying/ looking for a job etc. its better to wait. Maybe your brother's in laws will agree to a nikah sooner, if that's possible with your side and not the full wedding? BTW I found the booked the hall before he proposed very cute! You must have known he was going to propose very soon?