This might be a very different kind of question than what is usually asked here but i’m just curious. So, anyway, When did you guys get total freedom from your parents, like you could go out whenever you want, come home whenever you desire? Also, Specify your gender when answering : )
Re: When did you gain total 'freedom'?
Total freedom? After my rukhsati haha. I'm a female.
Re: When did you gain total ‘freedom’?
female and never. still waiting on it ![]()
Ditto. I’m expecting it…never.
Never.
Female.
Never got it because I never wanted it. I am the son, the brother, the husband and my duty is to be there for my loved ones. Not to be "free" of them.
- Im a female. Not married, yet.
After 10th grade!
When I started driving..
Deeba!!! I'm in the same situ. I need a buddy to motivate me to pass though...
Well, I was never in a very strict household...but my dad's always been more conservative. I did go on a couple short trips with my friends but my mom had to convince my dad. Coming back home very late at night was not okay at home, which is fine by me because whenever I knew I had to stay out till late, I'd just crash at a friend's. But once I got engaged, things started to change.
And now that I'm married, it's completely different. My husband doesn't mind when I go and when I come back. Though I don't usually stay out till late when I'm not with him. But it's been interesting because my husband is very different than my dad in that sense. I'm a female, of course you must have guessed by now.
Not yet, waiting on marriage to do that for me. My freedom increased when I got a drivers license, and started college but even after graduation I don't feel I have complete freedom.
When I started college and even more when I started driving. As long as my mum and dad can get me on the phone then I can go wherever and come back late to. I'm female
Sometimes I get away with being out late but not all the time they still get upset with me but if they know its not as bad - not married and female.
After I got my divorce and then lived on my own. Parents always tell us girls you can do what you like after you get married. Yeh right like that’s gonna happen if u end up living with the in laws. I know there are a few very lucky ones out there who do have loving in laws and are allowed to come and go as they please but I’d say rare from what I see in the community around me anyways. Only holiday they allowed is Umrah. Anything else like a weekend away in another city with hubby?? Kiyon? khaana kaun banayga? Acha tho jaana hi jaana hai tho hum bhi saath chalein gai. ![]()
16 (Male)
The chains are all in your head.. if you wanted it real bad..you would've got it by now.......anyone who don't get freedom is because they don't want it that badly.
When did you gain total 'freedom'?
I guess when I turned 19-20. 21 now. but still can't sleep over and no overseas trips woth friends at all. allowed to Stay out till 11pm or 12am. but they're more chill with me going out with friends as far as they know where I am and I'm back by 11-12! can't wait for the day I m allowed to go for
Short road trips with friends (dad says only after I get married) :-)
The chains are all in your head.. if you wanted it real bad..you would've got it by now.......anyone who don't get freedom is because they don't want it that badly.
The chains may be in our head but the disapproval is not... I'd be met with disappointed faces and a mini lecture if I came back too late or traveled too far without too good of an excuse.
My parents were fairly lenient with us so I never really felt suffocated growing up. However total freedom was when I came to grad school in the US. We had a HUGE group and all of us lived in student housing 5 mins from each other. We'd do grocery shopping at 2am, just because we could :-) The university campus was very safe. There were times when I'd work in my lab (i was a research assistant) till the early hours of morning, and then go home and sleep till the afternoon.
Ah, I miss those days!!