What's wrong with desi men?!

Please help me understand what’s wrong with the way I feel. Why don’t you men see any problems with how you treat desi female children & women? Why is it not an issue?

This is only one of the many examples:

By kids you mean male children? Yes, desi parents don’t kick them out but as soon as their daughters turn 18 they start thinking about getting her married. How is this fair?

In my husband’s case and in my family in general, I don’t know a single parent that paid for their kids’ tuition yet expect them to take care of the entire family when they are adults.

There’s so much wrong with what you are saying and you don’t even realize it! First, even if i agree with your statement about parents paying for their kids’ tuition and taking care of them until they get married, it still doesn’t make it right because most desi parents spend twice the money on their male children’s education than the female children. < This is actually something that I see ALL THE TIME!

If it weren’t for their selfish/cultural reasons, they wouldn’t wish for a BOY everytime a woman is pregnant. Can you really deny this? On the other hand, the same parents would start collecting Jehaz for the girl and by the time she is old enough they have enough dowry secured for her marriage.

See, I have spent way more time thinking and analyzing the very culture I come from. These inequalities are so heavily embedded in our society that people don’t think at all about what they are doing. A girl’s emotions are swept under the carpet but nobody wants to correct the problem!

It’s about time we change the way WE think!

Re: What's wrong with desi men?!

Whats wrong with desi men??

Desi women

^ You are not funny...

Like at all...

Re: What’s wrong with desi men?!

I wasn’t being funny…:chai:

blaming it squarely on desi men? I thought desi women has big part in this too (if not equal).

who first think of girls wedding as soon as she is 18? her mom - a woman
who wish for boy the most when girl is pregnant? her saas - a women

list can go on and on.

Let me tell you one thing. As much*** turram khan ***as desi men are seen outside the house, fact of the matter is many of the household decisions are either taken by women OR she has good say in all those decisions (off course there always are exceptions). Outside the household women make it appear that it was husband's decision but most of the time she has her part in those decisions.

How about when you have a baby boy, you raise him the way a 'desi men' should be and play your part as a woman eh?

Re: What’s wrong with desi men?!

^bhai jaan aap ne itni mehnat kyu ki?? :konfused:

^ roza lagha raha hai shayed .... :(

socha kisi ka bhala hee ker doon ...... naikee kama loon

^naiki kar .....darya mai daal

Fits perfectly here :D

Theres always a light down every tunnel dost.

Make sure its not of an on-coming train :)

Hopefully not dost. :)

It isn't as cut and dry as you put it. A woman who has been ordered all her life first by parents then by her husband and inlaws will want to teach her girls how to handle those situations. She won't teach her how to AVOID it altogether. AND No it's not just her mother that thinks about getting her married off, it's her father and her grandparents too.

who wish for boy the most when girl is pregnant? her saas - a women

It's a vicious cycle of abuse. She was probably abused by her inlaws too. She learns her tactics from her mother inlaw and inflicts the same pain of her Daughter in law. Where did this all start? It all goes back to the fact that women are simply controlled by men. They have decided women's fate to stay in a 4-walled house and make babies.

And fathers don't want a boy? Are you serious? They are the ones that care most about having a son. Who else would they carry their legacy?

list can go on and on.

Yes it does!

Let me tell you one thing. *As much turram khan *as desi men are seen outside the house, fact of the matter is many of the household decisions are either taken by women OR she has good say in all those decisions (off course there always are exceptions). **Outside the household women make it appear that it was husband's decision but most of the time she has her part in those decisions.

how would he know if he doesn't even spend much time at home? The truth is a desi woman doesn't get to call her own shots until she is old and has turned into another evil Mother in law.

How about when you have a baby boy, you raise him the way a 'desi men' should be and play your part as a woman eh?

O sure, he will be like the 2nd coming of Jesus :p

I kid He will be a wonderful man, a sensitive, fair, and strong man. My girls will be sensitive, fair, and strong too. :)

Hmm I kinda agree with NomiCA on this one... In that the problem with desi men (and all men in general concerning their treatment of women) is generally speaking that we as women allow them to treat us this way. If the women of the world all taught their sons the real worth and value of a woman then perhaps the world would be better place.

First and foremost mothers should stop favouring their sons over their daughters. They should stop allowing their sons be 'served' constantly by their sisters. All children, whether male or female, should not consider any work 'beneath' them - things like cleaning, washing, cooking, serving, helping others etc. Teach the sone the value of eduacation, then teach him the value of an educated woman. Not only by words but by actions - if the mother uses her skills and knowledge learnt to be productive in the family and in the community it'll teach her children that an educated woman is not a bad thing!

Theorist, honestly I feel your frustrations everyday!! I see inequalities and injustice in people's metalities and it irritates me beyond belief. And I know I can't do anything to change the mentalities of the men (and woman!!!) around me, but inshallah inshallah I have hope in the future generation. At least I'll start it off with my own kids.

Theorist -

My parents spent more on my education then my brothers education.

Just one example of how every family is different.

Very true! It just bugs me a lot when someone here says something so wrong so casually. I don't know why it bothers me so much!

I agree with what you are saying. But see the thing is, when you teach young girls ke tumhara shohar tumhara mizaji khuda hai, I can imagine them wanting to treat them like kings. I don't just blame men for it, i blame our entire society but it had to start with someone, no? A woman would not willingly want to go through all the crap that's thrown in her face.

Isn't it about time we change the way we think? Why can't men understand our issues today? Is it really that hard? We sacrifice our entire lives for them, our parents, our lifestyle yet they don't seem to get what the problem is. That's ridiculous!

Well, you are an exception!

Yea.....just a friendly advice.......talking about it ain't gonna change the world.......so you better DO something about it.........and only thing you can do is........ start with your own children...

you can like.....not let them get into the desi society or company of any desis.....shield them from all the crappy mentality..... so that they are protected from the evils of desis........and that way......you will have created a difference .....

^I don't want to shield them from Desis. I don't hate people and i have said this before. I believe there's good in everybody. That's not my point! My point is why can't you guys understand our problems? Is it psychologically difficult or something?

which problemmmm ... :@:

It's not on GS for me, it's when I hear this sort of crap in REAL life that I get sooo annoyed, so don't worry - you're not the only one! A week or so ago, I had a conversation with someone and I was trying to explain to her that her argument was illogical. She didn't really get it and afterwards I felt so damn frustrated that I ended up writing a mini essay just to release that stress. My friends thought I was nuts, but I guess writing things down help me with dealing with difficult people. A large proportion of my family members have the type of mentality that drives you and I nuts, but you just have to learn to filter it out and get on with life.

Don't bother trying to get men to understand our issues - even the best of them won't completely understand just because they're naturally different to us. I think if you perhaps try to change your perspective - tell yourself the sacrifice you go through is for Allah rather than for the sake of men, then it might be easier to cope with.

On a side note - some desi women I've met are really strange - the worse their male relatives (sons, husband, brothers etc) treat them, the more they'll respect and practically worship them. So yeh. The world is messed up!