What's with the Opera??

Re: What's with the Opera??

it is one thing to mimic......to recreate at a comparable level is entirely another thing.

queen....while you may be able to "sound like" what you are hearing in these recordings, if you were to witness the training, skill and sheer power in the lungs required to sing opera you might feel differently.

Re: What’s with the Opera??

You might be true Muzna but that’s what the thread is all about… I just don’t LIKE it :bummer:

and I know what I am talking about :slight_smile: No, I am not talking about mimic… I am talking about the Opera singing. Of course I am not a pro Opera singer because I don’t WANT to be, it’s just not MY interest… but if I were to say that I love Opera… I am sure my plenty of Operas here in VG forum would have made you all believe that :hehe: that if I am not a Pro Opera Artist, then at least I can sing it well.

You know Tansen? He was known for pakkay raag paat. People said, he had such a power in his voice that when he would sing, it used to rain…when he would sing, people used to cry and what not used to happen. So the Pros you all are talking about here are ones, who are capable to make such wonders happen. No, I DONT DECLARE TO BE ANYWHERE NEAR THEM, neither as an Opera Singer nor as a classical hindustani or Pakistani Singer. I am just good at singing and that’s what I am saying about the Opera..

So please yaro, saying I am great at Opera doesn’t mean that I am an Opera Pro. :smack:

Queen, post an opera performance of yours in vg and show it to them shakkee loug.

wait…

:hmmm:

That was a sincere suggestion/request, queen. You do have a very nice professional voice, so it would be great listening to you singing opera

I respect your suggestion TLK but truly I would never want upload here something which I feel funny... I mean, yeah, that's what I said about Opera, it sounds funny to me and I don't enjoy it at all. So you see, how can I upload here something I don't enjoy singing..

^ Now that makes sense. :k: I take my request back

I can too sound like an.opera singer. All day long. Shouting and.screamin at the kids...the windows rattle...the ground shakes.. the neigh ours hear...

Oh. That's NOT the opera? Oh.. hmm... I thought.... Loud noise...cry like...opera....

:ignorant hilly billy mom:

:slight_smile:

Just because they don’t talk about dhumka laga-ing and beeri jala-ing doesn’t mean it’s not beautiful. And just because someone else enjoys is doesn’t mean you have to enjoy it. :hehe:

You have a nice voice, don’t get me wrong. I’m sure you can mimic or try to sound like you’re singing opera, but I highly doubt you can express the emotions behind the words the way that they do. And yes, they are singing words. They’re not just trying to reach high octaves and hold a note for as long as humanly possible. There is always a story behind their words.

If you ever get the chance to witness an opera performance, I’d highly recommend it. It’s such a moving art.
… Just like a really good bollywood movie/ drama. You get so into it because you’re emotionally attached.

^maaf kardo yaar meeee haath joring :hehe:

:konfused: … for what? You said you don’t get it. So I was explaining it to you :smack:

Bakki sab ko itna thok k jawab diya aur mujhe avein chutti de di! :grumpy:

lol… dear…the part you told me about how it feels..I totally agree…

the part you too misunderstood me for… is :pullhair: to me :bummer:

Queen, would love to hear you sing regardless of what you think of your voice, let us be the judge, talent requires admiring :)

If you are not talking about mimicking queen, then I’m going to respectfully challenge you on this. I would like to hear you sing Opera. Please pick one that you least dislike, because I don’t want you to sing something that you don’t enjoy.

Yes…you can sing well. I have heard at least one recording that you have posted here in GS. I’m not sure if you posted anything classical in Urdu or Hindi but if I recall correctly I believe that I heard you sing a bollywood song.

Opera is an entirely different thing and if you are confident that you can deliver then, once again, I respectfully request a performance.

To be perfectly honest queen…when you say that you are “great” at anything it means that you can rival the professionals because they are the only ones that the general public would dare to classify as “great”. And when you make such grand statements then people will ask you to walk the walk and not just talk the talk.

I’m not sure what the purpose of starting this thread actually was. Were you keen to understand opera and understand it’s significance in the music industry? Were you interested to know what drives people to be so passionate about it? What exactly were you looking to discuss?

Ok. But I’d need time. Time to at least hear some opera that I will sing for like more than 25 times. Its not because of the learning purpose. It’s because of digesting it and getting it on my nerves enough to sing to it for you all. I dont promise but I surely promise to at least try what I can do for you. I would have certainly promised straightaway if I weren’t pregnant but you and Khatti and all mothers out there know very well that how much breathing problem you have in pregnancy..its my peak time and I am MashAllah in my sixth month… I would first make sure that I don’t hurt my baby because Opera DOES need a lot of breathing tacts .. so yes, I can’t assure I will upload anything soon, may be not during my pregnancy!! If I am unable to handle the breathing issue due to my pregnancy, then I won’t sing it regardless of whatever anyone here would think about me. Whether it makes me a “bhaag gayee” larki thing!!

About great, yeah My mistake … it would have been more better if I had put the word “at least” before “that great”, So now, “I’m at least that great” makes some sense. So no, its not about talk and walk thing.. it’s about what I feel convenient about and I am sure the convenience and comforts are respected here :slight_smile:

My reason for posting this thread was whatever but not certainly the Challenge I was putting towards Opera Pros but I guess almost everyone thinks it as a challenging thread. I don’t know where I failed to clear my opinions in this thread but the solely reason was to discuss/share with you all that I hate Opera. I don’t think the forum is only about “discussions” but you can share what you feel too… (and in limits) and I did nothing wrong I guess.

So again you got me wrong with the grand statement that I made. My statement was all about that it’s not something I can NOT do, but maybe I messed up with the words and I am feeling here like a man who messaged his wife, “I wish you were her” and missed the letter “e” :frowning:

P.S, Muzna, please be entertained :slight_smile: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/gupshup-voice-gallery/619498-me-and-my-songs.html
I am more surprised that you are actually challenging someone without hearing someone… Just once, wouldn’t make a difference :blush:

queen…I suspect that something is getting lost in translation here.
can anyone see what I mean and explain it in a different way?

Would YOU mind explaining? :)

mm ok let me try. It's like someone (who is not even a Fine Arts major) paints a copy of the famous Mona Lisa and claims the replica is just as great. In fact, by the arrogant tone that the message is delivered in, it actually sounds more like, "psh what is all the hype about this Mona Lisa? Look, even I can paint it. In fact, I can do it better than the original artist and I'm not even a pro!"

OR

Are there any poets here on GS? Have you ever faced a situation where someone, who hardly knows a thing or two about Urdu sher-o-shayari rules, takes a stab at writing a ghazal and thinks just because it rhymes and the sentences are somewhat equal length, it qualifies as a ghazal?

Hawaayi claims like these are annoying because you don't know the abc of a subject; you don't understand the significance of what makes something truly inspirational yet here you are claiming to be "at least as great" the pros.

Queen, I have listened to a few audios you have posted in the voice gallery section. You have a good voice and you can sing better than an average person. But, I'm sorry, you don't have full mastery over singing. In a lot of places, your voice shakes or you are off beat. No offense, but even if you were as good as whichever-singer-you-think-you-sound-like, arrogance is not an attractive feature at all. And I think that is what is turning everyone here off.