Whats with the image files in signature?

g3nu1n3, yaar hamara forum, hamaray rules? kya samjhay :D

Yes you are right about the bandwidth compusmption. Also hotlinking images hosted on other websites is considered bad internet ettiquette. You are effectively stealing someone else's bandwidth that way. And when that website goes down or the images get removed, we are left with broken links and "red x" pictures. Thats why hotlinking is not allowed. You may get away by posting a few hotlinked pictures but sooner or later you will be noticed.

An yes ive seen lots of fora where users are allowed to have long signatures and big picrtures in their sig, even hotlinking is allowed. But then there are users who post three or four words in posts and all you see is their long signature and/or posts. It becomes annoying after a while. If that works fine for those BBs, more power to them. Different strokes for different folks :>

Admins call PHP expert

:devil::devil::devil::devil:

digitalboy, you are asking for it. I advise that you remove the image from your sig before you lose access to your profile altogether.

*Originally posted by 5Abi: *

agar members naa hoon tou forum ka achar dalna hai kya

digitalboy, you are asking for it. I advise that you remove the image from your sig before you lose access to your profile altogether.

nookar hain naa ... kar dien gay

digitalboy, did you notice what Sh3ry signature says?

Idiot.

digitalboy, did you notice what Sh3ry signature says?

i think
this idiot is for GS Administration

are you Sh3ry with a new face?

no…check my IP and trace route

If u can:nook:

Digtal Boy :k: :k:..

they hav to show that we r on a paki forum .. they changed my sig. too .. they go into the other users profile and do watever they want.. in logon ko PRIVACY naam kee cheez ka pata hee nahi ho ga.. they cant even pm us to remove pics

PAKISTANIS ZINDABAD :jhanda:

5Abi yaar, you know that some sites like imageshack, photobucket are meant to provide image/flash hotlinks, so that should not be a problem ... moral or technical.

The GS members are not USED-TO having images as sigs so they are bound to abuse it more in the start. As things cool down, they will know what the norms are. See the text sigs, a lot of people keep constraints not to make the sigs too long, becouse this is what they see other people doing. With time the same should happen with image sigs.

The mods will have to work hard in the beginning, to keep checks, but thats what mods are for, to keep balance.

Anyway its Your site ... so do what ever you like, that was just my opinion ... atleast i have the right to express that.

Yes you are right about the bandwidth compusmption. Also hotlinking images hosted on other websites is considered bad internet ettiquette. You are effectively stealing someone else's bandwidth that way. And when that website goes down or the images get removed, we are left with broken links and "red x" pictures. Thats why hotlinking is not allowed. You may get away by posting a few hotlinked pictures but sooner or later you will be noticed.

An yes ive seen lots of fora where users are allowed to have long signatures and big picrtures in their sig, even hotlinking is allowed. But then there are users who post three or four words in posts and all you see is their long signature and/or posts. It becomes annoying after a while. If that works fine for those BBs, more power to them. Different strokes for different folks :>

Folks, let me make it clear. The reason why images are not allowed in signatures, is because it distracts from the discussions. Same reason why we don't allow super-sized or very animated avatars, long custom titles and long signatures. This is a discussion forum, and so the focus should be on your post and your message and not on the signature (which has usually nothing to do with the topic under discussion).

Anyone who has a long signature usually gets a polite PM at first to get it within the 3 lines limit. Only if they chose to ignore it, then the signature is reduced. If someone's signature was tempered without giving them an opportunity to fix it themselves, then I apologize. Having said that, I will appreciate if all members cooperate with this.

Thanks.

ps. If you have a really cute image, which you really want to share on Gupshup, please use our Image Gallery, instead of tacking it in your signatures. :)

^ huh i never got any pm vm.. some underage admin restict me from changing my profile.. any comments?

What were you trying to do? Testing the system? :)

one of your IDIOT admin....instead of giving warning....he/she writes IDIOT in profile

BETTER teach that IDIOT

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
What were you trying to do? Testing the system? :)

we r having wise discussion here

abb mar gaye

why only me??

u just showed u pakiness :jhanda:

bari fazool administration hai

remove this forum

*Originally posted by digitalsurgeon: *
putting images in the sig is a bad idea to begin with, plus

saying that is just lame ^ ! it's just you, who has showed himself!

xcuse me i m not talkin to u.. so please keep Quiet. Thanx