… US based TV commercials aired on Geo TV?
They are pathetic. They seem more like home video of some sort. US is the GARH of the technology.. Even pakistani ads are better than those pathetic cheap commercials.
I was watching TV today and one ad popped up of some chinese resturant in NY, in which 2 chinese dolls were dancing and the song runnign behind it went…
“Ne haw - Ne Haw.
---- ka Chinese khana khao”
waghaira waghaira …
this is only one example other are even more ‘sar peetnay walay’ ads.
I was about to open a thread on something similar. These ads are so retarded. I can't seem to figure out if it's the lack of professionalism in the advertising field due to which there are so many ads or if the clients are brain dead and they prefer to stick with senseless ads.
In any case, Khan Baba ad is quite retarded. Towards the end of the ad you have this man going muah I love khan baba!
Then nothing beats the Best Health Care ads. I've never seen ads as retarded as theirs where this one lady is BSing about how your daughter's so quite ever since she came to the US and then she suggests that the other lady should take her daughter to Best Health Care. Then another retarded version is where larki tells her abbu ji to get his sugar level tested at Best Health Care, as she cannot trust other places.
Then there's another retarded doctor who likes to show his house and everything in the ad. I mean what does it have to do with your medical practice?
Al Naimat sweets and restaurant ad is just bad as the rest. It took me ages to figure out they're singing 'al naimat bha'ee al naimat'.
Oh! I almost forgot the Kashmir Pharmacy ad. So not only is it a pharmacy, but it also happens to be a choorion ka stall, kapron ki dukaan, and God knows what else it is that they sell there. Achee khasi pharmacy ka baira ghark kar deeya.
The only ad I like is the Brown's Halaal Chicken where the uncle lists the items on the menu in a decent manner.
These ads drive me mental. Jahalat ki koi limit nahi inn ads mai.
These ads you see on TV are by independent business owners mostly running small businesses. The costs of hiring an ad agency to do your commercial can sometimes be unbearable by small businesses hence they do their own ads. The ads you see on TV in pakistan are mostly by large companies who can afford the services of an ad agency. Remember these small businesses are feeding at times lots of families and anybody who has a small business in the west would know how tough it is.
Ofcourse, when desis take it upon themselves to shoot their own ads.. the result is.. well.. on TV already. :p
kurianjani, I hate the hospital ad that you're talking about.
sadaf, Brown's chicken still isn't all that bad. I like it very much Tameez kay dairay may reh kar advertise kar rahay hain.
Captain Lota, it's not entirely about not having enough money to be able to have a good advertise. It's about using common sense and not acting as if though one is mentally challenged when it comes to creating ads.
All they need is a camera, a decent script, and foremost a brain to be able to produce a decent ad.
kickboxer, I agree. I hate that advertise as well.
Sadiyah. People like us take canadian standard common sense for granted. Most desis whose commercials you see on TV are not so blessed. Most of them have immigrated to Canada at some point in their lives and after a certain age it is just impossible to incorporate within yourself the locally prevailing standard of common sense. These people who make their own ads, to them these ads are probably oscar worthy gems of cinematography, by their own paindu common sense standards that is.
A lot of inhouse common sense exists within cultures that isnt usually able to cross cultural boundaries. In pakistan two guys can walk together holding hands (not that they have to) but even if they do they will not be labelled as homosexuals. Therefore common sense in pakistan will not raise any alarms regarding this issue. Common sense in canada however says that if you dont want to be seen as gay, dont hold hands.
You have to keep in mind these people are runnings these businesses and have come to the point where theyre expanding and naturally with expansion comes commercials on TV. Having achieved all this, it should be fair to say these people arent stupid or lack common sense. They just havent assimilated in the local culture as much as we have.
As annoying as they are, you've to agree whatever they do is making them stand out - hence the topic of discussion here. Their mission is accomplished.
Captain Lota, I'm not talking Canadian standards. I'm just talking delivering the message decently without getting on the audience's nerves. Kher like Sehar said, the silliness gets their purpose served.