Whats up with the one-way gift giving?!?

Pinky5786, your MIL definately meant that she wants your family to give gifts to the whole khaandan. More power to you if are chosing to give gifts to the immediate family. The whole process is draining mentally, emotionally, physically and now add on the financial strain. This is not pakistan folks its Amreka lol. Most families are mid class with more than one child. All of this gift giving should be from the heart, not forced. Happiness is never forceful or draining. It is suppose to be able happy memories. (right?) I agree with Paliz, sadly when Pakistan was founded we left India but thats about it we sadly took the Hindu rasams with us mixed it with religion. Yea Paliz, the last time I checked islamically the girl was NOT a burden for her family but rather happiness. Weather you have your wedding/Valima in a banquet hall, a 5 star hotel, your back yard as long as you are happy the other side is happy thats all that should matter. At that time when everyone is happy this wanting to give gifts just becomes second nature. For example, when a friend goes out of her way to do something for you or has been just a good friend to have. Most probably when her birthday or another ocassion arises you will WANT to give her something nice but if she sits there and tells you I want this and that its VERY unflattering usually follwed by a rather unpleasent response from you. Maybe not to her face.

Before I read about it on the Wedding forum, I had never heard of the term "jahaiz/jahez" before. I'm still a bit uncertain about the concept: is it a traditional requirement, like 'dowry', or an expected bribe, like 'baksheesh'?

Either way, I wasn't aware that the bride's side was expected to provide for anything other than the Nikah ceremony and the clothes worn by the bride and groom to said ceremony (and even then, I'm on a strict BYOJ policy: Bring Your Own Jorah).

Re: Whats up with the one-way gift giving?!?

yea me neither.... but i have come to learn that the bride sides is expected to provide a LOTTTT ..........

^ :rotfl: lol

Yea… Shukriya… humara wazan chuka rahey ho. Here is our way of thanking you for doing this.

:bummer: Sucks… but it does make the connotations behind it seem that way due to it being one-way.

Yea… as much as I want a beautiful shaadi… my guilty conscious always outweighs everything.

Hm… Pinky…it sounds like your MIL DOES want you to do the whole khandaani gift giving. She used the reverse psychology way of getting the point across. Kinda like how kids ask their parents if they can do something… and parents say “well in my opinion I wouldn’t do it… but it’s your life so you can decide”. :smack: And you totally know that they are basically telling you not to do it. But PROPS to you for choosing not to do it.

So a small update to u guys on my confusion about the gift-giving situation. I had a luvely lengthy discussion about this topic with my mamma and found out that in our family we only give presents to the very immediate family. Not extended. I told her that in my fiance’s family I have been able to figure out that they definitely follow the tradition of giving gifts to all the extended family. My mom in a nice and simple way basically said “thats not happening” :cb: lol. She said she was stressing about it before… but has come to a conclusion that she should stick to our own family’s tradition. She was like um yea… we will literally go broke if we did the whole extended family gift giving thing… my fiance has like 32 aunts and uncles combined that she knows of so far. She has no idea how many cousins my fiance has (more than 25 for sure she says) and since my Fiance is one of the younger ones in the family… most of his COUSINS are MARRIED and have kids of their own :smack: . My mom was like yea… it looks bad if we gifts to some extended family and not others… so its better not to give to any of them.

I then later was talking with my fiance and brought up the ridiculous one-way gift giving tradition… I told him that I know his family is all about it… but that my family doesn’t take it to the level his family does. I was like dude… how many extended relatives do u even have?!? Like aunts and uncles and cousins??? He was like in all honestly… I have no idea… way too many thats for sure… u guys better not start getting them presents… u will go broke. I was dying… he basically repeated the same thing my mom had said! :omg:

So I know where my mom stands on it…and where my fiance stands on it… I also know where my in-laws stand on it (on the opposite side of fiance and mom)…

To be continued…

Weird. I know here in the States the groom's side often purchases jewelry, clothing and even accessories (ostensibly for the bride to wear at the Walima), which are then gauchely displayed at the Nikah or Mehendi, but I didn't know they expect anything in return.

To Hell with 'jahaiz': I don't think I would marry into a family whose members couldn't afford to *clothe themselves!*

LoL - Im from the states too....and honestly I think people are just too ashamed to talk about this stuff. It's all done and said behind closed doors. No larkay walay are going to admit that they are expecting or god forbid even demanding Jahaiz and gifts. And no larki walay over here wants to talk about all the stuff they have to hand over to the guy's side. Its kinda embarrassing .... atleast that is what my mom says.

Dude - Jahaiz goes well beyond clothes..... go to the Jahaiz thread. Stuff like bedroom furniture, dinner sets, tvs, etc. is given by the girl side.

We are only giving clothes to grooms mom and his sisters. I cannot believe people expect presents for all their relatives! that is ridiculous. I am not taking any jahez either, just some clothes for myself.

I honestly can't imagine that this behavior is that common here, unless the families involved are FOBs; most people here can afford to clothe themselves and won't really marry someone who can't. Maybe I'm not from a community that puts much emphasis on "jahaiz/jahez".

China sets are traditionally picked out by spouses shortly before the wedding, but here in the States a dude who couldn't afford his own bedroom furniture or TV would be considered a broke loser and not 'marriageable' material; if he expected his wife or her family to buy those things for him, he would then be considered a "mooch". No chick in her right mind would marry such a person.

it's just too much burden on the girls parents.

i mean they have to gifts gold jewellery watches and loads of clothes to everyone immediate and extended family
to top it off, lots and lots of jahez with all the crockery and furniture and electronics

then arrange for two or at least three functions (engagement, mehndi, barat)

and MOST IMPORTANTLY ...giving the daughter away too :(

it's sad ...isnt it.

am already stressing how my parents would manage the entire shadi, with SOO much inflation and high rates of gold in Pak

No one in my family gave gifts to larkay walay or vice versa.. I didn't even take jahaiz (both of us husband and wife bought everything on our own in Pakistan as I lived there for six months after rukhsati) However, my mom insisted on giving gold and clothes to me.. gold is sitting in the bank since I dun like to wear any..I bought only 10 kaam walay joray and I have worn them all at least once.. I am over and done with my jahaiz ke kapray too :D

Its not about affordability at ALL - its all about traditions and customs people have in their own families. And most parents here ARE FOBS.... they came from Pakistan and settled here. Their ideals and customs and culture is still Pakistani. "Jahaiz" is one of the things that come along with this. Some families may not put emphasis on it..... and what people want to give or not give is upto them as well.. but I doubt its a "community" thing. The more people I talk about this, the more I am finding out about how common it is..... even here. And these are people that live in all different parts of America. Not one particular community.

It's not about what the dude can and will buy..... its not about how rich he is. Lets be real.... most paki families and guys here are pretty well off in my opinion. Middle class atleast. This tradition has nothing to do with what the girl and guy do and dont want. It's about his parents and the girl's parents. Some girl's parents feel obligated to give these things to her daughter for her to live a comfortable life .... even if the guy's family says its unnecessary. And some guy's families do ask or hint at the fact they expect this........not even necessarily for the couple's OWN place (if they are living apart).... alot of times its to furnish the guy's bedroom in his parents house so that its "set up" when the couple comes and visits them. That is the mentality atleast.

Props to all the families that are moving away from this. It is a messed up custom that does exist in our culture and is a financial hardship on girl's families.

But this thread is about the one-way GIFT GIVING.... a whole separate entity than "Jahaiz" itself. Another tradition that is in our culture. And again...how much a girl's family feels giving or how many people in the laws they want to give gifts to ...varies from family to family. But this one-way gift stuff does exist and is very prevalent...

:hugz: I know… its honestly too much… and the high rates in gold are everywhere.. not just Pak unfortunately :frowning: My mom is like omg…why didn’t we buy stuff years ago :smack:

:yahoo: Thats awesome! I wish more families were like yours in this regard! It’s also really nice to hear that you have worn your kapray and that they didn’t just sit there in suitcases like I hear alot of girls saying! Very reasonable. :smiley:

I honestly didnt know people still *do this and *still believe in doing this. My bfs mum has already bought me stuff. And my bf has never *said that i need to buy anything or bring anything. As for the furniture i wud expect to buy all that *with my husband. His family bought everything *for his brothers wife. And didnt expect *anything *in return. Also when my uncle got married all i remember was his wife phoning up all the time asking what kinda dresses and jewellery she wanted and we *never asked her for anything. Its all about the girl and what she *wants. I have *never ever heard that the girls *side has to buy *anything *like that for the guys.. Ever
I only remember *back in the day
when my uncle got married his wife bought new furniture for the house. Then later took it all with her when they bought their own house.
Seriously... Marriage is all about the girls side, My bfs dad is so *nice he never rushes anything he *never *demands anything his mum is also *so *nice shes even giving *me *her jewellery set that she wore on her wedding day *to me *not her *daughters. Can you believe that??? Mashallah.. I feel blessed. :)

As for expectations, I think if brides think it's wrong for their parents to give them stuff, they should treat their inlaws the same way. It's not fair that my parents don't give me anything, and my inlaws start buying stuff for me- it's my husband's responsibility, not his parents', even if they are doing it out of niceness.

In my case, I told my parents I will not be taking jahez, and I told my inlaws the same thing regarding baree. None of the parents should be put under any pressure to give me clothes, jewelry, furnish my house or anything like that. It is my husband's responsibility to provide me with all of that, not his or my parents'. And honestly, I find it odd when girls feel the need to step into a completely furnished house and have everything as soon as they start their married lives. It won't kill them to not have it all set up, you can always do that with time and your money.

InshAllah I plan on doing and saying the same thing Pareezay. I totally agree 100% with you on everything. :lifey: My fiance is on the same page as well. It is his responsibility to provide for me …and koi baat naheen that we dont have every household thing all at once. It’s all about “building” a life together right? :slight_smile:

That's a shame.

I would contend that most parents expecting jahaiz are FOBs, but not all FOB parents are expecting jahaiz/jahez/whatever. Mine certainly aren't.

Well, I'm not familiar with the aerodynics of fecal matter elsewhere in the USA, but where I come from: this $hit don't fly! I'd never heard of jahaiz/jahez/dude-moochery before coming to GupShup.

The assumption being: if he doesn't already have it, he should at least be able to afford it.

The assumption being that he probably is, if a random chick was willing to marry him.

Even in the West, married couples' families will often help out financially, if the couple is still in school or just staring out. Any concerned parent would try to help out his/her kid(s), regardless of ethnicity.

I'm utterly speechless!

More power to the inlaws for managing to mooch off the bride (I thought that was the groom's territory)! I guess Brokey McDowry had to learn his mooching skillz from somewhere.

Until I read about it on the Wedding boards, I wasn't aware that there were families that hadn't; I thought we'd left dowries back in India!

Wait, I thought that what Jahaiz/jahez was; now I'm confused. :-/

I can literally say that I am in the exact same situation ...sentence to sentence ...and I am engaged. My MIL has bought me gifts and cooks food for me all the time. When I got ill, she wanted me to come over to their place so that she can properly take care of me, she has also said that she is giving me her shaadi set as opposed to her own daughter. I literally can't even imagine my FIL asking for anything other than a hug.

But this does not make me think that jahaiz and gift giving is dead. We are Pakistani and its in our culture. How each family deals with it is their own thing. But to say that its shocking it even exists is a bit naive. By reading this thread and the Jahaiz read, one can realize that this stuff definietly goes on so its good to be aware of it.

All these expectations and traditions arise once the actually shaadi is getting closer and closer in my opinion. People get worried about what people will say.....relatives start putting pressure about "what is the right thing to do" and emphasize customs and traditions that have been done in the family. Its too early for you to predict what the situation will be with your bf's parents.... and its even way too early for me to predict this with my own inlaws and I'm engaged. As my mamma says.... dekhi jai gi. Every family is different...

There is no custom of jahaiz in my family ... but there is that of gift giving. I learned this now.... after getting engaged and inquiring about it after reading about it on the boards.

U might totally be right that your guy's family may not expect anything... and YOUR PARENTS might not want to give you anything except for the main obvious things....

But I agree with Pareezay in that it shouldnt be about "anyone's side". Neither in-law should feel burden at all or even have to give too much. Its a moment of happiness.... not expectations. The guy's family shouldnt have to buy anything more than the main obvious things as well (valima outfit, jewelery to go with it, etc.). Anything more than the main things for the event is excessive in my opinion.

The husband should provide his wife with whatever he can that is in HIS own budget after the shaadi.

why do some inlaws even expect jahaiz and gifts, what are you, a mall? :rolleyes: for my daughter it’ll be a trade off, you give me 5 goats, I give you my daughter.

On a serious note, I personally think it is wrong to put such a burden on a girls parent, that includes the girl herself. If you want lavish wedding with all the pretty clothes, best pay for it yourself.

I would contend that every parent expecting jahaiz are FOBS because most of our parents were born in Pakistan and not here … hence they are FOBS :smack:. And yes… obviously some parents don’t expect anything. As I have written many times … this is a matter that differs from family to family. My parents certainly dont expect it either. It is something that isn’t practiced in our family even in Pakistan and hasn’t been done for over a few generations now. But just because my parents and khandaan don’t practice this…doesn’t mean no one does… that would be naive of me to think that.

Me neither!!! But I have realized that it does exist. Mabey everyone in your Community does not let this fly. More power to you. Hopefully you will marry someone from your exact community and not end up with someone who is from “fecal matter elsewhere in the USA”. lol

One can help out all they want. That is not the issue. The issue is the expectation that lays with the Brides family to provide the “helping” no matter what in our culture and traditions.

Yea me neither. Seriously - no clue. So then I read about it and asked my mom and brought it up in conversation with other girlfriends of mine. And I learned.

Please refer to this thread —> http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/393566-how-much-jahaiz.html

My thread was more to do with the gifts that a brides family is expected to give to “celebrate” the shaadi. It’s stuff given to the guys family members (immediate and sometimes extended). Things like gold jewelery for the guys mom and sisters, expensive joras, suits and watches for the men, etc. Jahaiz is a tradition where a girls family is expected to provide stuff for the COUPLE’S use themselves.

So yea - two totally different things/issues…

U know??? My mom and I were debating that mabey some inlaws expect jahaiz and gifts because they practice the custom themselves in THEIR family… so then its kinda like ok… its our turn now to get the gifts and jahaiz… time to get our money back that we have spent. I mean… it sounds lame but I can kinda see some people’s soch being messed up like that. Kinda like when people give a birthday gift… but u know they are the type of people that expect gifts on their own birthdays since they always give. It totally takes away from the true meaning of gift giving. It should be one’s marzi if they want to give a gift to someone… but I’m sure we all have experience with that feeling that a certain someone is expecting a present so we HAVE to give it to them. :smack:

Yup…lots of girls get too caught up in the shaadi itself as well. THen they get upset that they didn’t get this or that. Again one should always keep the focal point that this is a celebration… not a shopping spree. lol. And one should always be the most excited about starting the new life with the significant other!!! Pretty clothes and jewlery etc are all bonuses in my opinion.

And if they want pretty things for themselves and their homes… there is SO much time in the future for a girl to acquire these things… together with her hubby :slight_smile: