whats the sunnah, of what to do before eating?

:maulvidis

madni phool

EATING CORRECTLY ACCORDING TO SUNNAH

ISLAMIC ETIQUETTES OF EATING AND MASNOON DUAAS

1. It is Sunnah to wash both hands before meals.

1. Say 'BISMILLAH' before commencing to eat. The food on which 'BISMILLAH' is not recited, Shaytaan also partakes of it.
    2. When one has forgotten to say 'BISMILLAH'. He should say BISMILLAH AWWALUHU WA AAKHIRUHU when he remembers during the meal.
    3. When invited out, before beginning to eat one should say 'BISMILLAH WA ALA BARAKATILLAH'.
    4. It is Sunnah to have the head covered when having meals.
    5. It is Sunnah to sit on the floor and eat, the sitting posture should be that of the Tashahhud in Salaat, or with one thigh raised or to squat.
    6. Allah showers His Blessings on those who have their meals in company.
  2. The food should be on the dining place before sitting down for meals.

1. It is Sunnah to eat with the right hand. One should not eat with the left hand without a valid reason, for it is said the Shaytaan eats with the left hand.
  3. It is Sunnah to eat with three fingers i.e. the thumb, the index finger and the middle finger. The fourth finger should be used when eating very soft foods.

4. Begin by helping yourself or eating from the food that is in front or nearest to you. One should not begin by taking from the centre of the plate. Where there is a variety of food, sweetmeats and fruit in one utensil one may select and eat from wherever one wishes.

5. To eat very hot steaming food is against the Sunnah.

6. To blow in to the food to cool it is against the Sunnah.

7. To lean against the wall, or to recline while having meals is against the Sunnah.

8. When one does not like some types of food, dislike for it must not be expressed. It is better to remain silent and abstain from eating disagreeable foods.

9. When one has eaten food which has an unpleasant or strong smell e.g. raw onion or garlic etc, the mouth must be thoroughly cleaned so that no offensive smell is left, especially when in company.

10. If one eats with a person with an infectious disease this Duaa should be read:

'BISMILLAHI THIKATAN BILLAHI WATAWAKULAN ALAIHI'

Trans: In the name of Allah, with confidence in Allah and humbly trusting Him.

1. If there is a little food left in the plate, it should be all eaten.

2. If a morsel has fallen from the hand, and it is possible to eat it, one should do so.

3. After meals the fingers should be licked. First the middle finger, then the index and lastly the thumb.

4. It is Sunnah to wash the hands after meals.

5. This duaa should be said after eating:

'ALHUMDULILLAHIL LAZI AT AAMANA WASAKANA WA JA ALNA MINAL MUSLIMEEN

Trans: Praise be to Allah, who fed us and gave us drinks and made us Muslims.

1. It is Sunnah to use a tooth pick after meals.

2. Guests should recite this Duaa for the host after the meals:

'ALLAHUMMA BARIK LAHUM FEEMA RAZAKATAHUM FAGHFEER LAHUM WARHAM HUM'.

Trans: O! Allah. Bless them in that which You have provided them. And forgive them and have Mercy on them.

1. It is Sunnah to accompany the departing guests to the door.

2. Before drinking milk read this Duaa:

'ALLAHUMMA BARIKLANA FEEHI WAZIDNA MINHU'.

Trans: O! Allah. Bless us in this (food) and increase us there from.

Its seems ok, but the author has not provided any reference from Quran or Hadith. Why doesen’t the author have time to look up the source before asking others to get it framed? It would be better if whatever we say about the Prophet :saw: we quote it and not add or subtract from ourselves.

The Etiquettes of Eating

1. How to Begin [1]

When a Muslim begins to eat, he should begin with the name of Allaah. As the Prophet Muhammad said: *‘When one of you eats, he should mention Allaah's name (i.e. say ‘Bismillaah); if he forgets to mention Allaah's name at the beginning, he should say (when he remembers): I begin in the name of Allah at the beginning and at the end of it ( Bismillah awwalahu wa Akhirahoo).” *

The Prophet explained that shaitan partakes in the food if the name of Allaah is not recited at the start of eating. However if one forgets in the beginning and then remembers and says the aforementioned du’aa shaitan is made to vomit out what he has eaten.

1. The Manners of Eating

The best manner in which to eat food is with the fingers. *The Companion, lbn Ka’ab ibn Maalik reported that he saw the Messenger eating with three fingers and when he finished, he would lick them. * Sadly nowadays, the Muslims are choosing to imitate the disbelievers rather than the Prophet and are choosing to eat with knives and forks rather than the finger's. Although it is not at all forbidden (haraam) to eat with a Knife and fork, to consider this a better and more cultured or civilized way to eat is definitely wrong, since this is to consider someone else's way to be superior to that of the Prophet's . It should also be mentioned that if one does choose to eat with a knife and fork, then they should make sure that the fork is in the right and not in the left hand as is the convention with the disbelievers. This is because to eat with the left hand is forbidden. The Prophet, said: *“Do not eat with your left hand for shaitaan eats with his left hand,” * Another thing which the Prophet taught us about the manners of eating is that we should always eat from what is nearest to us and not from the middle of the plate. The reason for this is that the blessings come down upon the food in its middle, therefore it should be left to last.

1. The Manners of Sitting whilst Eating.

It would probably come as no surprise to us to learn that unlike the arrogant manner traditionally associated with the Greeks and Romans, the Prophet would never eat from a reclining position. His whole life was a model of modesty and humility and this was no less in his manner of eating. The Companion Anas, each reported that he saw Allaah's Messenger squatting and eating dates. Other times, *the Prophet would sit on his knees, as reported by ‘Abdullaah ibn Busr who said that the Prophet was sitting on his knees upon which a bedouin said: ‘What is this sitting?’ The Prophet replied, “Allaah has made me a respectable servant and He did not make me an obstinate tyrant." *

1. Don't Criticize Food

*Aboo Hurairah, reported that the Prophet never found fault with food. If he liked it, he would eat it, but if he disliked it, he just left it. *

This is how our Prophet was. Yet if we look to ourselves today, we find that we are ever ready to criticize whatever we find on our plate. This is extreme ingratitude to Allaah on our part and next time we think of complaining about food or maybe moaning that ‘there's nothing to eat’ even though our fridges are full, we should spare a thought for all those people both Muslim and non Muslims who don't know where their next meal is coming from. So we should instead be grateful as instructed by Allaah: *“O You who believe! Eat of the good things that we have provided for you and be grateful to Allaah, if it is He you worship.” [Surah Al-Baqarah Verse 17] *

1. DON'T LEAVE FOOD FOR SHAITAAN

As Muslims we must be aware that shaitaan is around us wherever we are and whatever we are doing. Even when we are eating shaitaan is in our presence, waiting to grasp any opportunity he can to fill his belly. This is why** the Prophet, commanded us never to waste food, because food that we waste is eaten by shaitaan. He said: “The shaitaan is present with everyone of you in everything he does; he is even present when he eats food, so if any on of you drops a mouthful, he should remove away anything filthy on it and eat it and not leave it for the devil; and when he finished, he should lick his fingers for he does not know in what portion of his food the blessing ties.” ** So here, the Prophet enumerated another reason why we should not waste food i.e. we may deprive ourselves of the blessings which are contained n the food. this should be sufficient encouragement fares to appreciate the value of food and not waste it.

1. DON'T EAT TOO MUCH

One of the worst habits we nave adopted as a result of our relatively luxurious lifestyle is the habit of overeating and not showing any restraint in that. How many times can we think of where we have eaten so much that we can barely breathe, or where we can feel the food coming up to our throats?! This eating pattern does not befit the Muslim, who should do all things in moderation, including his eating. The Prophet, said: *“A Believer eats in one intestine, whereas a non-believer eats in seven intestines,” * Therefore it is not for us to eat till we are completely satiated; rather we should eat such that the hunger goes but there is still room for more.

1. AFTER EATING

When we have finished eating, we should always remember Allaah and be grateful to Him, for He is ar-Razzaaq, the Provider and our Sustainer. We should express this gratitude in the manner in which the Prophet taught us. He said: *“One who has eaten some food and then says: ‘All praise is for Allaah, who has given me this (food to eat] and provided me without any effort or power on my part’, he will have his sins forgiven. (Alhamdulillaahil-lazee at’amanaa haadha warazaqeenee min ghairi hawlin minnee wala quwwah).” *

SubhaanAllaah! The reward for just saying this short du’aa is so great, too great to neglect. Can we afford to miss out on such opportunities of Allaah's Mercy and Forgiveness?

1. A MEANS OF DRAWING CLOSER TO ALLAAH

The ahaadeeth mentioned here only cover some of the Islaamic etiquettes of eating which the Messenger Muhammad taught us. Many more hadeeth on this subject are to be found in the books of hadeeth such as Saheeh al-Bukharee, Saheeh Muslim and others. But just a few narrations cited here give us some indication of the attention that the Companions paid to even the smallest details of the prophet's Sunnah (example). Many of us today may consider such matters to be ‘trivial’ or ‘insignificant,’ but we find the Companions did not take these matters lightly. They considered such details important enough to preserve through careful transmission which their successors meticulously recorded in the books of hadeeth so that they could be read by generations to come. It is up to us whether we want to benefit from the knowledge they carried for us or not.

islamabad thanks may allah reward u

1. When one has forgotten to say 'BISMILLAH'. He should say BISMILLAH AWWALUHU WA AAKHIRUHU when he remembers during the meal.

what does the above arabic mean?

1. When invited out, before beginning to eat one should say 'BISMILLAH WA ALA BARAKATILLAH'.

1. It is Sunnah to eat with the right hand. One should not eat with the left hand without a valid reason, for it is said the Shaytaan eats with the left hand.

what should the left handed people do?

1. To blow in to the food to cool it is against the Sunnah.

That's new

1. To lean against the wall, or to recline while having meals is against the Sunnah.

acha :(

*Originally posted by little human: *
3. When one has forgotten to say 'BISMILLAH'. He should say BISMILLAH AWWALUHU WA AAKHIRUHU when he remembers during the meal.

1. When invited out, before beginning to eat one should say 'BISMILLAH WA ALA BARAKATILLAH'.

what should the left handed people do?

1. To blow in to the food to cool it is against the Sunnah.

That's new

1. To lean against the wall, or to recline while having meals is against the Sunnah.

acha :(

some of that stuff sounds shady

a few observations:

*Originally posted by Swera: *

** 5. It is Sunnah to have the head covered when having meals.

what effect will this have?

** 9. It is Sunnah to eat with the right hand. One should not eat with the left hand without a valid reason, for it is said the Shaytaan eats with the left hand.**

what are valid reasons? being left-handed is genetic

10. It is Sunnah to eat with three fingers i.e. the thumb, the index finger and the middle finger. The fourth finger should be used when eating very soft foods.

when eating food with a bone or a sandwich, it is difficult to leave the left hand out

13. To blow in to the food to cool it is against the Sunnah.

how will u feed a baby? often the milk or food is blown against to cool it down and stop the baby from crying

17. If one eats with a person with an infectious disease this Duaa should be read:

why is that? I don't think that someone with AIDS can bring it over to you via contact with food

Nescio :smack:

jazakallah to all those who posted in this thread…i dint know many of these things…very informative…thanks… :flower1:

i’ve also heard its sunnah to drink some water before starting a meal…

subhanallah

i really wana thank u guys again for posting this stuff :flower1:

its so weird…when i was a kid, my parents taught me all this stuff…but now i dont even do all of it..i had even forgotten basic things liek saying bismillah before meals or that eating with company brings blessings :frowning: made me realise what a bad Muslim i’m becoming :teary2:

this was such a good reminder and i am gona inshallah try to do all this again now..

thanks a lot everyone :slight_smile: jazak Allah kulla khayr

what’s the smacking all about :hoonh: I think i’ve put forward some very good arguments and statements…and unless someone can plausibly explain these statements, I will be sceptical not only about these, but also the other statements…cuz i assume they were all bundled together and brought to the ppl collectively.

*Originally posted by NeSCio: *
a few observations:

** 5. It is Sunnah to have the head covered when having meals.

what effect will this have?

** 9. It is Sunnah to eat with the right hand. One should not eat with the left hand without a valid reason, for it is said the Shaytaan eats with the left hand.**

what are valid reasons? being left-handed is genetic

10. It is Sunnah to eat with three fingers i.e. the thumb, the index finger and the middle finger. The fourth finger should be used when eating very soft foods.

when eating food with a bone or a sandwich, it is difficult to leave the left hand out

13. To blow in to the food to cool it is against the Sunnah.

how will u feed a baby? often the milk or food is blown against to cool it down and stop the baby from crying

17. If one eats with a person with an infectious disease this Duaa should be read:

why is that? I don't think that someone with AIDS can bring it over to you via contact with food

5-and 9

this is proved in ahdith ..dont try to question ahdith......what is the logic behind covering ur ankle ..or wearing wrist watch in left hand.......
10-
it is said that first break the sandwhich with both hands like roti then eat it with ur one hand......

13-make milk sufficient time before needed.....then u dotn have to blow it ...
17-
aids is not spread through eating with each other........so no dua needed....

Errr... folks... if you wanna nit pik, you can go on forever.

Those who follow each of these to comply with sunnah, Insha Allah they will get reward for their **niyyat *(intention) and for the good deeds. In addition, most of them are just common sense and perhaps proven medically as well. Those who violate these, please remember.. these are sunnah... not *fardh **(mandatory). Get on with your lives, pls. :-)

Jazak Allah.

5: You will get reward for following Rasoolulah:saw:'s command!

9: I think shaitaan is genetically left handed too :smiley:

10: refer to bro bao bihaari :slight_smile:

13: use two cups to pour hot liquid from one to another from a lil height and repeat the process few times till it gets cold… I hope you must have witnessed that type of act by many :wink:

17: The dua is taught by Rasoolulah:saw: and dua does not make any difference unless with the permission of ALLAH, we do it for the sake of ALLAH alone!

*Originally posted by bao bihari: *

5-and 9
this is proved in ahdith ..dont try to question ahdith......what is the logic behind covering ur ankle ..or wearing wrist watch in left hand.......

if I won't question, how else do you want to me to verify whether it is an original hadith or a fabricated one? If it is original then it ought to be universal and explainable to even the layman.

10-
it is said that first break the sandwhich with both hands like roti then eat it with ur one hand......

well, if that's the case,....then the Hadith isn't complete...cuz it said not to eat with ur left hand: some very simple mind (there are many in this world) would get confused

13-make milk sufficient time before needed.....then u dotn have to blow it ...

child's behavior in unpredictable......it can cry for milk any time.......now don't say u expect ppl to have warm milk ready 24-7

17-aids is not spread through eating with each other........so no dua needed....

again, if in case of AIDS the dua is not needed.....then the Hadith is not waterproof....because it didn't mention the AIDS case...........

apart from AIDS....many infectious diseases can NOT be gotten from contact via food....and the ones u can, can also be brought over via other modes (like when saying salaam when opening the door for the guests, you can get the common cold)

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Errr... folks... if you wanna nit pik, you can go on forever.

In addition, most of them are just common sense and perhaps proven medically as well.

well, most of them might be derived from common sense...but the ones that cannot be done.....those are the ones i've put forward......with respect to proven medically.........hmmm....apart from the odd one or two, i don't see many that are proven....maybe you have links to the medical literature, that does prove them???

5: You will get reward for following Rasoolulah:saw:'s command!

suppose the Prophet had red shoes or chapali…will i get reward too when i wear red nikes instead of blue?

9: I think shaitaan is genetically left handed too :smiley:

this argument is contentless…u could have better admitted you didn’t have an answer to this one…or just reclined from replying to this one

13: use two cups to pour hot liquid from one to another from a lil height and repeat the process few times till it gets cold… I hope you must have witnessed that type of act by many :wink:

well, what about solid food…like mashed potatoes?

**17: The dua is taught by Rasoolulah:saw: and dua does not make any difference unless with the permission of ALLAH, we do it for the sake of ALLAH alone! **

well, I’d do it…but when??? first of all: how will i know someone has an infectious disease? secondly…suppose someone has such disease, but it isn’t transferable through food…do i still have to say it? if the anser to these questions is positive then i might as well say this dua when eating together with anyone

*Originally posted by NeSCio: *
suppose the Prophet had red shoes or chapali....will i get reward too when i wear red nikes instead of blue?
Actually that is precisely true. Any act you do with the intention of following the sunnah of the Messanger of Allah (May Peace be Upon Him) and to please our Creator, whether its a very small act or a big act, you will get reward for your good intentions. It doesn't even matter if the Messanger ever did it or not. If you made a good faith effort to find out how the Messanger lived his life and tried to copy even small acts just to follow the sunnah, you are getting rewards. Insha Allah.